We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very exciting and highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Chez Tihri 'Suerte Loca'
Ranked #48 of 83 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I and our neighbours stayed at suerte loca ( chez tihri) for three night the location was excellent, Surprisingly spacious, nicely decorated and immaculate rooms in an extremely convenient central location., and the daily cleaning even tidied up belongings scattered about. The host is a very friendly person and gave us a lot of help during our stay they were very helpful and friendly. They even arranged for a great driver with a 4x4 to bring us to and from Marrakech and visit the desert. We had dinner there three nights and it was delicious! The garden is lovely. Don't expect to find luxury or the amenities and type of service of a large hotel. However, if you look for a friendly, relax and local colored place then this is your hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed in the hotel suerte loca everything was perfect the room was very clean and the food was very delicious we Will recommend it to all our. Friends

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moyayutmoyayut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel suerte loca was real nice super clean real original structure just like the old time, you really feel like back on time , is just very unique , the stuff were so friendly and nice mostly Ali the owner super helpful and attentive to his customer, he was awesome man. Youssef organize the Camel ride and the night in the dunes, we didn’t have to worry about anything, the food were great, to be honest everything was just beautiful
Thank you Youssef for everything
sousan Wright from london

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sousan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I am writting this article to help any visitor to merzouga to avoid staying in this dirty hotel.
The staff are arrogant.we stayed in the camp in a trip that was organised by a tour operator in marakesch and we did not like anything there.NO GOOD FOOD.WE DID NOT SLEEP WEEL.......

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnbartal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Amazing experience , perfect location
I had a gr8 time , came for a day n spent a week here. An unforgettable place near the dunes.
U have to experience it yourself .

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Unfortunately our experience in this incredibly beautiful and amazing part of Morocco was spoiled by the behaviour of the male employees of Chez Tihri.

We stayed at the bivouvac operated by Chez Tihri as part of a 13 person tour group, made up of 12 females aged between 22 - 55 of varying nationalities. We took an amazing camel ride into the dunes which we were told was 1 hour and was really 2 hours meaning that we arrived at the bivouac in the dark, therefore missing out on photo opportunities. Had we known we would have arrived earlier.

The bivouac was unprepared and had absolutely no atmosphere or lighting. In fact it was partially collapsed, untidy and dishevelled and no one gave us any info on the plan for the evening, ablutions etc. After an hour and a half we were given a cup of tea and a further hour later a basic tagine with no cutlery. The male guides were very keen to go for a walk up the dunes and promised a great view from the top.

Assistance by simply holding one's hand was required by most to climb the very steep dunes and most accepted. This however was the start of unwanted attention from the guides who then proceeded to suggest that each female should veer off from the group and pressured them into uncomfotable sexual situations. When one was told no, another would appear and try his luck. Some of us were asked by 4 or 5 of the guides. One girl was even woken from sleep and asked if she wanted a 'massage' while others were followed whilst going to the toilet.

Our only night in the desert was with little sleep due to feeling anxious with these guides. A couple of people complained to the hotel management who did not take it seriously. The long journey to get to the Sahra ended up not being about our experience but about how lucky the guides could get with a western woman.

Do make the trip to the dunes it was wonderful, just don't use the services of Chez Tihri. This disrespectful behaviour should not be encouraged.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsBoutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2007

We went on a guided road-trip during our time in Morocco. This place was recommended to us by our guide, and as we'd arrived late for the camel excursion we did not have a chance to shop around. We were shown one room before we agreed to go with them, but after the price was agreed, we were asked if we would mind being downgraded to another room since we would not be using the room for the night. Bad form we thought, but pragmatic enough, so we agreed. The overnight camel trip run from the hotel was below standard, (two fellow travellers agreed it was bad value for money). When we returned from the desert the following morning, there was no hot water in our room (we'd been promised loads the night before and our guide told us to create a stink if this was not honoured). The owner was nothing short of contemptuous when we asked and told us to use the common showers located in an outbuilding. It seemed malicious to us - we have 2 young kids and we'd paid for the facilities. After a discussion between our guide and the hoteliers, we were told that the price we paid did not cover the cost of the room; it had been provided as a gesture of goodwill because they knew our guide. This contradicted what we were told the previous evening.

This experience left a bad taste in our mouths. Stay away - there are many other places to stay in the desert, and a majority of extremely gracious people in Morocco, that a place like this doesn't deserve any attention.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WritingMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 83 in Merzouga
268 reviews
0 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0 mi away
Camel's House
Camel's House
#11 of 98 in Merzouga
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#7 of 23 in Merzouga
170 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
554 reviews
0 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Chez Tihri 'Suerte Loca'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Chez Tihri 'Suerte Loca'

Address: Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Chez Tihri 'Suerte Loca' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing