We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and frelaxing stay next to and in the desert”
Review of Camels House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camels House
Ranked #1 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Peaceful and frelaxing stay next to and in the desert”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I took a short trip from the Camels House into the desert, with a 2-hours camel ride, a wonderful night in the nomads tent, and a ride back to the guest house where we had a good breakfast. I was treated very well by the 4 brothers running the enterprise. They are very genuine, trustworthy and helpfull. The evening meal in the tent, where our 2 guides spntaneously made traditional music with drums and singing, and the night amidst the dunes were fantastic - the climax of 3 weeks travelling in Marocco. I would like to come back there soon and spend some weeks there, enjoying the complete quietness and the good company. A very recommenable address for anyone who wants to have a triip to the Sahara!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
55 Thank Berne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    20
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
82
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merzouga, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We (2 young women from belgium) stayed two nights in the desert for a camel trek. it was a wonderful stay: good and friendly camel man, wonderful desert views, delicious food, delicious whisky berber ... One of the best experiences of our life. The hotel is beautiful, nice people, hot shower (we needed that after two days in desert), very quiet and peaceful. we recommend it! And once we come back, inch'allah!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
53 Thank BobMarleyCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merzouga, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Camels House is an extraordinay place. I'm going to explain my experience in the Morroccan Sahara. I just arrived from Fes, a long trip by bus, an once I stopped in Merzouga, I was totally astonished of the amazing view. I was exhausted from the bus ride, so I decided to look for a nice Hotel to keep my luggage and relax for a while. I don't know how but I finally arrived to the Camels House. And from that moment I felt like at home!! Mohammed and Jousef, the service workers, gave me a nice cup of tea and several food, and we spent almost all morning talking about their culture (Berbers), my trip and future nice destinations to visit. Furthermore, the Hotel it's super nice located, and it has all the necessary things you need for having a relax and cultural time. You will not regreat it at all!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
63 Thank Polraca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed for one night at camels house and had two nights in the desert. I was made to feel relaxed and welcome for my whole stay.

Whilst in the desert we encountered few tourists and I really got a feel for the size and geography of the area. The food was good, particularly in the evening, the tajines were very nice.

The rooms in the hostel are really good, the owner was busy building more while I was there.

I would definately recommend camels house, I got exactly what I wanted from my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
76 Thank alastair f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

After a long, somewhat stressful drive down to Merzouga, featuring plenty of false guides and a popped tire, we made it to Camels House. As soon as we got there we took tea with Mohammed, Youssef, and Assou. The house itself couldn't be more peaceful, and the owners of Camels House really made us feel at home.

We were only to be there one night, and we wanted to get on the camels and go out to the camp immediately. This was no problem for Camels House, and they had the animals and everything ready within an hour. A short, beautiful trip ensued into the dunes, followed by dinner, stories, music, and "Whisky Berber" around the fires and under the stars. The four of us were the only tourists in the camps, and it was beautiful. In the morning Assou woke us up in time to view the sunrise, and then we were back on the camels and out.

Traveling in Morocco can sometimes be frustrating, but Camels House reminds you why you go there. Thank you for a great experience!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
87 Thank Jayfarers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

What a perfect experience, incredibly nice staff who do totally make you like home. The trips to the desert are breathtaking and the overnight stay at the nomad house of Mohameds family is just an experience apart, beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
88 Thank GijsdeKort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed 3 nights (2 in the desert), and I can only thank Camels house for such a warm hospitality. Absolutely welcoming, genuine and generous, I absolutely recommend this place if you consider visiting Erg Chebbi dunes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
101 Thank mafalda_alm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
324 reviews
5.8 mi away
Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Aicha
Riad Aicha
#5 of 82 in Merzouga
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guest House Merzouga
Guest House Merzouga
#3 of 82 in Merzouga
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Mamouche
Riad Mamouche
#7 of 82 in Merzouga
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camels House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camels House

Property: Camels House
Address: Ksar Hassi Labiad, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camels house is our romantic spot at the moroccan sahara desert, hidden place inside the village of hassilabied, in the area of merzouga, this place is unique to discover the real desert life with a nomadic family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Camels House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing