We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best back garden ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A last minute stop (not pre arranged due to illness). Staff very helpful. Accommodation and food good. Bear in mind where you are here and this is a lovely place. Oh, and the back garden; it's the desert! Camels and dunes 50 yards away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saffronman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your comment and for sharing your experience with us. It helps us improve every day and we take into account all the mentioned aspects. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

What a great stay we had. Thoroughly enjoyed it. We arrived in the middle of a huge sand storm on day 1 but was still able to easily find the hotel despite the near zeo visibility when driving in. We were served mint tea on arrival and used the afternoon indoors to use the good wifi to catch up on some holiday planning. The dinner was delicious. The next day, we took an excursion to the local mine and old mining village. I told them that we wanted to keep the cost down, so they offered to provide us with a guide and then we drove to the mines etc ourselves with the guide (instead of the usual 4 x 4 trip). This was a great. Did the camel trip that night which was great. As nobody else was booked into our room from the first night, we were allowed to leave and bags etc in the room while on the camel trip and use the room whenever we wanted for showering etc until the check out time following the camel safari.

We would highly recommend this all others wishing to visit the desert.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Winter_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Customer. Thank you for your comments. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We truly enjoyed Merzouga - went there to see the dunes and camels and the hotel manager quickly set up the tours we wanted. However, this hotel is overpriced for the quality and the rooms were quite grungy. The evening meals were mediocre at best. Staff tried to make up for the drawbacks but didn't quite succeed. Pleasant enough but, needs improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with an assessment of your stay. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations and I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our team's competition. We will make sure that your complaints are transmitted to everyone. I apologize for this bad experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience here. From the moment of our arrival, all of the Staff were very accomodating. We used the hotel as a base to stay and catch up with some internet business, and we did not even take advantage of many available activities. e.g. trekking around the dunes. IT was a beautiful setting, the place looks just as pictured in the brochure, or even better. The food was very good, staff always available and helpful, but never was intrusive. Very friendly house dog and cat. Our rooftop suite was extremely comfortable and provided a platform (private in our case) overlooking the dunes). Captivating view. Would love to return to this Kasbah to further explore the area. The good value here makes such a return trip a likely possibility.

Room Tip: Desert side had great views. The rooftop room we had was very comfortable, at least while we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juju50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear customer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. I am so glad to hear that our staff made your stay enjoyable. You can follow us on our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Location is fantastic, in the beautiful dunes, but unfortunately the quality of the place was low. Our room was simple, no care details, the bed was simply ok, but it was not clean. The shower hanger was broken.
Dinner was ok, but nothing special. The dinning room was really cold, they only had a few heaters shared among the tables, but they were not enough at all, it was freezing.

Breakfast was so bad quality.... and the tables weren't cleaned from the dinner of the night before... they didn't change the table cloth not even remove the dirty ashtrays.

Merzouga is a very touristic area worth visiting as the dunes are so beautiful, but the activities are expensive and unfortunately the Kanz Erremal wasn't the good quality it could be with a little interest and effort.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank martisviajeraww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

I am very disappointed to hear that you have found our service below your expectations. We would like to know more. Please send us an email with a phone number or email address so our Hotel Manager can solve your problems personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Excellent hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Very impressed with the dinner and breakfast meal deal. Would stay there again and wouldn't bother looking for anywhere else. Would certainly recommend this hotel, especially for families and also the facilities are brilliant for young and old alike.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Customer. Thank you for your comments. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff, super clean spacious room (with towels, extra pillows, free wifi...) nice dining area and brilliant location. The Hotel offers many excursions like going on a camel and see the sunset, it is incredible. Excellent value for money well done to the staff and management.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lidia8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your comment and for sharing your experience with us. It helps us improve every day and we take into account all the mentioned aspects. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
559 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ksar Bicha
Ksar Bicha
#4 of 23 in Merzouga
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hassilabied
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#2 of 23 in Merzouga
476 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#15 of 23 in Merzouga
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal

Address: Touz Azi El Bide, Merzouga, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range: £27 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanz Erremal is located at the base of the desert dunes, surrounded by the fascinating landscape of Erg Chebbi, in the southeast of Morocco. It is located 36 kilometres from Rissani, a 7-minute drive from the centre of Merzouga (free shuttle between Merzouga-hotel) and only a stone's throw away of the famous dunes of Erg Chebbi. Kanz Erremal has a haimas camp and also organizes a ridding a camel trip in order to spend a night in the desert. Furthermore, it organizes seven-road trips to explore the spectacular places that the landscape offers. The Hotel has the structure of a typical kasbah: it is made of adobe mud and hay. The rooms have a traditional decoration, typical from the region. They have air conditioning, free wifi access, bathroom and great external views, most of them to the dunes. The pool is located in front of the dunes, so swimmers have the impression to swim in the middle of the desert. The hotel offers a good example of traditional Moroccan cuisine based on natural ingredients: hariras (soups), vegetable tagins, chicken, beef, lamb, varied couscous, raw and cooked salads, skewers, Berber pizza... In short, Kanz Erremal is a place of peace and authenticity and a good site in order to discover the spectacular golden sand of the Sahara dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanz Erremal Merzouga
Kanz Erremal Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing