We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations in the mountains.”
Review of Dar Isselday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Isselday
Ranked #9 of 62 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A few weeks ago we had the pleasure of staying at Dar Isselday with our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids aged 10,10,8).

The owner Kamal is a wonderful and welcoming host and made our stay absolutely perfect. He was attentive, informative, helpful and generous. The first day he took us on a tour of the local surroundings and his family's gardens and orchards and we ended the day with an amazing meal made by his sister-in-law Najat. The food we had at Dar Isselday was by far the best on our whole trip in Morocco.

Kamal also organised a camel trek for our family where we got to see beautiful landscapes and visit the famous Kasbah Ait-Benhaddou. We finished off the trek with a gorgeous picnic lunch.

Behind the Inn there is a wonderful hike up the mountain (about 45min) to visit an ancient abandoned Kasbah. Absolutely beautiful views from up there and what remains of the Kasbah is so much fun to explore.

Having breakfast on the sunny outdoor terrace was one of our favorite parts about this Inn. They served up pancakes, bread and omelettes and just sitting there admiring the view was a great start to our days.

I would 100% recommend this wonderful accommodation to everyone. Kamal and his family really are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here for only one night, and it was one of the highlights of our month in Morocco. We were welcomed as part of the family. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and the food was fantastic. We opted to take a cooking lesson and learned to make the bread in addition to the tajine and dessert. It was fantastic. I highly recommend it Dar Isselday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastalrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

By accident we found this B&B in Tisselday, about halfway Ouarzazate and Marrakesh, being a very pleasant stop. Super friendly staff, nice rooms and lovely terrace. We had a lovely Tajine and a breakfast with the ultimate 'thousand holes' pancakes, the best we had in Morrocco. I would certainly come back and stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4tops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This has been for sure one of the best holiday experiences I have made so far. We have been part of the family and had formidable dinners together in the evening. We enjoyed very interesting hikes with the manager of the Dar Isselday in the region and the villages around. Part of it had been a lot of qualified information about geology and the history and life of the people living in te Atlas mountains. We have slept in nice double rooms and enjoyed the fantastic original Moroccan kitchen. The landscape there is fantastic and the manager offers to organise trips all over Morocco including the desert and the coast, since he has good connections to other tourist companies and a good judgement about what will be interesting for his guests.He really cared a lot for giving us a wonderful holiday experience. We will return for sure to experience more of this. I absolutely recommend this house.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Matthias O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Dar Isselday was a wonderful retreat after a hectic weekend in Marrakech. We came by the CTM bus to Ourzazote and asked to be dropped off in Tisselday, the driver stopped precisely in the layby outside the guest house so it was very easy to find. It is located in a lush river valley surrounded by steep rocky mountains.

Dar Isselday is a beautifully built traditional Berber (Amazigh) house, full of colourful cushions, tapestries and abundant examples of the local minerals (the sink in the new hamman is made of a block of fossils!) Thick mudbrick walls keep the bedrooms lovely and cool despite the 40 celcius outside!

Our host Kamal was very friendly and attentive. He was passionate in sharing his knowledge of the village and the local area. He swept us off on our first evening for a tour of the villages surrounding the river valley and the next morning offered to take us on a trek into the hills and to visit a nearby kasbah. Lots of interesting stories along the way!

The family atmosphere in the house felt very welcoming, and Kamals sister in law Najet offered to teach us her traditional recipes by showing us when she prepared her delicious meals.

We stayed for two nights and hope to return to go on excursions into the desert and the mountains. The family plan to build a swimming pool on their newly extended terrace and will soon offer hammam for the guests.

This was a wonderful place to experience rural family life in the mountains, but with home comforts and style!

Room Tip: The bedrooms are all cool and beautiful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We planned to stay just for one night, but because of the friendliness and hospitality (and the good cooking!!) of the owners we decided to stay for another night. Kamal showed us around the other day, which was really nice! They even made a birthday cake for my husband! We enjoyed everything very much and hope we will come back one day...!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JantienenHijmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Great food, nice hosts, excellent value compared to the GH next door, good hot shower. A perfect place to stop and rest from the stress of driving through the mountains.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K2Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
0.1 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#5 of 40 in Ouarzazate
260 reviews
25.1 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Ouarzazate
77 reviews
27.5 mi away
Hotel marmar
Hotel marmar
#11 of 40 in Ouarzazate
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
251 reviews
30.6 mi away
Dar Daif
Dar Daif
#1 of 62 in Ouarzazate
700 reviews
30.7 mi away
Escale Ouarzazate
Escale Ouarzazate
#14 of 62 in Ouarzazate
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Isselday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Isselday

Address: Tisselday - Ighrem N'ougdal, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range: £27 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Isselday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing