We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good guide, awesome tour, barely average hotel.”
Review of Etoile des Dunes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merzouga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Etoile des Dunes
Ranked #69 of 84 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived at about 2 pm, but because of Ramadan everyone was asleep (siesta time, I guess). Our guide anyway, Ali, woke up, let us in, and served us tea. After that, we pretty much waited in the salon until he showed us a room where we left our luggage and showered. The room was clean-ish. The place was, of course, incredibly hot, and sand came in through every open window or door. At six we left to do the camel ride and rech the bivouac. Our guide, Ali, did not speak a lot of French, and barely any English, but we still managed to comunicate, and he was really the best we could hope for. Very professional, but also friendly and nice. The dinner at the bivouac was very tasty, and the night (especially the stars) amazing!

The only negative was the way we got to the hotel. While driving from Marrakech to Ouarzazate we were stopped by a man whose car broke down.Long story short, we gave him a ride to Ouarzazate, and he took us to his "cousin's" house. The "cousin" had a travelling agency that organized tours in the desert, and so we booked our tour via his agency. In the Auberge Etoile des Dunes we met a couple from Belgium, who also gave a ride to this alleged hitchhicker. My only advise is NOT TO TRUST anyone, period.

Also, Idris (the Auberge's manager) tried to make us pay for the water we drank, but we semply refused. Our contract said that food and refreshments were included, so nice try Idris.

Also, if you come in by car, keep in mind that you will have to drive for 8 km on a piste, but we made it driving a rented Pegeut Bepee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I think that the hotel itself is good if you think that you are in the middle of nowhere. But what really grab my atention (besides an exquisite breakfast after spending a night in the desert) is that my wife left her iphone at the hotel just before we left to Marrakesh, and the people that worked here were honest and proactive enough to coordinate with somebody to take the cell phone to Marrakesh!!.
We enjoyed our time there and staff speaks several languages as well, so it was easy to communicate.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank augustort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed here on two separate trips. Both a long time ago as this was the main birdwatchers stake-out for Desert Sparrow in the Sahara. Going back to the area next week and if time will stay over. Very atmospheric, great value and free local evening entertainment - and of course Desert Sparrow in dosing around the little water tower.

Room Tip: Its a single room cafe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were supposed to start our 3 night dessert trip from this auberge, but due to circumstances we cancelled the trip last-minute. We were nevertheless very well looked after by the staff and management of the auberge.

Their rooms are very nicely decorated and clean, with comfortable beds and good bathrooms.
The food served in the evening was excellent, as was breakfast.

Two points that are not negative comments but should be taken into account if you book a room here:
1) the auberge is not situated in the town of Merzouga but at the foot of the Erg Chebbi dunes, a 13km drive on a piste road that leads off the main road 15km north of Merzouga. The sign on the main road can easily be missed. Once you've found the right turn-off you're faced with a maze of piste roads which will be impossible to deal with on your own: you will need someone to meet you ate the turn-off and guide you. We'd also recommend to avoid this if you drive a little car like we did: a 4x4 is no luxury here but a necessity.
2) the auberge serves as a staging area for the desert trips and treks of many tour operators. As such you will not find the peace and tranquillity here that you might hope to find so close to the dunes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistaya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Diddy106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank minette442015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Maria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 84 in Merzouga
272 reviews
0 mi away
Camel's House
Camel's House
#11 of 104 in Merzouga
41 reviews
0 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hassilabied
88 reviews
0 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#7 of 23 in Merzouga
173 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etoile des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etoile des Dunes

Address: Ksar Merzouga, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range: £13 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing