We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the dunes. . .”
Review of Riad Nezha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Nezha
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We enjoyed a delightful 1 night stay in the Riad Nezha during our two week trip around Morocco. As others here have attested, this hotel is truly an oasis of hospitality and comfort in the desert. We arrived late at night after driving from Midelt, and we were greeted by the owner of the hotel, who promptly took us to the recently completed pool, where we enjoyed a spectacular dinner by starlight, staring at the dunes on the horizon. This was truly one of the best meals of our trip, accompanied by *insane* quantities of food (we had to beg them to stop, as we were feeling like utter gluttons!). The bedroom was comfortably appointed, adorned with regional touches like a Berber-style woven wooden ceiling and fossil-embedded polished granite sinks in the bathroom like those we had seen in Midelt. The soothing ambience of the pool is only matched by the spectacular views afforded by the rooftop terrace of this hotel. In addition to excellent facilities, the staff of this hotel were the model of hospitality. Special note must be paid to the delightful Mohammed, the young relative of the hotel owner who is a jack-of-all-trades around the place. His English was excellent, as was his sharply-honed sense of humor. When bringing us breakfast in the morning, he set a variety of tajines in front of us and announced that we would be dining on "traditional Moroccan specialties, camel meat and stewed donkey." I think he enjoyed the polite look of horror on our faces, as he quickly said "just kidding!" and lifted the tops of the tajines, revealing an assortment of delicious fresh jams/preserves and the ubiquitous Moroccan fried bread that was a staple at every breakfast. All in all, a fantastic hotel--if you are visiting Merzouga, look no further!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorWHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Riad Nezha met, and then went exceedingly farther than all my expectations! It is by far the best hotel I have stayed in while in Morocco. The Riad has a sense of community unusal to the "hotel" system. You feel right at home as soon as you walk through the gate, and the staff members truly become your friends. I admire the architecture and very authentic Moroccan feel. The camel trek was wonderful, and the dinner provided during our night in the Sahara was superb! Without a doubt the best chicken and mint tea I have ever consumed. The terrace is stunning and the pool is always cool and refreshing. I would recommend Riad Nezha to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a-simms13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

To begin with, the Riad itself is absolutely stunning. Made of mostly natural materials- clay walls, bamboo and tree trunk ceilings- it has an extremely relaxing atmosphere and is the most architecturally beautiful "hotel" I've ever stayed at (Catalina Hotel in Miami, for instance, very nice/chic but not nearly as unique or stunning). In true Moroccan fashion, the workmanship and craftsmanship is evident in every little detail. Everything is impeccably clean and the feel of the place is that of a sanctuary/resort- no negative energy, and extreme easy-goingness. I'm still not sure how they kept the water in the pool so cool and refreshing in the middle of the desert, but it was a great way to spend time at the height of the heat and is gorgeous in itself- covered in blue tiles.

The staff are so great. One of the best parts of the weekends was their company, from the time they picked us up at the bust station 5 minutes away from the Riad, to playing us music and telling jokes at the campsite at night. No doubt our comfort and happiness was their top priority. The food was delicious and my friends and I could not finish one meal, there was so much offered to us. Breakfast, for instance, was served on the rooftop terrace with a view of palm trees and sand dunes as far as the eye can see, and included fresh squeezed OJ, coffee, milk, sweet potato jam, strawberry jam, apricot jam, delicious honey, 3 types of bread including cornbread and Moroccan layered/flaky 'crepes,' boiled eggs. We had couscous and chicken tajine for lunch and dinner, with tons of fresh melon for dessert.

Our 1 1/2 hour camel trek into the Sahara was unforgettable and seamlessly organized, and the Berber/Amazigh tent sight was just as nice. It's a taste of a simple nomadic lifestyle but also had flushing toilets and running sink water at the edge of the campsite so you don't have to stress about the little things and can really enjoy the dunes surrounding you, the stars in the sky, the company of Berbers who are very proud of their heritage and are a great source of historical, social, and cultural knowledge. They'll answer any question you have, share in storytelling, and are just as interested in getting to know you/your culture as you are in theirs. The owner of the Riad knows 8+ languages (including Italian, French, Spanish, German, English, Arabic, Moroccan Arabic, and Berber dialects) and can hold full conversations in all of them- he is incredible.

We went on a 4x4 drive through the sand dunes (if you're persuasive you can go at some impressive speeds and down some steep slopes) into the market of Rissani, a nearby town that was a historical trading point. It was very interesting to see the unique ethnic diversity of the city, hear more about the tribal origins of certain symbols, types of jewelry, and swords. We also heard a live musical performance in a smaller town by people descended from Sengal, Mail, and Sudan (once slaves in the area)- the music was really, really great, the performance included some dance in which we were encouraged to participate, was a mutli-generational affair, and genuinely fun.

I don't have a single negative sentiment about Riad Nezha or the weekend activities they organized for us, but I will say be prepared not to see the women working there, they are behind the scenes and the men are definitely the face of the business, in a more traditional fashion. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: There are 2nd floor rooms in the back of the Riad that have a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChantelLiggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Riad Nezha is a gorgeous and authentic resort. The rooms were very Moroccan inspired but also had a touch of "hotel" with clean towels, soaps, etc. The food that is provided for breakfast, lunch and dinner is absolutely delicious and flavorful. The ingredients are bought fresh from the market and prepared in a beautiful manner. The poolside is fantastic and relaxing. I honestly can say that it is the people of this resort that made my stay memorable. Mohammed and the staff are so fun to be around and are also very resourceful when it comes to the town and the desert. I felt right at home and welcomed. I will definitely recommend the Riad Nezha to anyone and I will stay here again when i travel back to the Sahara desert!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audjkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Riad Nezha is a beautiful structure with an equally marvelous unobstructed view of the dunes. The rooms are clean, pretty, and quiet, and the Riad serves some of the best food I have had during my five months in Morocco. But for me, what makes it truly unique is the people. Ibrahim and Mohamed, the boys in charge, will show you what Moroccan hospitality and humor is all about, and will make sure that your desert experience is complete.
The Riad also offers camel expeditions into the desert and the option to spend the night in a camp of bivouacs tucked away in the dunes. The food they serve here is also splendid, and after dinner you may get to hear the camel drivers play some desert songs.
I loved it here so much that after visiting with my study abroad group, I returned once with my parents and again alone. I'm sure you will want to do the same!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khalilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The staff here made this hotel very special the service was top notch and the care given to one of our group who was unwell was outstanding A Hotel with character interesting Moroccan decor spacious and right in the centre of Merzouga by the beautiful Sandhills.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Riad Nezha is a full service small hotel on the Sahara (or almost) area of Morocco. The owner Braheim is a delightful professional who knows the region like the back of his hand. The accomodations include a beautiful view of the village of Merzouga and the dunes of the Sahara, a clean and well appointed facility, (with a great pool), great meals and custom touring of the desert and region. Camels, ATV's, SUV tours, you name it and you have it. You can travel to nearby villages on the highway on through the desert off road. Tour the fossil fields or have tea with a Bedoin, visit ancient ruins on the "Salt Caravan", shop in nearby village markets or just relax. An amazing visit to a beautiful, unique spot on the earth.

Room Tip: Call Braheim and he will accomodate you -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kincaid6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ksar Bicha
Ksar Bicha
#5 of 22 in Merzouga
369 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#17 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
3.8 mi away
Hotel Nomad Palace
Hotel Nomad Palace
#4 of 22 in Merzouga
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Nezha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nezha

Address: Erg chebbi dune, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
#3 Family Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range: £43 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merzouga!!Book your stay at the amazing ***Riad Nezha*** is an absorbed heaven in the green of the palms of the Village of Merzouga. A fantastic location, panorama and an environment where relaxation and rest are guaranteed!!!at Riad Nezha we do offer all different excursion around Merzouga!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Nezha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nezha Merzouga
Riad Nezha Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing