We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nomad Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nomad Palace
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I agree with one of the other reviewers that said the biggest complaint was the dining and lounge room. We stayed here for 2 days as part of our tour. The first night we stayed at the hotel and the second night we stayed in the desert in the nomad tents. For the first night, our room was huge but the lighting was extremely poor. The wifi didn't work in our room - only in the lounge area. For the second night, the nomad tent is huge and we had 4 beds in our room. None of the beds were comfortable. There was a light switch in our room, which was nice (we brought flash lights in case there was no light), however the bathrooms were in complete darkness. Also, the bathrooms looked like they were outfitted to have water (there were actual toilets and two sinks), however the water did not work.

In the dining and lounge room, there were so many flies. It was uncomfortable to eat as we kept having to swat the flies away. The problem was apparent in the morning where there was a buffet breakfast of various pastries and breads (no fruit) and the flies were swarming the food. I want to point out that the fly problem was pretty common at restaurants in that area if you were eating outside.

Agree with other reviews that the staff was very friendly and helpful. Agree that the position of the hotel at the edge of the dunes is impressive but with a little care it could be so much better.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Want2seeeverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    108
    36
    18
    8
See reviews for
94
151
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Hotel Nomad Palace. The rooms were large and clean, the pool was beautifully refreshing. The dinner and breakfasts were varied and tasty. The hotel even had Wifi so our teenage children were very happy! But the best part of the hotel were the staff - they were so friendly and helpful and always smiling. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning to travel to this part of Morocco.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiet0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domzale
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Excellent place to spend some day's of holidays in marocco. Fantastic maroccain kitchen, very nice stuff and perfect oranised tour's by the "chef" Ali. Tours in Erg Chebbi, to the Atlas and the desert. Try also his fantastic camp in the desert.

Room Tip: All room's are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiser-tec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just come back from a week at the Nomad Palace, spent relaxing, eating, swimming and walking. It is a wonderful hotel and the staff are so helpful and cheerful. The weather was a bit odd, very windy with sandstorms but this didn't stop any walking etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misswindolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The staff are incredibly friendly and fun, the pool is awesome and a great way to cool off, and the hotel is right on the edge of the Sahara so it is a great place to stay when venturing on an overnight camel ride. The rooms were huge, spacious, and also very authentic. Breakfast and dinner were fantastic. Couldn't recommend this hotel more, don't miss out!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel is on the edge of the Sahara and serves as a great place to base yourself if you plan on an overnight camel trek into the dunes.
There are things a bit odd about this place: the rooms are vaulting and huge, plus the decor is a weeny bit tired. That said, it's good value, the linen is fresh, the pool good fun and the breakfast hearty and plentiful. Aside from its top positioning, the other great thing about Hotel Nomad Palace was the uber friendly service we received. The young men who oversee this place have a cheerful and pleasingly cheeky style and they were keen and eager to see that all our needs were met. They saw to it that bags were carried to rooms, passports were delivered efficiently back and an early breakfast was no trouble at all. They smiled all the way and their merriment was infectious.
We were a party of 7 and we all agreed that this is a really good place to base yourself when visiting the Moroccan Sahara.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewmqSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 days as part of our tour, Our room was huge, with an extra, extra large bed and a toilet bigger than most bathrooms. The airconditioner worked well but the lighting was extremely poor.

Our main complaint was with the dining and lounge room. There was no air conditioning or fans, so naturally they opened all the windows, but none of them were fitted with fly screens. To add to the discomfort a huge drinks fridge was positioned in the dining room producing even more heat and noise.

The food was of a very poor standard. Breakfast orange juice was not fresh, coffee was poor and bread stale. The staff were very happy to chat but never seemed to do any work. In fact when we arrived they were asllep in the foyer and we had to wake them up to check in.

The position of the hotel at the edge of the dunes is impressive but with a little care it could be so much better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
3.8 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#4 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#8 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#15 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bivouac Merzouga Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nomad Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nomad Palace

Property: Hotel Nomad Palace
Address: km 7 Merzouga - Taouz, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Merzouga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nomad Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomad Palace Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing