We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, hospitality, and local color -- a one-stop success”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guest House Merzouga
Ranked #3 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
166 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Beauty, hospitality, and local color -- a one-stop success”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

In the last dozen years or so, guesthouses in Merzouga (offering desert excursions) apparently have exploded. I was a bit confounded over all the alternatives and not sure I'd made the right choice. But my fears proved groundless. Lahassan, the second eldest of the Seggaoui brothers, is a charismatic and charming host. Our room was large, clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated, and the public spaces were even more impressive. The desert excursion was just what we wanted. And the meals (two breakfasts (included) and one dinner (not)) at the guesthouse were very good. Tired of driving, we opted not to take the 4x4 half-day tour, but we did enjoy the 2-hour walking tour with younger brother Omar. It takes some effort to get to Merzouga (we drove), but the hospitality and exquisite beauty of the dunes repaid that amply.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    56
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
175
289
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I really can't say enough about how great this place was. First, there is great wifi (was able to FaceTime to the US without a problem). Second, the dinner was the best food we had in Morocco. Third, the hotel really went above and beyond in so many ways, offering the following to us at no charge: early check in because we drove all night from marrakesh, breakfast when we arrived insanely early, laundry (!), a birthday cake and song, live entertainment with dinner, and use of our room even after check out so that we could shower after a tour before leaving for fez. They helped us reserve transport to fez, organized fabulous tours (highly recommend the day camel tour and the 4x4 tour to the black desert), and even gave us a free ride to the bus station. Best of all, the place is owned and run by a local family, who participates in authentic Berber performances for hotel guests after dinner and are full of a wealth of nformation about the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emarienyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We spent two nights with Maison Merzouga recently and cannot recommend it highly enough. Host Ali and his family go to great lengths to make you feel welcome and at home in their lovely guesthouse. The meals were excellent, including dinner tagines of course, but also unusual and delicious entrees. The rooms are spacious with good bath facilities. Wi-fi is excellent and available in all the very comfortable public areas, and there are plenty of outlets to charge up your electronics. We took the 4-hour 4x4 tour around the perimeter of the Erg Chebbi sand dunes with Omar, one of Ali's brothers, and were very impressed by the depth and breadth of his knowledge of local geology and wildlife, as well as his fluency in English (a definite plus for those of us challenged by French).

Regarding a night in the desert, the ultimate Moroccan experience: We had originally tried to arrange an overnight desert camp through a large tour group, but has failed due to email miscommunications. Instead, we asked Ali, and the local arrangements he made were very professional. In fact, the camel trek and overnight at the family's private desert camp, deep in the heart of Erg Chebbi, was a real highlight of our month in Morocco. It was great fun and very well organized, AND we were lucky enough to be the only ones at camp this particular night. However, even if you're not that lucky, the camp is small in size and your group will be the only ones there, which is not the case with some of the tour groups. Our camel guide Omar (a different Omar) was very patient with our bumbling French and he spoke English quite well enough to explain sights along the way and generally made the trip enjoyable. Plus, he cooked a great tagine from scratch. So, don't hesitate to drive yourself to Merzouga and arrange your desert trek through Ali, and bypass the organized tours and group transport from Marrakech or Ouarzazate.

Finally, the entire experience was great value for the price, both the guesthouse stay and the outdoor excursions as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tekadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in this guesthouse. It had working heating system in the room, which was very good as it wad cold outside.
The dinner was excellent, especially soup and vegetable tangir with various spices.
Personnel wad welcomming and friendly.
The only accident we had was with bed linnens. It looks like it wad last time changed 10 guests ago. But when we asked for clean ones, then linen were changed in 5 minutes.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga_lus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Amazing terrace view to the Sahara high dunes, incredible hospitality (the owner and his staff are the nicest and warmest people), great food, beautiful decoration and bedroom, everything just impeccable. We wished we could have stayed longer, and will certainly come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flavia2222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

everyone in the guest house was extremely friendly and polite, and regularly enquired about any needs we might have.

they truly treated us like family, taking time to sit down to have tea and a chat with us about anything.

the rooms were very big and traditional, and facilities were extremely adequate. rooftop terrace provided an extremely scenic view of the sand dunes, especially during sunrise and sunset.

dinner there was also one of the best we had in morocco.

would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a room in merzouga!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d3f1n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Maison Merzouga was our peak experience in Morocco! From the time we arrived to the time we departed we were treated to the finest hospitality. First of all the desert tour they arranged was magical. It was the perfect place to spend the day after the tour relaxing and enjoying the luxurious surroundings. The staff were intelligent, professional, funny and talented. We looked forward to all of our meals because the food was prepared to perfection. If there is any place that we could spend more time it would be here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isaacdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
2.8 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Madu
Riad Madu
#1 of 9 in Hassilabied
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 82 in Merzouga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Property: Guest House Merzouga
Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing