We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay”
Review of Riad Nezha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Nezha
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

During my recent trip to Morocco I spent two nights at riad Nezha. As soon as we arrived, delicious Moroccan mint tea and peanuts were served to greet me and my friend. Dinner was superb as we had the best salad and Tajine ever.The hospitality of the staff made us feel so much at home and the free wifi made it such an enjoyable stay too! The room we got was peaceful as we could have a great view of the desert. In the morning we watched sunrise from the roof top terrace and in the afternoon we had sunset camel trek into the desert arranged by the staff. It was a truly amazing experience! Everything about this place was excellent and I highly recommend riad Nezha to anyone taking a trip to the Sahara desert.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mi140260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    77
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
92
158
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

In Merzouga, the impressive, fortress-style, sand-colored Riad Nezha has great views of the giant sand dunes from some of its rooms and, best of all from the terrace. The riad does not have adequate heating for the winter: our airconditioner struggled to get the room up to 18C. Meals were served in the basement where it was marginally warmer. Dinners and breakfasts were acceptable rather than good. Staff were obliging and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with views of the dunes. In cold weather, check that the airconditioner is adequat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our guide booked this for us and we were so surprised how nice it was! Warm welcome with tea. Friendly staff! Rooms were clean, food was delicious, and the views were great. They also allowed us to shower there after the camel trek/night in desert.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JJBBMOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Riad Nezha is a relatively new, large and very handsome place to stay in Merzouga. The owner and staff are very friendly and warmly welcoming, and we were made to feel immediately at home. The riad has a range of facilities but we were there in winter so the weather made the roof terrace and inviting swimming pool too cold to be of interest. The riad is built and decorated in Berber style and colours, with lots of rugs and decorative furniture and fossil marble. Our room was a comfortable size with a king and a single bed and a well set up bathroom with a large shower alcove. There were the basic amenities (soap and shampoo packets) and a hairdryer and tissues were also provided. Lighting was good and there were lots of power outlets for recharging one’s technology, which was great. The bed was comfortable but the sheets were rather thin and looked a bit used. There was a room air conditioner to provide heat but it really couldn’t deal with the winter cold on the first night, so we shivered a lot and had to put three blankets on the bed to stay warm. On the second night it was working perfectly and we were fine. Meals were served in the cellar dining room. There was no choice but the menu was a typical one, with soup or salad and a tagine for dinner, and the cooking wasn’t bad. There was a television and also good wifi in the reception room but not in the bedrooms. This was one of the more comfortable of the riads we stayed in and we liked it and think you will too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I had an amazing time at this Riad. The staff particularly made a wonderful impression on us. We soon learned that their names (MooMoo & Said) and had fun joking around with them as they made sure we were taken care of.

We arrived in the evening after our long drive with our guide from Fes and had a hearty dinner which was included in the stay. I had one of the best nights of sleep the entire trip here which was probably because of the functional heater and plethora of blankets that they provide. We woke up the next morning to a giant surprise: a view of the Sahara sand dunes! I was surprised they had WIFI but your best bet is in the lobby (why would you need internet in the beautiful Sahara anyhow?!?).

Our camel trek guide (Ahmed) was AMAZING! He was such a sweetheart and was so hospitable during our stay in the desert. He is a great cook (you will have plenty of DELICIOUS food to eat) and he makes your bed ensuring you have enough blankets to keep you warm at night (we had 5). He even made sure to let us know where his tent was and to let him know if we needed anything. On a side note, riding camels is not the most comfortable experience but it is a must!!

Tip: Bring a headlamp for your camel trek. You'll need it when it's pitch black and it will be particularly useful when you need to use the restroom (hands-free!).

Soak it all in, because you're in for one of the most memorable rides of your life!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyadayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This is a nice B&B located in a large grove of date palms near the start of our camel overnight trip with Ahmed of Around morocco tours. The location is good it has a nice pool and the rooms are adequate. We stayed one night. We took a walk in the morning to the sand dunes. The service is excellent and the food ok.

As in all the Places we stayed in Morocco the lights are dim. I would advise bringing a flashlight if you are a serious reader and also to find the bathroom in the desert.

The overnight with Ahmed was outstanding. He is the best! He is very experienced, and made the most delicious Tajine of our trip. He is very knowledgeable and is a genuinely kind person as well as a genuine nomad!

The stars are amazing. Our guide had an app on his phone called sky view (?) which told us all of the constellation names, when he held it to the ground it even showed the suns location on the other side of the earth! We drove around the area also to see the mineral deposits and nomad sites. Be careful when buying silver jewelry.

I think this Riad which seems to be family owned and operated is the best in the area of Merzouga .

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Loved this riad!!!
We received a warm welcome on arrival. Staff was warm, welcoming and friendly!!! They went out of there way to help when needed. WIFI provided as part of tariff. Riad has a lovely large sitting room in the main house and a nice roof top terrace for meals.

We were given the upper room on the left tower overlooking the pool. Loved it and we'd request it again; it was private, quiet, clean. Bathroom was big with a great shower pressure.

We spent the afternoon lounging, reading at the pool, it was very relaxing and I could understand why this riad is in high demand during the high season with guests staying for a week or two. Pool was unheated but refreshing. We enjoyed watching the birds drop by for a drink.

Dinner and breakfast was served on the roof top deck and was very good, no complaints

I would hesitate to recommend this riad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Les Portes du Desert
Les Portes du Desert
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
79 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#16 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Nezha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nezha

Property: Riad Nezha
Address: Erg chebbi dune, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
#3 Family Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merzouga!!Book your stay at the amazing ***Riad Nezha*** is an absorbed heaven in the green of the palms of the Village of Merzouga. A fantastic location, panorama and an environment where relaxation and rest are guaranteed!!!at Riad Nezha we do offer all different excursion around Merzouga!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Nezha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nezha Merzouga
Riad Nezha Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing