We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merzouga & Riad Aicha: Highlight of Morocco Experience”
Review of Riad Aicha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Aicha
Ranked #5 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Merzouga & Riad Aicha: Highlight of Morocco Experience”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

What a find! We booked a room in Riad Aicha to follow up on a 2-day/1-night camel tour in the Sahara. Based on our experience in other Riads, we had come to expect a clean room with professional service - but Riad Aicha is so much more. From the start, Ibrahim impressed us with his hospitality and general attitude. It got better with what was probably our top cultural experience in Morocco - Ibrahim guiding us through the gardens and irrigation systems of Hassi Labied as well as a local wedding celebration, explaining to us the intricacies of the local culture that would have been lost on us otherwise. It also made for numerous fantastic photo opportunities.

As far as the rooms themselves - very clean and well decorated. The Wi-Fi was not strong in the room we were in, but as soon as we moved into the common area it was quick. The food provided by the Riad was excellent as well. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabe C, Public Relations Manager at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Sounds like you were fulfilled in many ways with your stay at our Family Run Riad. Your comment made us realize that you have an educated viewpoint with your travel experiences and we are so happy we lived up to your expectations. Enjoying the gardens of the first village nomad settlers is a unique landmark our small village can offer. Our Mother, Aicha was the beginning of this village and visiting our garden is something RIAD AICHA can offer their guests. Come back...the tea is waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
40
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great place to spend some days in the desert. Excellent service and food, Rooms are great, you can get the real feel of the place and the people. We've spent a whole day on the terrace enjoying the sun and the view of the dunes.

Just love it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex5mii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRAicha, Public Relations Manager at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Enjoying our Family run Riad allows us to manage the service, quality of the rooms and food, and the flexibility to make your needs our first priority. Please share your experience and bring others to the beautiful Dunes of the Sahara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

If you have to pick a place when you visit the desert defenetly this is what you are looking for ! The guys are super cool and kind , the road is beautiful and cosy bit cold at he beginning but as soon as they start the fireplace is cosy and warm! Here is when your journey Thrue the desert begins , lovely dinner and when you wake up you see the the sunrise from the rooftop Some hours later you have breakfast here and get ready to visit the town and in the afternoon the dromedaries ride into the desert to see the sunset is magical ! After they take you to the Jamas the camp in the Sahara , and is like a dream !!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRAicha, Public Relations Manager at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
You gracious words about your service and experience at Riad Aicha brings us great pleasure. We appreciate you taking the time to share your great time with others who read TripAdvisor. We are proud to have an excellent TripAdvisor rating for our past and soon to be guests from around the world. Happy New Year! And please come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I was traveling on my own back in the spring when a friend recommended that I stay at the Riad Aicha. From the moment I arrived, I was treated like family. Not only were the facilities beautiful and in great condition, but everyone was so incredibly friendly! Hassan showed me around the area of the desert we were at and I was even allowed to watch some of his brother's wedding ceremony which was happening while I staying with them. It was one of the most memorable experiences of my trip and it would not have been possible without Hassan and his wonderful family who run the Riad Aicha. I hope one day I will be able to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after we had slept in the Sahara the night before. Said was an excellent host and a really nice man. He organized our overnight Berber trip in the desert as well as our camel trip. Hassan was also very helpful. Great rooftop terrace - make sure you have dinner up there one night!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsno6032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRAicha, Public Relations Manager at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
We are pleased that you took the time to write and share your praises with your desert stay and night in the Riad. Please come visit us again when you need some relaxation. We would like to take you sight seeing to share our local culture in neighboring villages and our beautiful Sahara desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

After the never-ending bustle of the cities, and many days of travelling; Riad Aicha was a haven. The brothers made us feel very much at home: telling us about the region, the people, the language, and even bringing us to a music festival!
Trekking into the desert by camel and sleeping beneath the stars amid the dunes in an Amazigh(Berber) camp; was easily one of the best experiences of my lifetime! That isn't to mention attempting to climb an enormous dune to watch sunset over the endless sea of sand, or rolling down afterwards to enjoy a feast of the freshest of food...
The food, the views, the rooms, and the hosts are all superb. If I were to ever return to Morocco, Riad Aicha would be top of the list!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieMcFoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRAicha, Public Relations Manager at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
We appreciate your review and sharing your positive experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our desert camp as an unforgettable moment in your life. We are a Nomad family with our roots from the desert and sharing it's beauty is truly one of our greatest pleasures for our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigevano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The place is fantastic, rooms are confortable and nicely arranged. Breakfast on the terrace with the desert view is a must! The riad organizes desert trip and the owner is ready to assist you in any need. The Riad is easily reachabe by car, no 4x4 needed.
Keep in mind that Merzouga is just a small village so if you need anything (pharmacy etc.) you need to go to the nearest town about 20-25 minutes by car.
It's definitely the place to go if you want to have a confortable stay for your desert trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank enricotav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRAicha, Public Relations Manager at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and helpful suggestions for future travelers. We share the family riad home, desert camp and hospitality in hope that you enjoyed your Berber stay and come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
523 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#16 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Vallee des Dunes
La Vallee des Dunes
#22 of 82 in Merzouga
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mamouche
Riad Mamouche
#7 of 82 in Merzouga
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aicha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aicha

Property: Riad Aicha
Address: B.p. 51 | p.v: Errachidia, Merzouga 52292, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Aicha 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Aicha is located at the foot of the BIG Dune in the Sahara Desert, Merzouga, Morocco.The Riad offers several types of rooms in Moroccan decor each with their private bathroom. All bedrooms have their own controlled air conditioner inside their room.The riad is wireless and free to guests at any time. The breakfast,is served each morning and is included in the total room price. The Continental breakfast is made to order when you request it. Riad Aicha has a roof terrace which overlooks the dunes and a Berber-style lounge to relax in the evening. Meals can be eaten on the Roof terrace or inside in the dining lounge area along side the water fountain.Additional Moroccan Culture can be experienced by a Day Tour arranged at the Riad to the Sahara Dunes and Nomad Desert Camp. You can travel by Dromedary,or 4x4. This provides an additional opportunity to experience an adventurous play-day with Quads, Sand-boarding and Sand mashing. For those wanting to relax in the Desert, time can be spent with a campfire, Berber music with Drums, and an outstanding sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Riad Aicha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing