We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stopover - but a truly magical one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
London, uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A stopover - but a truly magical one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at Auberge La Terrasse des Delices by luck really - we were on a four day desert trip booking through Desert Majesty, so we didn't choose the hotel. The trip was 2 nights in the desert and one in a hotel so we just thought of it as a night we had to do in order to get to the real highlights of the trip - the desert proper - but it was so much more than that!

At the end of a long dusty day we drove through the strange town of Ouazazarte, which look a bit like a film set because that's mostly what it's used for. Out the other side there's a new building area where the infrastructure of a town - the roads and street lights - have been put in place but nothing build yet. It's strange and eery. Then we drove across a black, barren place like the surface of the moon, pretty much just wondering if there had been some kind of mistake. Until the oasis appeared.

Dropping down into the lush, green, river valley, we clattered along the bumpy road in our 4x4, through palm trees until they parted and we drove straight into the river and over to the other side to park outside our hotel. What a way to arrive in paradise!

Like everywhere in Morocco, we were greeted with 'berber whisky' (sweet green tea) and introduced to the owner. It was fantastically friendly.

Our little room was basic and I loved it, with brightly coloured throws on the bed and a palm straw ceiling. It was clean and comfortable, with a functional little en suite bathroom. Definitely not high-luxe - you can hear lizards crawling over the straw in the night, and sometimes there are bugs in the shower - but absolutely charming and a welcome relief after a day in the heat. The rooms are arranged around a cool, lush garden courtyard and there's a sense of staying in someone's home as you pad around the place. It's just lovely.

On the terrace is sapphire pool you can take a dip in and watch the sunset over the hill opposite. I was just constantly blown away by the staggering beauty of the place, the fading light, the peace - it's something I'll remember for the rest of my life. As the light faded it turned the hill red, against the dusky blue sky, then the sky went bright pink. It was an incredible sunset. I feel so lucky that we go to stay here - there are other hotels they use on the tour and obviously I don't know what they're like, but I can't image they could be a patch on this place.

We had a delicious chicken tagine dinner in the the dining room and then there was the usual evening berber drumming entertainment and singing on the terrace, but gazing at the stars in the inky black night was my favourite bit of the evening.

I'd recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. I think most people are just travelling through on their way out into the desert - if you do, make sure this is your stopover, and make sure you arrive while it's still light! If you have an extra day or two to linger though, I recommend that. It's just incredible here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londoner_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    77
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
106
114
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

La Terrasse des Delices is the most unique place I've ever stayed. It's not technically in Ouarzazate, it's in an oasis, which is named Fint and is about 15 km outside of the town of Ouarzazate (and about 10 km off paved roads) - taxi drivers will likely have a hard time getting there or will be reluctant to do so - save yourself the hassle and use their taxi service, it's not that pricey.

The hotel itself is located smack in the middle of this lush, gorgeous oasis. We relaxed at the great pool and had some delicious mint tea and cookies. The service there is top notch. Rachid, the owner, was extremely accommodating, allowing us to store our luggage at the hotel for one night while we took an overnight tour out into the desert and the sand dunes in Merzouga/Erg Chebbi.

The dinners and breakfasts there are really amazing, as is the performance (dance and music) that they put on. It's a great escape from the busy Marrakech medina! Would definitely go back here but just lay out by the pool for 2-3 days, next time

The rooms are not extremely luxurious, they're rather ordinary, but very clean. This didn't even matter to us at all because the rest of the hotel was so beautiful, the staff were so kind and helpful, the food was amazing and the location was so unique - I couldn't complain about anything! We loved Terrasse des Delices!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

It is difficult to fault this place. Everything was excellent - the room, the food, the service! The pool is very clean and well maintained, breakfast was very nice and the location is amazing!!One problem - smoking all around the pool and restaurant, which is not great if you travel with a child. We are definitely coming back! I would stay longer, as it is a very relaxing place!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quite, they are located around a central courtyard, away from the restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTaraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitjar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our little rental car bumped down the kilometres from the main road, and then this oasis appeared...........and we drove on...more bumps....... even across a couple of pools, and there we were........
Room had the neccessary......and there were nice sitting areas.......... good strolls along the river bed, in both directions........frogs, and birds, and huge rock faces..........
Reasonable prices, good service, and food was fine.............

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henross61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed only one night but what a treasure. I was on the way to the desert and decided to stay here instead of in ourzazate. I made the right choice. On arrival they gave me mint tea on the terrace. I sat drinking the tea, chatting with other guests and watching the sun goes down. The dinner was simple but delicious. And then the music. Boys started to play the drums and invited us to dance. I just imitated the steps and young abdul was delighted to dance with me. Such a freeing experience. Early next morning i took a short walk and abdul showed me to the communal oven to see the bread making. It was a place difficult to leave. i promised to come back and hope can fulfill the promise as soon as possible. Even writing this review makes me miss the people and the place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Megumi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

As I keep finding cards from the various places I visited in Morocco, I keep feeling compelled to write reviews. Auberge La Terrasse des Delices is one of those rare gems that even me thinking right now, while sitting back here in Toronto, I can't believe that it's existing. It's literally in an Oasis of palm trees. You drive and drive and when you think you can't do any more off roading, you drive a bit more… And then, you arrive.. You are immediately greeted by a loving and wonderful family. They help you with your bags, get you situated in your room and then make sure remind you about dinner… Oh dinner.. In this wonderful dining room with a fire place in the middle. You will feast on authentic Moroccan Cuisine while you sit by the fire… For dessert not only do you get amazing Clementines (oh the clementines in Morocco!) but the guys will entertain you with their drums and singing. Pretty amazing.

The rooms are cozy but it' all you need in the middle of no where.

The breakfast in the morning is on the terrace overlooking the trees and the wildness of Morocco. The pool looked inviting but it was a bit too cold while we were there. Must try next time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t3anders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The stony desert south of Ouarzazate is shortly (December 2013) to become a new town, bizarrely. Where will all the people come from? But go beyond, and persevere for another 10km or so on a range of roads that seem to be made by drivers choosing their own route – that's a bit bumpy, let's go here – and if you have a guide or a gps, all of a sudden the desert opens up into a gorge and you descend to the oasis of Fint, nourished by clear running water, inhabited by people who might have come from 2000 years ago, and crowned by this beautiful, spectacular, quiet and magical place. We got there just before sundown and sat against the rust red wall, still warm with the day's heat. New Year was welcomed with a lot of Berber drumming but no stringed instrument accompaniment. Everyone working there was hospitable, elegant and friendly. The Tajines were 'Moroccan food as usual', but the atmosphere, the rich colours, and above all the silence make this a destination to remember. Takes a bit of work getting there, but well worth it. This is one special place on the face of the earth.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AidanW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
7.2 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
30.8 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#4 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
6.3 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#9 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Terrasse des Delices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Terrasse des Delices

Property: Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
Address: Oasis de Fint | Douar Taharbilte, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in our beautiful hotel situated in the mountains overlooking the Oasis of Fint,a magnificent landscape!. You will be able to escape from the city life to spend time surrounded by nature, being only 15 kilometers from Ouarzazate. The Terrasse des Delices is a family hotel with 13 rooms all equipped with reversible air conditioning, individuals bathroom and toilets. Hotel endowed with a swimming pool.Spending time with us, you will enjoy calm, serenity, and live music at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge La Terrasse des Delices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing