We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superlative Desert Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guest House Merzouga
Ranked #3 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Superlative Desert Experience”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Maison Merzouga was our peak experience in Morocco! From the time we arrived to the time we departed we were treated to the finest hospitality. First of all the desert tour they arranged was magical. It was the perfect place to spend the day after the tour relaxing and enjoying the luxurious surroundings. The staff were intelligent, professional, funny and talented. We looked forward to all of our meals because the food was prepared to perfection. If there is any place that we could spend more time it would be here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isaacdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    56
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
175
289
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My friends and I stopped at the Guest House Merzouga both before and after we headed to an overnight adventure via camel to the desert. The staff, particularly our host, Lahazzan, took amazing care of us - making sure we got to the take off point on time and in comfort, and on our return provided a wonderful, welcoming place to relax and refresh after our overnight trek. We had a delicious breakfast with all sorts of breads and jams, and wonderful omelets in the covered courtyard that looked out on the pool. We wished we could have stayed the night to take a drive around the desert the following day to cover a little more ground than we had via camel and check out the open market. Hopefully next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKentnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

If you are visiting Merzouga then I can only recommend you stay at the Guest House Merzouga. We had a wonderful experience, the rooms are large and comfortable with aircon but still retain a unique, authentic and traditional style. The food was excellent and plentiful. The key selling point is the warm and welcoming family that run this guesthouse. We had a very enjoyable 4x4 tour of the area with Omar on our brief visit, only wish we could have stayed for longer and camped in the desert.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mies, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently stayed at "La Maison Merzouga", during a trip in the South of Morocco. As a matter of fact, we spent the night outside in the desert, but la Maison Merzouga offered us all the confort before and after our night out. We enjoyed the warm welcome by the staff, and the room they provided tom us to freshen up before and after our camel trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephan0072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

During our short stay at the Guest House Merzouga we encountered some of the friendliest service of any hotel/ guest house we have ever visited. The owner couldn't do enough for us, including arranging for a new car battery to be delivered from the nearest mechanics. Rooms were clean and traditional and food was good and plentiful, but the friendly service is the thing that makes this place stand out. Our only regret is not being able to stay longer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Essex123Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It´s been my first time in Morocco and I couldn´t find a better place to stay.
Alí is running a guest house so beautiful that is like being at home. I can not say what is the best of all, because everything is amazing. The place, the friendly welcome , the food, the camp in the dunes , the raid in 4 x 4.
Alí and his family are the best persons you can find. They strive to make you feel at home from the very first minute following the traditional arab custom of welcoming guests.
Thank you very much for what you did from your heart.
I am sure I will come back as soon as I can

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 584Antonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It is over a year since we stayed at this guest house and I still think it was one of the highlights of our holiday.Did mean to post a review at the time but just never got around to it, but doing it a year on must say something! All the good things said in other reports are all very true. Ali, his brother and nephew are all great hosts. Don't miss the trip to the dunes that they will arrange for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
2.8 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Madu
Riad Madu
#1 of 9 in Hassilabied
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 82 in Merzouga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Property: Guest House Merzouga
Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing