We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hypnotizing”
Review of Auberge Dunes D'or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Dunes D'or
Ranked #28 of 85 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My entire stay here felt like a pleasant dream I never wanted to wake up from. You walk out of the back door and into the incredible sand dunes. The swimming pool was great, the food was delicious, the staff is a lovely, humble and friendly family. The camel ride and stay in the desert was truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights while on a over landing holiday with Atlas Overland Adventures.
Such a friendly place with amazing views over the Sahara desert, it has a very inviting swimming pool which was quite unexpected. We had the nicest Tagine's here and after nearly three weeks in Morocco we tried many but the Tagine's served here were by far the best.
if you are looking for a five star hotel experience then this Auberge is not for you.
Will definitely be returning with Atlas Overland Adventures next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cardiffladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Basic accommodation, the bathrooms leave a little to be desired, some water leaks from basins etc.
The staff are very laissez faire, but very friendly and helpful - some how managed to fix the zip on a broken suite case which was fantastic.
The meals are limited in range but very tasy Berber style and large serves, breakfast is contintal style with an egg dish.
No alcohol although you can bring your own and drink it in the dining room, lots of sweet mint tea (Berber whiskey)
If you have one of the rooms facing the dunes you wake up to a magnificent view of the Sahara desert.
There is a pool but in March it was too cold to try.
The trip to the lake and Sudanese village was well worth the effort, our guide Said was most helpful and very tolerant of my basic French language skills.
We really enjoyed our short stay, based on the prices charged I think it is god value for money, be prepared for a bumpy ride in from the main road, there is about 6km of dirt road that is quite rough.

Room Tip: if you want alcohol bring your own wine etc, there are no fridges in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The ORIGINAL Erg Chebbi auberge.
Owned and run by the same family and never closed for 30 years.
An awesome view of the dunes.
A super swimming pool is a real surprise.
Good food.
Attractive and individualistic accommodation.
I regard the staff as dear friends.
Attention is as attentive as you wish it to be.
Guests MUST remember and accept that they are in the desert; not a luxury hotel. They can only be given what is there to be given. And that will be freely given.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We did not intend to stay here more than one day. Kasbah is magical. Peace, quiet, simple people and the dunes in the yard, I could not ask for more. Camping in the desert, it was also memorable. Food and service was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladySlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

First time i was there on December 2010 , it was unexpected place for me , located near of

Dunes .The quality of service and food was very good , unexcpected in such as place in the

desert . Lovely people , Since i discovered it , i came every year again and again , it's my third

trip now in my prefered place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZHSAMIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We loved the location and the physical building. Very open, the pool was very nice. Food was average, but you are out in the desert. Our room was large and had a great view of the dunes. Our patio was also very nice. The air-conditioning comes at dark, our room did get significantly cooler than outside. We had breakfast by the pool, it was the usual Moroccan breakfast. We can't complain about our stay at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merzouga
4.9 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
563 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ksar Bicha
Ksar Bicha
#4 of 23 in Merzouga
384 reviews
7.1 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 23 in Merzouga
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
6.4 mi away
Kasbah Azalay Merzouga
Kasbah Azalay Merzouga
#7 of 85 in Merzouga
261 reviews
4.4 mi away
Camel's House
Camel's House
#11 of 111 in Merzouga
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Dunes D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Dunes D'or

Address: Merzouga centre, Merzouga 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range: £43 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes d'or is close to dunes in Merzouga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Auberge Dunes D'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Dunes d`Or Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing