We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the score is not quite a true reflection of the hotel as there were a few issues”
Review of Dar Chamaa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Chamaa
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Berrima, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the score is not quite a true reflection of the hotel as there were a few issues”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were warmly greeted with nuts and tea while we checked in - this friendliness was evident in everyone we dealt with.
The hotel appears to be situated quite a distance out of town - this was not a concern to us as we were on our way to desert. Not sure how you would access hotel or visit town easily if you did not have a vehicle.
The hotel is built in the traditional style with an open inner courtyard with a lovely outdoor pool and relaxing area. However the room was very cold with an aircon that was located high up on the wall - this would be brilliant in summer but winter was another matter entirely.
The bed had some sort of plasticised covering that was cold initially and then became very sweaty during night.
Hot water took about 5 mins to arrive and then was coolish and with low pressure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    189
    29
    4
    4
See reviews for
130
246
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here one night as a stop-over en route to the desert. The riad is spotlessly clean and the architecture and design is very pretty. The rooms are very large and clean, although the décor is a bit sterile. The staff is very nice. Had dinner there which was very good. The courtyard and pool area are attractive and comfortable. Very good place to stopover in Ouarzazate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night. The hotel is very cosy. Rooms are good and nice. Staff is super friendly, always making you feel like home. They have nice common areas to have a chat. And the restaurant is great. Proper local food. And they do serve alcohol. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mariaharomarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, FL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Dar Chamaa is very suitable for an overnight stay. The room decor was okay but the bed was hard as a rock. It was like sleeping on the floor. The shower drain must have been clogged and began to flood. Otherwise, the lobby, restaurant, and food were very good. The swimming pool area was also a nice area to sit by. The staff was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

After staying at nice places until we arrive to this hotel, we found it cold (physically cold in the room since the only A/C is not enough to warm up the room and the bath during December). It is clean place but not in walking distance to anywhere.

Food was ok but not special. Staff were friendly.

Room Tip: if summer it can be good to relax by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miner26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We decided to splurge a little after spending a night in a desert camp and this hotel was worth every penny. From the moment we walked in we loved it. We were greeted warmly by the staff and had tea in a lounge area which was cute, cozy and smelled good. Our room was spacious, had a small balcony facing the pool and we had the best hot shower during our 10 days in Morocco. Breakfast and dinner were super delicious and Khalid our waiter was always very professional and friendly. We really enjoyed chatting with him about Morocco and our travels. The is an excellent place to relax, unwind and have superb service. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paz079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I spent one night at Dar Chamaa on our way to Ati Ben Haddou from the Sahara. We arrived in the evening to a busy but cold reception. Our room was functional and clean in a very modern style. There was no safe or television in the room. The food and the service in the Riad were poor. It was operated in a very dysfunctional style. Not impressed in the slightest. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolly616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
21.3 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#4 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
6.3 mi away
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
1.0 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Chamaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Chamaa

Property: Dar Chamaa
Address: Tajdar B-P 701, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Chamaa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah-Riad Hotel placed in an environment favored inside Ouarzazate's palm grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Chamaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing