We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-do if you visit Morocco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Espana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Larache
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Espana
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Larache
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must-do if you visit Morocco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I had heard of this hotel prior to my visit and it did not disappoint. Had a room on the second floor which appeared to have been recently refurbished, but still had the period shutters and concrete balcony. Sitting there on a Sunday evening overlooking the cafes and street traders below, made me feel as if I was in the 1950's Cuba of Ernest Hemingway. Staff were able to arrange garaging for my motorcycle nearby and there was good WiFi in the hotel. Larache is a wonderful town well worth a visit, and Hotel Espana is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
5
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
162 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Hotel España has a prime location right on the Spanish built plaza. It's housed in a grand old protectorate era building.

The old man who was at reception when I arrived in the evening was friendly and spoke good English. 2 younger ladies during the day spoke good Spanish and told me they spoke English too.

My room was a reasonable size with balcony which allowed a partial view of the plaza. Would have liked a lamp as there was only a bright ceiling light. WiFi signal wasn't very strong as I was quite far from the router. There was aircon/heat. Bathroom was bright, modern and clean.

On my floor (1st) there was a big room with windows spanning the building, complete plaza view but it just used as storage space for all manner of stuff.

I paid 240dr/£18/$29 which I think represents good value.

If I was too visit this interesting town again I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, nice room & friendly staff. We would go back. The price was ok. The reception was tidy and people friendly. The only thing is that We asked for some hot water for a tea and they couldn't get ... I mean... It was not something so difficult and it could have been solved with little effort. The man taking our luggage friendly and hard worker. Also the person guarding the car during the night, great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katchumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

U have used this hotel for many Years now and have fallen in love with it , very simple honest the owner is a very nice old gentleman , theres a feeling that when u visit larche u experance a untouched part of morocco away from all the tourists

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larache
20.0 mi away
Hotel Zelis
Hotel Zelis
#3 of 5 in Asilah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
19.8 mi away
Patio de la Luna
Patio de la Luna
#2 of 5 in Asilah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Larache
Riad Larache
#2 of 5 in Larache
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Las Mil y Una Noches
20.1 mi away
MIA Hostel Asilah
MIA Hostel Asilah
#1 of 13 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Maison Haute
La Maison Haute
#1 of 5 in Larache
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Property: Hotel Espana
Address: Hassan II Street, N-6, Larache, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Larache
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Larache
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing