We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an oasis - a tranquil place to wind down and relax...”
Review of Dar Chamaa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Chamaa
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This place is located in a remote area of Quarzazate and chances are that you will not want to go out and stroll around because there is nothing there to see. But it was such a refreshing sight to pull up to the front door and be able to look through and across the lobby to the very tranquil and inviting outdoor sitting area with a pool in the back of this Riad. Our room was very comfortable and the price included breakfast and dinner. This Riad is an EXCELLENT value!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool area - nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiraz-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hotel in remote part of city with lovely grounds, excellent service and food. Rooms are pretty basic but certainly adequate. Service was very good both at check in, check out and along the way. Restaurant was excellent with service to match. Great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnthetraveleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Yes, it is beautifully decorated and comfortable - and like others have said the pool is much appreciated after the long, dusty drive. But although we found the staff to be efficient, we found them somewhat cold. This is in contrast to some terrific riads we stayed in where the warmth of the staff made for a marvelous stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkside336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We spent a wonderful night at Dar Chamaa. It is quite beautiful from the interior pool to the great swimming pool outside. The rooms are lovely, and are various shades of soothing grey. Huge windows that are covered with shutters and sheer grey drapes. Cool bathroom with fossil sinks. Nice touches like water and a snack of bananas , nuts and raisins to welcome us to our room. Delicious dinner, with some nice options and local wine. Not much to do in the immediate area, but not an issue for us. We got there in the late afternoon after a wonderful hammam, relaxed a bit, watched the sunset from the rooftop, and had a lovely and delicious dinner. Then, after a good night's sleep, we had a nice buffet breakfast and left in the morning. (And they have wi-fi in the rooms!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57BUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel is what it's name says, a house of candles- at night both inside and out. Simply stunning. Staff are plentiful, helpful and very attentive. Pool area is lovely and family room was lovely and spacious. It is not in town centre but a few minutes out, so a vehicle is suitable. Great stop over from Marrakech on to the Sahara.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootflute69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nicely designed, with a stylish decor, and well maintained. Rooms are quite spartan but spacious and clean, some enjoying lovely views of the desert. Location is good as you have relatively easy access to the nearby attractions as well as to the town city centre (and to some fine Moroccan and international restaurants). Breakfast is tasty and fresh but it gets repetitive. Service could be improved: staff is friendly but not hugely professional. In a couple of occasions we had to ask the same thing a few times before having it sorted. It is not a luxury hotel but it's comfortable and it's great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hic_sunt_leones_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here twice, but for 1 night each time (stop off before & after desert tour).
The foyer area is great, so peaceful and pretty as soon as you walk in.
The staff are truely amazing, rooms are nice and clean. Pool is decent, food is served outdoors next to the pool, candles, yummy food and just great service.

Overall really nice accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miss_Peri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
639 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#8 of 40 in Ouarzazate
252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
265 reviews
10.8 mi away
Les Tourmalines
Les Tourmalines
#9 of 40 in Ouarzazate
119 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#17 of 40 in Ouarzazate
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Chamaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Chamaa

Address: Tajdar B-P 701, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range: £56 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Chamaa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah-Riad Hotel placed in an environment favored inside Ouarzazate's palm grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dar Chamaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing