We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic night in the desert”
Review of Jaimas Madu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merzouga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jaimas Madu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My son and I loved Jaimas Madu. After seeing photos on tripadvisor - I was determined we were going to stay here. And it was even better than I expected. The atmosphere was incredible - like you're in an arabian nights story. The service was truly great and genuine from the start. When we showed up at Riad Madu (their guest house in Merzouga) for departure, I had tried to pack an overnight bag into a tiny backpack for both of us since we were going on camels. We were visiting over new year and it can get really cold at night in the winter. I wanted to make sure we wouldn't freeze. Mohammed set us at ease by telling us they would transfer our luggage by 4x4 and it would be waiting in our tent. My son loved the camel ride, but opted for a ride back through the dunes in the 4x4. Really nice to have the choice. The food was delicious - all 4 courses. We met really nice people from all over and gathered by the fire under the stars to talk. It was the highlight of our trip to Morocco. It did take a lot of research to find them on the web - http://jaimasmadu.wix.com/jaimas-madu - the site is in Spanish, but they spoke all the major languages.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanAnselmoJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here and we were the only people so it was like a private camp! The camp is lovely, hard to believe you are in a tent, proper beds, toilet, shower with hot water, electricity. We arrived and departed by camel, and ate dinner under the stars (4 courses!).

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What could be more romantic than a night in the Sahara? You arrive by camel, as the sun sets. You are shown to a rainbow tent. A delicious meal follows, prepared by the Ibrahim, who took excellent care of us. Later Amazirh (Berber) musicians play into the night. Finally, the one spectacle vaster than the Sahara, the glittering carpets of stars...

It was fantastic to have such a comfortable bed, spacious tent, and really hot showers. We suggest you arrive at your camel on time! We arrived late, and ended up rushing to catch up. Also, we were so tired we fell asleep early, rather than luxuriating in the beauty of the sky. One of us had been to Erg Chebbi before, and recommends staying a second night, so you can go further into the erg and explore dunes that are steeper and more remote.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnetteandCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimasmadu, Manager at Jaimas Madu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Jaimas Madu Luxurious camp, we very much appreciate your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and again. Your satisfaction is our goal, Mrahba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Spending the evening at Jaimas Madu was the highlight of my trip. The evening was so memorable for me. I arrived to Jaimas Madu after a sunset camel ride in Erg Chebbi. Upon my arrival I warmly greeted by Said. He was absolutely wonderful; he was very friendly, helpful and attentive to my needs and comfort. After I was settled in, the hosts served a wonderful dinner (very very good cuisine), which was followed with entertainment of a local folkloric music.

The desert camp was isolated from any other camps and tucked away with high dunes enclosing it on all sides. I truly felt like I was camping in the Sahara. My tent was awesomely comfortable. Even though it was cold at night (I was there in early February) I slept very well. The bedding was extremely comfortable, very clean, and I had plenty of very warm blankets.

If you travel to Morocco, you must spend an evening at Jaimas Madu in the Erg Chebbi. Your cultural experience will not be complete without a stay at their camp.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

If you are looking for a totally comfortable experience in the desert, this is it. Spacious eating and dining tents, both very nicely decorated. The night we stayed was cold but the comfortable bed had 4 thick blankets. The attached bathroom was fabulous - flushing water and a hot shower. What more could one ask for out in the middle of nowhere? Service was excellent as was the food. We even had a Ganoua band playing music for us. I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeanine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

What I expected to be one of the best nights of my life (a night at a nomad's camp with the wife and kids) turned out to be a nightmare when the temperature inside the jaimas (tent camp) reached a freezing 3 degrees Celsius (37.4 Fahrenheit), only two degrees higher than it was outside. Seven blankets were not enough to keep us warm, all five of us ended up packed in one same bed, and still, the cold air was unbearable to even breath.

I guess this five-star for-export jaimas (beautifully lit, excellent food and service, premium mattresses and box springs, etc.) would be awesome in the spring, but I don't understand how they can even offer it in the cold months. Hot water is available but who can shower in such a cold environment anyway? A real toilet is also included in each tent, but beware, no doors, only a fabric curtain separates it from the rest, so number two can be really embarrassing (so you get the full picture, silence is absolute at night in the desert, I could even hear a the guy in next tent snore).

My tripadvise? Do the camel trip (it's fun!), enjoy the gorgeous sunset and then head back to a warm (or air-conditioned in the summer) hotel. Nomads would too, if they could afford it.

Additional notes:
All lights off at 10 (they give you LED flashlights for emergencies).
Sunrise is pretty but not as amazing as the sunset, as the sun comes out from the "wrong" side where there are no high dunes.
Be warned about your camel ranger stopping to sell you fossils and insisting many times on it, which can become annoying. Saying "no" rids them of all their berber charm almost immediately.
The starry sky is indeed amazing to watch.

Room Tip: Unless you go in spring or fall, the best room is a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Disfrutator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
6.5 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#16 of 22 in Merzouga
141 reviews
9.6 mi away
Caravanserai Luxury Desert Camps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps
10.0 mi away
Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
#3 of 98 in Merzouga
112 reviews
5.3 mi away
Desert Berber Fire-Camp
Desert Berber Fire-Camp
#9 of 83 in Merzouga
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaimas Madu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaimas Madu

Address: Erg Chebbi | BP 135 Erfoud 52200, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Merzouga
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaimas Madu Camp, is the most luxurious desert camp in the area of Erg Chebbi Merzouga. We welcome you to experience a memorable sunset and sunrise over the the Golden Erg Chebbi Sand dunes; our Berber suite tents are spacious, well decorated and include private bathroom and shower. we will serve you dinner under a sky with millions stars , our breakfast contains fresh squeezed orange juice, Moroccan crepes, different types of bread, toast, fruits,olives and Yogurt; we can also prepare a special Breakfast or dinner depending on your request and diet. At Jaimas Madu, we are also specialized at Berber weddings,birthdays and special parties to learn about the Berber culture and customs. we will be pleased to welcome you at our camp to experience one of your best evenings of your life. Our camp has earned great testimonial from different people over the globe, please call or email us and we will discuss your stay, our aim is to welcome you and share with you,Mrahba, Ammar, ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing