We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sahara stay”
Review of Riad Mamouche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Mamouche
Ranked #10 of 84 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A great place to visit the sahara from. A perfect view of the dunes whilst you dry off from the refreshing swimming pool during the day. Then a magical camel ride into the desert to sleep under the stars in a berber camp with a belly full of delicious tagine. Lovely staff, tasty food, sturdy camels. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leogreenlaurenhoskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised at what our cheap accommodation in Merzouga turned out to be. We arrived at 7am to the Riad from the coach bus from Fez, and the staff let us check in straight away, even though our check-in wasn't until that afternoon. We were able to sleep, use the pool, etc.! The day we left, they let us check out at 6pm, instead of 10am, too, for no extra cost. The staff were fantastic the whole time, too - we had some very special moments, thanks to the staff being very generous of their time & knowledge. We danced, listened to Moroccan music they played for us & went out to watch the stars at night in the desert dunes. We ate watermelon at a nearby oasis, got shown around town, etc. all by the lovely staff. Their language skills are incredible, too - they nearly all speak French, Arabic & Spanish fluently, and speak Italian & English quite well, and even a bit of Japanese & a few other languages.
The Riad itself is comfortable, with effective A/C & decent beds. Our room was good & spacious, too. The view from the terrace is stunning, and the pool was well-kept & refreshing!
I couldn't recommend this place enough, if you are going to do a desert trip!
My only tip is to make sure you let the Riad know when you are coming so they can organise someone to pick you up. The Riad is actually not in Merzouga itself, but is about a 5-10min taxi ride away from where the buses would drop you off (assuming people will be arriving via the Supratours buses). It's not really walking distance, so is worth organising this part in advance! ;)

Room Tip: Organise with the Riad in advance how you will get there from Merzouga - it's not possible to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ET_D92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

After experiencing what it is like to stay at a Riad in Fez, I was expecting an even older-looking room in Riad Mamouche. It was a surprise to see a large clean room with modern decor and a toilet with Japanese technology. The bed is also big and firm with clean sheets.
The only thing that the room could use is a bigger block-out curtain. There is a Moroccan piece of drape but it's not enough coverage and it is quite thin. They have free internet but it seems to work well only in the lobby. I also wish that there were some more lounge chairs around the pool. We were so tired after the overnight camping and could have used those lounge chairs while waiting for our guide.
The best thing of course here is the staff. They are very kind and always ready with a smile. The also tend to give you so much food. There were just two of us so we always have leftover.
The desert tour and camping provided by this hotel was a great experience and what I really wanted to experience while in Morocco. Our desert guide was funny and made sure we were as comfortable as we could be and warm during the night in the camp. They cooked us fresh food too, with fresh sliced oranges for dessert.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Merzouga.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuieLuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The tour I was taking spent a night here before our overnight excursion to the Erg Chebbi dunes. This was a family home, recently converted to a riad and is staffed and run by the family. Rooms are simple but clean and well appointed. Food was delicious and after dinner we were entertained with wild Moroccan music and dancing. Staff are friendly and helpful. I can also highly recommend the overnight in a Berber camp in the desert, organized by the hotel. If you are traveling on your own, the hotel can help organize expeditions like the desert camping or birding excursions. Contact Atmane at riadmamouche@gmail.com.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank marydeetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I were on a group tour visiting Merzouga with a camel ride and overnight stay in the desert. We stayed at the Riad Mamouche in Merzouga the night before our trip into the desert and had a fantastic time. We arrived after dark, but the riad hosts were ready with a delicious dinner. After dinner we had entertainment (Moroccan music and dancing) well into the night by the swimming pool. The riad is family run, and they were all very friendly and helpful. The next day we visited the souks of nearby Rissani and a Bambera family for local entertainment. We also visited the family of our tour guide who lived there. Later in the afternoon we took the camel ride to the Berber camp in the desert where we enjoyed the Sahara sunset. We had a great dining experience at the Berber camp along with campfire entertainment. The next morning we again climbed the sand dunes for the beautiful Sahara sunrise. We then then rode the camels back to the riad where we showered and had breakfast. We then said our good byes to our wonderful hosts and started on our trip through the Atlas mountains to Air Benhaddou.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank rpver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel/riad is clean and all guest feel can feel special ..the stuff will do everything for you when you stay there..
Its very near to desert (Erg Chebbi dunes) and camel trips are starting from the front of hotel

Room Tip: Room beside the mainbuilding is moor familylike.. and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markgrevinnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Hi All :) It was our holiday destintion . Of course Otman didn't let us down. It was fantastic time with all the hotel staff , we spent there 4 nights . I was there second time , and I will definitelly go there again. I am highly recomending this Riad for everybody , very good location , nice and clean place , fantastic staff and superb good food. All the best to You Otman , Mahommet , Hassan and everybody at Riad Mamouche. See You soon . Ania & Andrew.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andrzejd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#15 of 23 in Merzouga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ksar Bicha
Ksar Bicha
#4 of 23 in Merzouga
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 84 in Merzouga
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camel's House
Camel's House
#11 of 103 in Merzouga
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mamouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mamouche

Address: Ksar Hassi Labiad | Marueccos, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range: £41 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Mamouche 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Mamouche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mamouche Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing