We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”
Review of Kasbah Erg Chebbi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We spent 3 nights and days there and the whole staff was very friendly and helpful. This place is the best place to stay away from cities and crowd and nearest to the amazing sand dunes and nature. Food was good but the vegetarian. That was ok but nothing more. Mohammed, the owner of this place is very helpful, organized us an airport transfer in Fez and taxi to Ouarzazate and recommended a riad in Marrakesh and pick up at Marrakesh bus startion for free! So it's definately worth to go there

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eniko1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

this beautiful kasbah in the sahara is such a great place to relax, take in the gorgeous views of the sand dunes and get to know the locals. the nice young men who work here speak so many languages and are very helpful in organizing buses, trips to the oasis, or just a sunset camel adventure. I really loved the entertainment at night in the kasbah with local berber men who dance and play the drums and I also loved the decor in the kasbah, very colorful and authentic! I felt very safe staying at this hotel and was taken care of just like I was part of the family. It is located far from the village, but if you don't have a rental vehicle, it is no problem because they will take you into town if you need something like the ATM- they are so accommodating...i will be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank em747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I was very happy about choosing this Kasbah from all points of view. We were coming with Supratours bus which turned out to be late for 2 hours, nevertheless driver from the hotel (Abraham - he was nice!) met us and brought to the hotel, where guys prepared dinner, tea and showed us the room. In the morning I realised how great the location is! just stepping out from the hotel you see real Sahara with golden dunes. During the day we walked by ourselves in the dunes and then enjoyed the swimming pool. For the evening Mohammed (the owner) organized on our request camel trek to Berber camp in the desert and we met sunset sitting on the dunes and watching the best sunset ever. Afterwards was tasty dinner and night on the terrace under the stars. In the morning Abraham brought us to the bus. The only things I regret about are that we planned only 2 nights there, I wish it was longer stay and 1st night we slept in the room, although guys offered the terrace - choose the terrace, it's super sleep under the stars! Also want to admit that room was very clean, food fresh, pool - good to enjoy during the day. Not all personnel speaks English but it didn't bother us and we managed to understand each other, everybody was helpful and open trying to meet all our needs. Want to say thanks to Mohammed, Ahmed, Abraham, Moha and others for enjoyable time in Kasbah!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Kasbah Erg Chebbi is a wonderful place with a ineffable scenic view of the dunes and a perfect starting point for trips to the desert. The staff is very friendly and anxious to fulfill all your wishes. We spend two days in the desert and one night in the Hotel. They organised the guide, the camels, meals, drinks and accommotation in the Berber´s camp. After coming back we´ve been relaxing at the pool and went for walks in the dunes. All in all it was a great experience and we´ve been very happy about our choice.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Kathrin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Kasbach Erg Chebbi Hotel- there is no words to describe this place, to much to write, to hard to explain! Me and my friend supposed to stay there only two days, but leaving this palace was to hard…every day we were scratching off other places from our map and instead stay in our desert in Erg Chebbi. This place is just perfect! Hotel is just lovely, romantic (especially evenings are magical. I can easily imagine my wedding there or at least honey moon;)) Little lanterns in a hotel, stylish rooms, silence and sky full of stars above head….just perfect!
There is also a swimming pool, so anytime You can jump in, makes You fresh (or make other fresh :P )

Food: Food is also good, breakfast is really big and tagine (traditional meal) is sooooo delicious in there…they have good cook :)
All the people from hotel are very open, friendly, speaking many languages and they are great drum players (playing with them and sing in front of the hotel or dunes next to hotel…these were my favorite moments for sure!). I easily got a feeling that they are like a little family and for a moment tourists have opportunity to be part of this berber family. The owner of the hotel is young, clever men who try to keep the hotel in a good condition, who always has answers for so many questions that tourists asks  thank You for being so patient to us

View from the hotel makes You feel like You are in another world…desert allover! So if You are there, You just HAVE TO take the camel trek from the hotel to oasis and stay there for the night!!!! It’s so much fun! See the sunset on the desert, sleep in a traditional berber tents, eat with them, play drums with them and see the sunrise in the middle of dunes…AHHHH! ;D
I definitely will come back there! That place made my vacation as good as never been! All the moments are unforgettable!
Thank to Hassan- the owner and all the workers, I will never forget You guys and one day will come back there for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kasiacamelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I was there with my friend and it was great. I wanted to stay just for one night - so i can see the desert and spend one night there..but everybody and everything was for me so enjoyable that i stayed there for 10 days. They treat us like familly, help us if we needed something.... i felt like at home there. I will deffenetly go back there!! If you need relaxation, and peace this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dancer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is an old-glory hotel, which pretends to be what it used to be. The manager is a rude person who only wants to earn more and more money from tourism. Drinks are not included in any meal, so you have to pay an extra for every bottle of water (imprescindible in the desert...).The rooms were kind of dirty and they cut the electricity and water service in rooms whenever they wanted. Not all the rooms have air conditioned, so there, they have some matresses preapared at the hotel's roof for costumers booked in those rooms. Breakfast was nothing special (bread, mermelade, coffee, juice), but the only meal that I had there was good enough and very complet. The employeers were not very helpful in general. They wanted us only to stay in the hotel all time and consume their services, pretending to charge us 50 euros each to get to the village of Merzouga. This hotel is far away from the village, so you do not have a lot of options apart from staying there or walking one hour through the desert. At the end, they tried to charge more money than the previously agreed. I would not stay in this hotel again at all and I would never recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohammed67, Inhaber at Kasbah Erg Chebbi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012
Google Translation

Dear Cflor
I am so sorry the hotel wasn’t to your taste. We feel so passionately about wanting everyone of our guests to be happy that as soon as you said that this was This is an old-glory hote is not truth all the hotel is renoviert and we did not hesitate to release you from the financial obligations of your reservation and we even offered to assist you with booking another hotel. As much as we want to be the perfect hotel for everyone, we know that no hotel can be all things to all guests. Different travelers value different things. That’s why we are gracious and understanding when we have a guest that prefers big hotels like the 5 stars hotel or ibis with nearly 100 rooms this is not desert anymoore. Most of our guests choose us because they are the type of travelers who prefer to be in a small an cozy home away from home with an eager . reviews, that travelers please take a few minutes to visit the erg chebbi Hotel own website . If you ever have any questions about whether the hotel is right style hotel for you, please email your questions to me at our corporate office at info@kasbahergchebbi.com . We promise to be transparent and authentic in our answers to help you make the right choice for you. Regarding the internet, we are very sorry you had any trouble. We do know what an important amenity this is and we are committed to resolving issues quickly. We do not charge 50 euros each to get to the village of Merzouga. kasbah erg chebbi is the best position in merzouga yes is 3km far from the village . If there is anything you would like to discuss further on this issue, we would welcome your call or email.

mohammed boumesaoud
00212610376682
info@kasbahergchebbi.com
www.kasbahergchebbi.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
544 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ksar Bicha
Ksar Bicha
#5 of 22 in Merzouga
369 reviews
4.0 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#8 of 22 in Merzouga
160 reviews
5.3 mi away
Les Portes du Desert
Les Portes du Desert
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Erg Chebbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Erg Chebbi

Address: Erg chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Price Range: £37 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasbah Erg Chebbi 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hotel in the south of Morocco directly at the desert Erg ChebbiAt the Hotel Kasbah Erg Chebbi you are welcome and we want you to feel as it is your home.We have 30 rooms, recently renovated, with all requested comfort (of course without tv). Our rooms are decorated in the purest Saharan style, which you will remember for a long time.Recover and recreation you can find at the swimming pool.Also we offer facilities for sleeping in Berber tents in the middle of the dunes and passing nights under the starry Saharan sky.Our Moroccan and international restaurant will satisfy you with its quality. We provide you a manifold and traditional table with fresh ingredients of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kasbah Erg Chebbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing