We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind Staff, With Great Style in Carpets!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest House Merzouga
Ranked #3 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kind Staff, With Great Style in Carpets!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Maison Merzouga was an amazing stay in Morroco. The rooms which we stayed in were very nice, especially the air-conditioners!The owner and his brother-in-law (who was our guide when we went to the desert to find fossils , were so kind and were great with kids.The black dessert expedition included many interesing details about desert life which you could simply just never discover on your own---visit to gnaua musicians in the village, palmerie and desert irrigation system, and and an impromptu visit made on our request with a nomad Berber family.
The hotel is CLEAN, rooms very spacious and the pool a joy in the sweltering desert heat. There are extraordinary aged Berber carpets on display in an otherwise pleasant surroundings.
The camel trip with Omar was just what we hoped for: a great overnight camp, amazing ride ito the mystical desert, and guidance by an indigenous, quiet, yet very personable Berber guide.He cooked a great dinner for us and caugh salamanders for the children to keep as short term pets. He knew abouth the stars and calmedmy childrens fears about the desert dung beetles.
Overall, highly recommended place here they will make you feel at home with their warm hospitality.
My only suggestion for imprviement would be to use more fresh herbs and spices when it came to the food we ate in the hotel. Maybe a woman's touch would have been welcome there ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelenapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    57
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
176
289
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban North, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Driving in the small town of Merzouga we did not know what to expect nor where we were going to stay. Eventually after a few stops we reached our own little pice of heaven, our oasis and place of comfort and warmth. We were met by Hassan who welcomed us with arms wide open where we were greeted with fresh mint tea and nuts. We also were looked after so well by all the staff members. We ate delicious food and our rooms were comfortable and clean. We fell in love with this special place and it will always be remembered! Keep up the great work!
With Love the group from Kenya (15 - 18 May 2014)
P.S There is also a great cafe and shop near by where we rented sand boards and went sand duning down the great erg chebbi dunes!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

As you can see, there are a lot of 5/5 places in Merzouga, but we stayed at this one and LOVED it. The owner is super friendly, and GREAT with kids. The food was awesome, very generous, and the rooms were GORGEOUS. Great view from the roof top, very nice experience.

Room Tip: There is one suite that is INCREDIBLE!!! I can't remember it, but it is head and shoulders above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merzouga, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I spent eight days with the Seggaoui family, and it was the highlight of our trip to Morocco. The brothers: Ali, Lahcen, and Omar went above and beyond all of our expectations. We booked our trip with them in advance to spend Five days with them based out of Merzouga, and three days across the Atlas en route to Marrakech. I really can't emphasize how perfectly they arranged every aspect of our trip.
First off, the basics: The riad is beautiful, and situated in a very quiet section of Hassi Labied (just outside of Merzouga proper.) The rooms were clean and spacious, the common areas were perfect for relaxing, the pool is awesome, and the restaurant and food top notch. Ibrahim who runs the dining area was a true charmer, and provided excellent service for our entire stay.
Second, we arranged a number of outings through them: the almost mandatory camel trek to spend the night in Erg Chebbi, 4x4 expeditions into the black desert and the neighboring towns of Rissani and Erfoud, and transit across the Atlas to see the Todra and Dades gorges, Ouarzazate, Skoura, and finally to be dropped off in Marrakech for the next leg of our trip.
After some tea and a few brief conversations they immediately honed in our interest: the history and geology of the desert, fossils, ruins, and everything we could see and do between Merzouga and Marrakech. They completely tailored all of our outings based around our interests and arranged more outings once we arrived. Ali had a very laid back approach to the additional trips letting us decide as the day went on how much we wanted to do. They were exceptional at choosing our guides to be the most helpful and informative for each outing.
En route to Marrakech we stayed in two hotels that they partner with: Chez Vieille Charrues in Dades, and Chez Talout in Skoura, and both were very nice. All in all, every aspect of our stay with the Seggaouis was Five stars. We would recommend them hands down to anyone interested in staying in Merzouga.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel.The hotel is beautiful, even better than the pictures. The food is good, and the waiters are nice and funny. Very relax atmosphere.
We booked one thing, and changed our mind at last moment to a cheaper option, and they were very nice, and did not charge us for the change.
They washed our staff, and did not charge us for that either. (But they did lost 3 individual socks)
I would love to stay there again for a whole week.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaffa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Ali's guesthouse for one night and spent the second night in the desert, at a Berber tent. Our communication with him before our arrival was excellent and upon our arrival, Ali and his brother made us feel at home. We got to choose our room and ended up staying in a room at the terrace, which was beautiful and had a great view. The staff took our dietary requirements seriously and served us amazing food on the first night and next day before our departure with the camels. Our second night was lovely, in the family's tent in the desert. We had an overall fantastic experience and would definitely recommend Guest House Merzouga.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had planned to stay three nights in total with two in the hotel and one in the Berber tent. Emailed asking about the bathroom facilities and cost of the camel trek/tent excursion. Staff member became very rude and obnoxious. Fortunately I was able to cancel our booking and book elsewhere. Our first negative experience in Morocco.

I'm not sure how this place received so many positive ratings if the reviews are legitimate. I would think that asking a simple question if a bathroom is available is quite reasonable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 22 in Merzouga
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 82 in Merzouga
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Madu
Riad Madu
#1 of 9 in Hassilabied
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Property: Guest House Merzouga
Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing