We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It was really great. Not too long to go on camels, but there was a feeling, that the camp is the only one in a desert. Actually we expected sleeping on some mattraces, but there were beds in the tents, so sleeping was good. There was even the toilet. Hassan with his friends prepared a good dinner and after that we had entertainment with Berber drums and dance. We can recommend this experience to everyone who want to know more about Berber live and they culture and it's a must do experience then you travel in Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jolita68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
42
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our night in Erb Chebbi was hot, authentic and incredibly entertaining. After our one hour camel ride our lovely guide, Mohammed showed us to our camp where we feasted on delicious tagines, climbed the dunes and fell asleep beneath the stars. The staff were incredibly hospitable and we couldn't have asked for a better Moroccan experience, thank you!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

If you want to try the REAL bivouac experience with the REAL Berber warm feeling and generosity, try Hassan and his friends. Hassan, who's a true polyglot (French, English, Italian, German,...) was very nice in welcoming us in his humble and authentic bivouac. The food was simple and good. The sunset over the dunes was amazing and the 1-hour dromedary ride was very peaceful. Trust them...they will surprise you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilleRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Initially I was very skeptical about this place. Being hosted in the exotic Bivouac , Hassan , and their staff created a perfect experience. Getting to know them, understanding how they look at the world, what concerns them about life, what they enjoy about it, basically this Bivouac gave us the opportunity to hang out with a couple of local Nomads and Berbers people , a huge dinner and breakfast and then of course there's the camel ride to an incredible serene part of the Sahara desert with Sand boarding . Absolutely unforgettable. A must if you're going to Morocco. You would've spend you whole night there. I would love to do it over again. Thanks Hassan .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elena-travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We loved the Sahara - the camel ride , Sandbaording , sunset, sunrise, the food and our berber tents .
can not say enough good things about Bivouac Merzouga Experience !!!
We enjoyed and lived the story of 1000 nights and night with Berber nomads We were also lucky enough to be there on a full moon which provided the most beautiful light for our night of camping. And it’s a good opportunity to discover berber nomad music and culture .
we would definitely recommend it to anyone who is intending to take a trip to morocco.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon-ellen-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent a night in the Sahara as part of our tour with Merzouga Experience and Hsain. The camel ride was exciting but prepared that it is long. Close to 2 hours. It's worth doing but the you do get uncomfortable after a while. Make sure you put sunscreen on your left leg/feet as it gets a lot of sun!

The dinner was really good and we slept outside under the stars. We were given sheets and a blanket just in case it got cold but the sheet was enough. After dinner we climbed up one of the dunes near by and enjoyed the view from the top of the dunes. It was an amazing experience!

Some of the other reviews mentions a toilet. We did not have a toilet, you just find a private spot to go. We had toilet paper and wet wipes and water for rising our hands so it was fine.

In the morning you leave after watching the sunrise. I would recommend leaving as soon as you can after sunrise as it gets hot quickly. We were the first to leave and we couldn't see anyone else behind us the whole way but it was already 37 degrees by the time we got back!

Take some rose oil or tea tree oil with you as I was bitten by sandfiles overnight. The price you pay for sleeping outside but it is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f44444444f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We started our desert camp at 7pm and made it just in time to watch the sunset from one of the high dunes. The camels they used were very friendly and calm (not like the camels I've seen elsewhere in the world) which made the ride relaxing.

When we got to the camp, I was pleasantly surprised. For full disclosure, I am used to nice hotels and A/C (camping is not my idea of fun) and given that it was really hot the day we went, I was worried I would see the camp and have to request to go back to a hotel! Fortunately, the camp was really cute and authentic. There were 6-8 tents, carpet laid out in the center of the tents to make a small "communal" area, a table, and cushions for everyone to sit on. Candles were lit and there were even a couple of lights and a tent with a toilet for all to use.

About the toilet...I was worried we were going to get a port-o-potty but it was actually a porcelain toilet and you even get toilet paper! The only thing missing now was a shower! :) I don't think any of the camps offer showers though, but it's only one night so it's not a big deal.

We got dinner at 10 or 11pm so I'd recommend you get a snack beforehand if you can't wait that long. BUT the dinner was really good! We got bread, chicken tangine with veggies, and fruit for dessert. I've had tangine about 3-4 days in a row by then and the chicken tangine was up there with the best I've had so far. During dinner, the host keeps asking if everything is good and really wants to make sure you're having a good time.

As for the weather, I went in late May so it was getting hot in Morocco. Luckily, it cooled off a bit at night so that made the concern about A/C a non-issue.

As for the tents themselves, my tent had a bed for two and even a "couch" (cushion sitting area with pillows) and table so it was definitely roomier than I'd expect. It was also carpeted throughout which gives it a "homier" feel. The tent was a step up from what I'd expect to get going camping.

We left at 5:30am to catch the sunrise so given the late dinner, we didn't get much sleep, but the light in the morning is great for photos so it makes waking up at 5am worth it.... and this is coming from someone who usually needs 7-8hrs of sleep and is grumpy without it.

In all, the desert camp was better than I thought it'd be and a good experience for anyone who is at all slightly interested. As an note, they have a couple of camps. I chose the one with toilets which I heard is more comfy. I thought it was worth the extra money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justwanderlustblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
5.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
519 reviews
6.3 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
5.1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#15 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Caravanserai Luxury Desert Camp
1.1 mi away
Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
#4 of 96 in Merzouga
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps

Property: Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps
Address: Ksar Merzouga, Merzouga 52202, Morocco (Formerly Bivouac Merzouga Experience)
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Sahara Desert, Luxury Merzouga Experience Camp is a tented camp, just 5 km from the centre of Mezouga. It provides an on-site restaurant and tents with views of the dunes and of the surrounding mountains.All of the tents at Luxury Merzouga Experience Camp are decorated in a traditional, Berber style. You will enjoy experience in Moroccan desert! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing