We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation in Chefchaouen”
Review of Dar Echchaouen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Echchaouen
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Kells, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good accommodation in Chefchaouen”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

During our 3 night stay in chefchauen we stayed in Dar Echaouen. We enjoyed our stay here.The hotel is located on the edge of the town above the medina, a 15 minute walk to the heart of the medina and Kasbah. We had a poolside room which was comfortable and clean, though not as private as the rooms upstairs (curtains had to be closed to ensure people couldn't see into room) There was a great aircon system which was needed in the 35+ degree heat. There is also a nice pool (though not the cleanest )which was great to cool off in after hours spent wandering the medina or hiking in the hills over the town. Breakfast, lunch & dinner is served inside or outside in the garden grounds. We had dinner here on one night and it was good. The staff were very friendly and made every effort to speak English to us. There was wifi but not a very strong signal limited to reception & dining area. Like many hotels in Morocco it does not have an alcohol license though some of the staff can get you an expensive (€3.5 for very small bottle, nearly same price has a meal in the medina) beer which you have to drink up the back of hotel at the pool. We paid €69 a night which we think was very good value for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerbinhoPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    192
    42
    7
    9
See reviews for
116
244
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here July this year and absolutely loved it!! The room was lovely, clean and comfortable with lovely local moroccan arty decor. The breakfast was yummy with a great selection of fresh breads, local jams and honey. We even asked them to make us eggs one day with moroccan tea and they were just so accommodating. The swimming pool was gorgeous and so peaceful overlooking the medina with a spectacular sunset. On top of that the staff were just so friendly! I could not have asked for a better stay and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank monazaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a pleasant little hotel, with easy parking nearby, just outside the city of Chefchauoen. It is about a 5 minute walk into the city, which is a beautiful and interesting place to explore, and the main square is about 30 minutes from the hotel. However, the main square is touristy and full of poor restaurants, so the highlight is just to wander through the blue coloured alleys of the town.

The hotel is not a riad, although it has small, simple rooms. The room was clean and pleasant, but the bathroom smelled of damp a bit. The highlight of this hotel is the pool area though - a large pool, with superb views over the mountains and the town, which you would not have if you stayed in the town itself. A very good place to relax and cool down after walking through the town. There is also a small shady garden, and the grounds are genarlly a very pleasant place to chill out.

Room Tip: There were some nice looking rooms in a separate part behind the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bestione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberwell, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having checked Trip Advisor, we had great expectations of this hotel. Unfortunately, it seems that too many guests who rated it have never stayed at a Very Good or Excellent hotel before visiting Dar Echchaouen. On our arrival we were mightily impressed with the appearance of the place from the road and the stunning views its location provided. Check-in was fine but somewhat "casual" with no assistance being offered to get luggage to upstairs rooms. Once in our room the shine began to dim. The room was a good size and in general reasonably clean - except for the shower which was mouldy and somewhat dirty. The plastic device supporting the shower head was broken and could not hold the nozzle properly when full water pressure was used. There was no plug for the sink, no tissues and cheap and mean toiletry items (two tiny bars of soap and two small sachets of hair shampoo). When we went to reception to ask for a hair dryer we were advised none was available as they were "all being used". There was no fridge and no drinking glasses provided. We found two clay goblets on the table in the main room but they did not appear all that clean so were not used. The evening meal was of fair average quality, but the worst we had been served in a hotel in Morocco. It was also disappointing to discover that only non-alcoholic drinks were available - bit of a disappointment after a long day and not mentioned in any of the advertising material. At bed-time things worsened. First we discovered that there were problems with the room's two air-conditioners. One had an extraordinarily noisy compressor which was positioned just below the bedroom window and thus could not be used while the other (quiet) air-con dripped water at a steady rate onto the bedroom floor. The fix provided by management for the dripping water problem was a bucket into which the water could splash-splash-splash all night!! Result: No air-conditioning. To make matters worse, the springs (?) in the mattress had collapsed and the bed was basically a board with a mattress cover over it. Note the word sheet has been omitted: this was because the bed had been made without sheets. Upon being notified of this, reception kindly delivered two sheets, folded, to the room and left. The rule must have been that if you want sheets you have to put them on (re-make) the bed yourself. Making the bed was made easier by the fact the sheets barely covered the mattress and required no tucking in. After a challenging night's sleep we were provided with a basic breakfast consisting of toast and a selection of spreads with juice, tea or coffee. This hotel has a lot of potential but is run very badly. We gained the impression it was in the charge of a group of male university students who were unaware of the requirements of guests. It seriously lacked a woman's touch. For back-packers this hotel would be OK. However, to any experienced traveller used to a variety of hotels, it would not be rated above three stars - even with the great view.

Room Tip: If you are a back-packer, any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rabie1976, Gérant at Dar Echchaouen, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello,

Thank for your visit and your opinion about us,

Sincerely,your comment has no meaning you have collected between your bad trip because it was long and you were mightily impressed with the appearance of the road , and we are not responsible on your bad experience and that was your choice and your program and You had problems with the room and luggage,but normaly, you should first ask somebady from the hotel for help and to find you a solution on the place not by wrinting a bad comment .

All our rooms are air conditioned and decorated in traditional Moroccan style. Each room and suite has a private bathroom with a tiled shower tadellakt. The suites feature a seating area and a fireplace.

Riad Dar Echchaouen serves Moroccan dishes including couscous, tagines and pastilla

In a nutshell. And expect that the negative energy that is caused to you in these suspicions
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from another great stay at this amazing hotel.
We first stayed here in June 2012 and were blown away with the stunning views from every angle and how friendly and accomodating the staff were. 2 years later and it's even better! We've now stayed in 4 different rooms, one of which was a bungalow with your own private beautiful rose garden the others all suites in the main hotel. All the rooms have great views and nicely decorated in traditional local Moroccan style our favorite being the top floor suites but all have different positives. This hotel is suitable for everyone being perfect for a romantic getaway or a group of friends.

We will be returning again!

Madame Jessica & Paul

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

An artist's inspiration! Our room was so beautiful with the sun shining through the stained glass windows and the pool was enjoyed by my son although the water was too cold for me. We stayed here for two nights and had a great meal on the first night, followed by a less good meal on the second night. There was a big party in the restaurant and that may have been the reason but the staff were very friendly, managing to fulfill all our requests, even fixing my son's phone for him. There is a good atmosphere here and we felt very, very happy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The décor in the rooms and common areas has been done with care and good taste.The location is convenient for walking to shopping and restaurants. Enjoyed the pool. There is a great view of the town from the top of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvs2travel96151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rabie1976, Gérant at Dar Echchaouen, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your visit and your lovely comment, hope you have a pleasant stay at the hotel Darechchaouen, wish have the pleasure of welcoming you again,

Please accept dear customer, the expression of our most respectful sentiments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#15 of 23 in Chefchaouen
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 23 in Chefchaouen
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Echchaouen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Echchaouen

Property: Dar Echchaouen
Address: Chefchaouen 19270, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chefchaouen
#4 Family Hotel in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Echchaouen 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic piece of art builds and managed with passion, decorated with a pure Arabic and local style. We put customer satisfaction in the hart of our daily job. With an excellent views all rounds and a relaxing swimming pool. Accessible in walking distance to the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Echchaouen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Echchaouen Chefchaouen
Dar Echchaouen Hotel Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing