We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Azim Zicar
Purley, United Kingdom
3512
Luxury just like in the name
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Oct 2015via mobile
This was pure luxury in the middle of the quiet desert. Its definitely a night to remember. I stayed 1 night in the luxury tent and it had a working shower, modern toilet and very comfy bed and couch! It was just an amazing place to relax especially at night where you stare at the sky in the fine sand. There was a lot of food and it was great. Camel ride was slightly long but worth it as you get the full hour experience.
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£113
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £113
2.2 miles from Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£64
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
0.8 miles from Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.1 miles from Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.4 miles from Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.8 miles from Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.1 miles from Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £50
  • Priceline
3.1 miles from Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.8 miles from Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.5 miles from Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    2.6 miles from Azawad Luxury Desert Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Merzouga
    Reviews (213)
    Filter reviews
    213 results
    Traveller rating
    185
    16
    7
    4
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    185
    16
    7
    4
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews late december desert camp sand dunes camel ride hot water whole experience private shower tagine sand boarding our tour guide comfortable bed stayed one night watch the sunrise tents middle dinner toilets
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    77 - 82 of 213 reviews
    Reviewed 30 September 2015

    These guys are awesome!!! This was the highlight of our trip and something we will remember for the rest of our lives.

    We started our tour with the camel ride. Ahmed was our camel guide. Every now and then he would turn around and ask "How are you?" His English was limited but enough to get by and enough to answer some of our questions about the camels and wildlife in the desert :). On our way to the camps we also saw a dung beetle and Ahmed was nice enough to take our camera and make a small video and some pictures of it.

    We also stopped at a high dune on our way to the camps and took some really nice pictures of the sunset. The sunset was just mesmerizing.

    Once we reached the camps, the guys welcomed us with some mint tea and showed us our rooms. Hasan the manager also swinged by and said hi with his son. The tents were very clean and decent. Private toilets and shower with hot water!

    While the guys were preparing dinner, we relaxed outside gazing at the star filled sky and milky way. Turned off all the lights and enjoyed the beautiful view.

    Dinner tables was set outside under the starry sky. The meal started with some cooked salad, followed by an eggplant, tomatoes and cheese tagine and finally mixed meat bbq. The fourth and final course for desert were some really sweet melons. In addition the guys at the camp bought a cake to celebrate the birthday for another couple and served a piece of cake to everyone. A very sweet and thoughtful gesture.

    After the dinner and birthday celebration, the guys entertained us with some Berber music. The drum beats and singing were enchanting. They even made us dance and try out some of the drums and musical instruments. At the end we sat around and told some jokes. Saeed (The camel Engineer :) ) told us some funny camel jokes.

    In the morning we woke up about 30 min before the sunrise. Walked around a bit on the dunes, took some pictures and settled on a dune to enjoy and observe the magical sunrise. Something that we will remember our whole life!

    Breakfast was served about half hour after the sunrise. To return back to Merzouga, we opted for the 4x4 drive instead of the camel. It took us about 20min to reach back to our drop off point.

    Overall this was an excellent experience that we will remember for a long time.

    Date of stay: September 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    3  Thank 890imads
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 August 2015

    As a first time traveler to Morocco,this was a great experience to explore the desert.climb the stunning golden sand dunes,and enjoy the nomadic life.Azawad Luxury Desert Camp is a real luxurious camp in the middle of the desert.its a great opportunity to taste a sample of rural Morocco.. without sacrificing any of life's luxuries.
    the tents were beautiful from inside and outside.from inside they are real hotel bedrooms,elegant clean and comfortable,equipped with large beds,real mattresses,hot water,showers,sinks,and running toilets.
    the staff at Azawad Luxury Desert Camp do a good work.the reception was warm and welcoming.the food was excellent.and the atmosphere was great.i was delighted with the place.
    i really have enjoyed my short stay over there.and i wish it could have been longer.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Ibra D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 July 2015

    A trip to Morocco is not complete without a night in the desert.

    You cannot go wrong spending a night at Azawad Luxury Desert Camp. The food was amazing, the tents were luxurious, and the service was great. The overall experience was the highlight of our trip to morocco.

    Note About summer: My group of 4 stayed in the camp in early July and it was very HOT (both day and night and in the tents). It was nice to have the shower to escape form the heat before going to bed. If you have flexibility in the time you come to Merzouga I would try to avoid un-air-conditioned tents between mid June and August. Also note that everything revolves around the sunrise. The day we were at the camp the sun rose at 5:10am which meant we were up at 4:50 am and eating breakfast at 5:30. Sleeping in is not an option as the desert heats up very very quickly.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank puravida888
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 June 2015

    one of the best part for trip was staying at this place.we arrived here and there was a sand storm.Havent exp anything like that before. tents are beautiful and the warmth of the staff! kids two enjoyed it!

    Date of stay: May 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Jashvi
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 August 2023
    Google Translation

    Date of stay: April 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews