We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff and beautiful place!”
Review of Auberge La Source

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge La Source
Certificate of Excellence
Slovenska Bistrica, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and beautiful place!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked hotel for one night. When we arrived to the hotel, late in the afternoon, we changed our plan. We wanted to sleep in the desert so they organised camel caravan and camping in their tents. Nothing was a problem. Really very friendly staff, fun, they organised party in the desert and midnight walking on the dunes to see shooting stars and moon rising. Amazing! In the morning, when we arrived from the desert we got breakfest and two rooms to took shower, no extra cost. Food was delicious. Excellent money value. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nejka696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
53
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived very early in the morning and were only staying one night. At no extra cost the owners let us shower and rest in one of the good rooms and were extremely friendly throughout. They were very helpful with booking transport to our next location and didnt mind letting us use the showers of the nice rooms that weren't occupied when we were in a hurry and the outdoor ones weren't available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel_peretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I booked the hostel 1 day before my arrival and mailed twice asking for pick-up, but never got reply. So I had to call the owner for confirmation and pick up time.
However the family-runned hostel turned out to be quite amazing, not only for the free pick-up and drop-off from Merzouga bus stop which is 5 kilos away, but the courteous and friendly way for all my demand and needs.
It got big living room, cozy guestrooms, terrace with great view for dune, and sumptuous dinner and free delicious breakfast. All the things were so great, thank you La Source! Wish I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethan-on-earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Great people are running this place.
Excellent money value for desert trip and sleepin in the tent.
Food is really delicious and you can enjoy in stuning view from the roof terrace.
Big thanks to Hasan and his family:)
I would definitely come back:)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hrvoje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I have travelled many countries and much in Morocco, but the family who host you here at Auberge La Source are legendary! Really, they are so authentic and warm and very knowledgeable. The price is so reasonable for what you get here, forget the rest, if it is quality and simplicity you are looking for, this may well be it.

Room Tip: The desert bivouacs are probably the best experience. I recommend one night to rest at La Source bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Me and a friend stayed here whilst travelling all over Morocco. It was the best expereience we had during the whole month we were in Morocco. We actually got lost travelling to the hotel and the owner came out and got us in a nearby town with no extra cost. We spent 2 nights there, one night in the hotel and one in the desert. It is run by a lovely family who treat you like royalty and the food was incredible. The rooms are big and spacious and there is a bit lounge to sit in and outdoor seating area too. The second night we stayed in the desert. We rode camels into their camp in the desert and slept amongst the stars, it was a truly magical experience. Normally you have to go in big groups to stay overnight in the desert, but this hotel allowed for just the two of us to go which made it even better.

I would recommend anyone wanting an authentic Moroccan desert experience to stay in this hotel. You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmin0012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Worth and trustful! perfect location, great food and amazing host.. it is everything you need for perfect vacation! if to come back, i definitely will choose Auberge La Source! you can feel Sahara spirit in that place... and you know that Sahara starts just across the fence.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustynaRogoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps
0.2 mi away
Riad Mamouche
Riad Mamouche
#9 of 82 in Merzouga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Madu
Riad Madu
#1 of 9 in Hassilabied
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Source

Property: Auberge La Source
Address: Hassi Labied, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel La Source, located just in front of a Palm Grove and in the middle of the desert of Erg Chebbi in Morocco, welcome les throughout the year, in a place of dreams, where you will find what you are looking for.In the village of Hassi Labied (Merzouga), you can enjoy throughout the day of a landscape that never ceases to amaze. Sitemap, incredibly quiet and very family-friendly, is a suitable place for relaxation and meditation, but for people more active, the hostel offers numerous adventures.The Ougunir brothers reserve them a great welcome.The hostel offers a pleasant lounge in which you can enjoy the delicious traditional dishes (kalia, tagine, couscous, Berber omelette...) At a great price.All rooms are very comfortable and are equipped with shower, hot water and bathroom, in addition being distributed around a typically Eastern courtyard where will take advantage of the cool shade. Since May 2014 we have new rooms,very complete with modern amenities and spacious suite of category.The hostel also has Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Auberge La Source reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing