We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kasbah Azalay Merzouga
Nearby Hotels
Auberge Africa(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$19
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$18
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Aicha(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Youssef(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel(Hassilabied)(Great Value!)
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Les Pyramides(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Vallee des Dunes(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ksar Bicha(Merzouga)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
205
52
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
52
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo brotherswheel drivestayed here for two nightsone nightswimming pooloff roadthe ownercommon areashighly recommend this placea great staymint teahis brotherlong drivesahara dunescamel ridebreakfast and dinnerkasbah
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We arrived in Merzouga early morning, after an eight hours bus ride from Fes. Although we did not ask for someone to pick up both of us, a gentle man made the arrangements and soon, someone from the hotel, came along with a 4x4.
Once at the hotel, Youssef gave us a warm welcome and made us feel really at home. He took us around the different facilities the hotel has, plus sharing some moroccan tea and introducing himself and family running the hotel.
Hotel location is second to none; the views from the Erg Chebbi desert are superb from the hotel. Perfect setting. A cosy place to have your breakfast and very nice rooms, that are among the many pros I can mention about Kasbah Azalay. Youssef and co also arranged a desert tour that included an hour or so camel ride in the Sahara, a night in a berber tent plus dinner. A fantastic experience.
Youssef, brother and team were always on top of anything they came across from both us and another customers. Paying attention to detail, making our stay comfortable but most importantly, being warmth and looking after us every time.
It is real hard to find such an utterly brilliant sample of customer service nowadays. Kasbah Azalay did it and so will last memories of being there with Youssef and team.

Room Tip: Ask for those conveniently located to see the sunrise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

in the middle of nothing your heart will pump stronger than usual because here you can find a friendly welcome , pool, fine rooms... everything you need, also if you are at the limit of the desert. the hotel is really simple and comfortable at a mid price of 50 euros. the only con are the telephone and television antennas over the head that, when is windy, can be noisy. the last part of the road is not comfortable (3 km) but is travelable also with a not off road car. i was in doubt about this but my renault was able to go without any problem.

Room Tip: the n.1 is fine. wifi is ok there 2 traces.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The staff try very hard indeed. They were most gracious. We had mint tea (accompanied by unpeeled peanuts and popcorn) twice with the owner in the first 5 hours after we checked in. The room had no amenities save a pump bottle of hand soap; eventually four tiny 1"x1/2"x1/8" bars. Our 'suite' had an extra bed, no sofa or chair, save a small round table with chairs for preschoolers. There were beautiful saffron coverlets on the beds, Berber rugs on the floor, and stars and crescents painted on the wall (more Marin circa 1968) than tribal in feeling. There was heavy construction outside the room working on a future swimming pool. The manager arranged for us to swim nearby in an over-chlorinated pool in a completed deserted kasbah hotel nearby, There appeared to be about 25 similar properties in the immediate area, all equally low on guests. A travelling seminar from the Cornell School of Hotel Management? The saving grace was a drop dead view of the Erg Chebbi giant Sahara dunes. (We were, in fact, saved from that grace by a ferocious day time sandstorm that obliterated the view.) Also the hotel has two ten story cell phone towers on top--if you avoid such things--but great if you want to use MorocTel during a sandstorm.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the dunes--though the rooms have tiny windows due to the sand and heat.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryna_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Abdul and his brothers made us feel very welcome. Mint tea, a chat and an understanding of the Sahara and activities to do, created straightaway a "feel" for the place .
Location is perfect with the view over the Dunes. We departed on camels from the kashbah and all was taken care of in a easy and natural way. It felt like we had done it many times. ,!!
We booked for three nights, but were only charged two nights as we stayed overnight in a Berber tent in the Sahara. A must do.. Ok, bottom is a bit sensitive, but all worth the experience, including the wonderful "silence" of the desert.
Room was comfortable. Traditional carpet, bedspreads. A warm douche and good toilet.
For the price it's a gem. We realize when the pool is finished the word will be out , to enjoy this kashbah to the full . Breakfast buffet had all you wished for. Thank you..
(Australian couple end 50)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLMabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The place is absolutely fantastic! We have spent unfortunately just 2 night,which is quite not enough when you want to enjoy Berber atmosphere with fantastic people - with two brothers who take care about everything you need!
Acomodation - clean,typical mud house, jacuzzi and swimming pool with amazing dunes view is just made!
Food - typical Berber tasty food, that we really liked
Definitely this is the place in Marocco where we will come back and where we met most friendly people in our 15days tour in Marocco.

Room Tip: Every room is different but each really comfortable,clean,AC
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMichal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews