We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Auberge La Source

Auberge La Source
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge La Source
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Great people are running this place.
Excellent money value for desert trip and sleepin in the tent.
Food is really delicious and you can enjoy in stuning view from the roof terrace.
Big thanks to Hasan and his family:)
I would definitely come back:)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hrvoje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
54
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I have travelled many countries and much in Morocco, but the family who host you here at Auberge La Source are legendary! Really, they are so authentic and warm and very knowledgeable. The price is so reasonable for what you get here, forget the rest, if it is quality and simplicity you are looking for, this may well be it.

Room Tip: The desert bivouacs are probably the best experience. I recommend one night to rest at La Source bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Me and a friend stayed here whilst travelling all over Morocco. It was the best expereience we had during the whole month we were in Morocco. We actually got lost travelling to the hotel and the owner came out and got us in a nearby town with no extra cost. We spent 2 nights there, one night in the hotel and one in the desert. It is run by a lovely family who treat you like royalty and the food was incredible. The rooms are big and spacious and there is a bit lounge to sit in and outdoor seating area too. The second night we stayed in the desert. We rode camels into their camp in the desert and slept amongst the stars, it was a truly magical experience. Normally you have to go in big groups to stay overnight in the desert, but this hotel allowed for just the two of us to go which made it even better.

I would recommend anyone wanting an authentic Moroccan desert experience to stay in this hotel. You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmin0012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Worth and trustful! perfect location, great food and amazing host.. it is everything you need for perfect vacation! if to come back, i definitely will choose Auberge La Source! you can feel Sahara spirit in that place... and you know that Sahara starts just across the fence.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustynaRogoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you are planning a trip to Merzouga (which you should), this place is perfect. Yes, it is that cheap that it makes you think that it can't be good, but let me tell you: it is! The host is so friendly, and willing to help with whathever you ask him. The location of course is wonderfull, as it is right next to the desert. The food is great, the rooms have anything you need and they even have wifi - can you imagine? Would definitly like to go back!

Fantastische locatie, fantastische gastheer, je kan echt niks meer wensen. Het eten is er erg lekker, de prijzen zijn belachelijk goedkoop en de omgeving is adembenemend. Zou er zo meteen naar terug gaan en raad al mijn vrienden aan om Auberge La Source te kiezen!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mielec, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent one night in the hotel and one night in the desert. After having seen many places in you life, spending many nights in different hotels, hostels, camps and other accommodation facilities it is not so easy to by surprised, and nicely more difficult even. But there it happened. Simple, neat, spacious typical local clay house, with comfortable rooms and bathrooms, and great view on a beautiful and breathtaking Erg Chebbi. Lovely food (naturally organic, juicy and tasteful) served by five (or maybe six?) languages speaking service and the unique atmosphere created by the family running Auberge La Source. Being insisted on to feel like at your home you find it really easy to feel so. Its traditional, local hospitability, not only tourism makes you find this place refreshing and disconnecting.
The offer and the day/night attractions can be custom made, you can plan it when your are already there and everything is "no problem".
Tripadvisor recommendation and Excellence Prize fully deserved!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This place is amazing. It is in a small village outside of Merzouga called Hassilabied. It is much closer to the dunes than Merzouga - and from the hotel terrace you can see them.

We were coming from Fes on the night bus to Merzouga (Supratours goes direct to Merzouga) and we arrived 1 & 1/2 hours early. Nevertheless, Omar was waiting at the bus station when we got there, and told us he had been there from 5am!! He took us to the hotel and then gave us a room to sleep in and have a shower, even though we were going into the desert that night. They can organise 1/2/3 night desert excursions which can include camel trekking, meeting with berber families, drumming nights and sand boarding.

We spent 2 nights in the desert which was an amazing experience. Hassan, Zaed and Omar were great hosts, and we really felt like part of their family. We spoke a lot with them, joked, played cards and they really went out of their way to make us feel at home. The price at the hotel includes breakfast and dinner, which are delicious traditional Moroccan meals like Tajines, berber pancakes/omelettes and couscous.

I could a write a lot about how great this place was, but it wouldn't do it justice. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to enjoy their desert experience in Morocco!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tb1tb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0.7 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Aicha
Riad Aicha
#5 of 82 in Merzouga
188 reviews
6.1 mi away
No photo provided
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Source

Property: Auberge La Source
Address: Hassi Labied, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel La Source, located just in front of a Palm Grove and in the middle of the desert of Erg Chebbi in Morocco, welcome les throughout the year, in a place of dreams, where you will find what you are looking for.In the village of Hassi Labied (Merzouga), you can enjoy throughout the day of a landscape that never ceases to amaze. Sitemap, incredibly quiet and very family-friendly, is a suitable place for relaxation and meditation, but for people more active, the hostel offers numerous adventures.The Ougunir brothers reserve them a great welcome.The hostel offers a pleasant lounge in which you can enjoy the delicious traditional dishes (kalia, tagine, couscous, Berber omelette...) At a great price.All rooms are very comfortable and are equipped with shower, hot water and bathroom, in addition being distributed around a typically Eastern courtyard where will take advantage of the cool shade. Since May 2014 we have new rooms,very complete with modern amenities and spacious suite of category.The hostel also has Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auberge La Source reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing