We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice. Far from everything. Not a five star experience.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sultana Royal Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice. Far from everything. Not a five star experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Given the reviews, the pictures, and even the name of the hotel, we were expecting more. Your first consideration should be the distance. The booking websites are a bit misleading. The hotel is 20km away from Ouarzazate, far from any restaurant or anything else you might need. It sits at a beautiful hilltop overlooking the valley. It is a small facility. The highlight is the pool area. There are about 8 rooms all build around the pool. The rooms are OK but you can tell they were build with a budget in mind. It lacks of the attention to details that you notice on a five star or even a four star hotel. Another surprise for us is that there was nobody else at the hotel. OK, it was Ramadan and low season but during our 10 days trip through Morocco this was the only hotel where we did not see anybody else. The most surprising thing was the service and the restaurant. There were only 2/3 people to take care of everything. We arrived mid afternoon, very hungry, but there was no food service until late afternoon or later in the evening. The restaurant overlooks the pool. The inside is of a very questionable taste but the outside makes a great outdoor dinner. The food was OK. Not bad but nothing special. The breakfast was disappointing. The same bread served at the dinner table, made it back to the breakfast table twice! Hard as a rock... We were in great spirit so we had a good time, but this is not a five stars maybe not even a four stars experience. A well managed four stars hotel does not have wholes on the table cloth. A nice table cloth, I must say, but one that was beyond its useful life!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schutz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fcoron, Propriétaire at Hotel Sultana Royal Golf, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur

Nous vous remercions d'avoir partager votre expérience sur Tripadvisor.
Nous sommes désolé que votre séjour ne fût pas à la hauteur de votre attente et de la satisfaction de nos autres clients.
Notre établissement est normalement fermé pour congé annuel et rénovation pendant la période de Ramadan, mais à la demande de votre agence de voyage nous avons ouvert pour vous accueillir. Nous tenons également à vous préciser que nous ne sommes pas un hôtel 5 étoiles comme vous l'indiquez dans votre commentaire.
Notre équipe n'est pas composé uniquement de 2 ou 3 personnes, à ce jour 12 personnes travaillent au sein du Sultana Royal Golf, ce qui représente 1 personne par chambre.

Concernant, la situation de notre établissement, sauf erreur de notre part, nous n'indiquons aucunement que celui-ci est situé en centre ville.

Bien cordialement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    42
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
71
98
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel is a bit far from town but absolutely worth the ride. Gorgeous setting in the middle of the desert there is also a lake right next to the hotel-beautiful views. Great service and the hotel itself is like a palace-the pictures don't capture the elegance. Stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caligrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
187 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 670 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel has a beautiful garden, decorated at night with big lamps, rooms with big space, decoration and a chic taste all over the hotel. You could sit and see the stars on the way to the restaurant. We loved staying there.
Breakfast and dinners are superb and we would like to stay more days.
The only but…. Bathrooms, shower doesN´t work so good

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first place, somebody could knock at your door, because it´s easy to mistake room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Covadonga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The ideal retreat after a day in the dust of Morocco. Great service. Good food. Quiet, spacious villa. Sensational pool. We stayed here on our second day in Morocco. After the noise and smells of Marrakech, this was a great surprise. May be outside Ouarzazate, but close enough. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in October 2013. It is a lovely resort, with spacious rooms and wonderful attention to detail.

The pool was welcome in the hot desert sun and the bar and restaurant both top quality. Wifi access was good, and the bathroom well appointed.

Service was friendly and our dinner on the balcony was a memorable one.

Our only complaint was that the resort is a long way out of town, so once you're here, if you don't have your own transport, there's nothing to do except relax!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

As soon as we pulled up we knew we should have booked for more time. Staff is amazing, restaurant is fantastic, pool smells like rose water :) the beds are really hard but a sacrifice to be able to enjoy this property. Do not follow google maps to get here, it sent us to a dead end in town. It's out of town 10 mins which I think is a plus. So peaceful and landscape is fantastic. Book it for sure instead of staying in town

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CandCfactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

As a well-heeled group of 14 friends travelling together through Morocco & out to the high dunes for New Years Eve, we enjoyed our return by falling into the beauty of Sultana Royal Golf... water views, roof top sips of wine, grounds to meander under stars with romantic lanterns. We occupied the whole property & were treated like honored guests and friends. Our cocktails in the wonderfully campy movie set decor were perfectly mixed. We reveled in the decor, appreciating a sense-of-humor in our travels regardless! Our French dinner was lovingly served. We didn't need to swim or play the-nonexistent-golf or do anything except enjoy the night stars. Veronique is, indeed, an attentive hostess, chasing us down an hour after we left to deliver left-behind luggage! She is wonderful! The rooms are beginning to feel abit tired; some lamps were without bulbs or the sockets were jagged. Each room is different and that is fun. We will return! We will stay longer! Thank you Veronique for caring about everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nero887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
11.0 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#2 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
10.7 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Tourmalines
Les Tourmalines
#8 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
36.8 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#4 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#14 of 39 in Ouarzazate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultana Royal Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultana Royal Golf

Property: Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Address: Royal Golf | BP 448, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sultana Royal Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sultana Royal Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing