We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and familiar with good food”
Review of Dar Isselday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Isselday
Ranked #9 of 63 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very nice and familiar place. Kamal was very friendly and helpful, and also took us up in the mountain for mineral searching - a nice experience!
The food was one of the best during my three week stay in Morrocco.
Only bad thing was that we could´t find the warm water. It should be there:)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

A sensible drive out of Marrakech this is a great stopping off point and one of the highlights of our trip. There was a warm welcome and tea on the terrace in this delightful spot. We then took a short hike up the hill to take in the sunset and fantastic views from the ruined Kasbah above. If you stay here it's well worth the effort to go up and explore. Dinner was excellent (both the couscous and tagine) and breakfast was superb. We wouldn't hesitate to insist that if you're passing you should stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at Dar Isselday for one night back in October 2013 on our return to Marrakesh from the desert and the Todra and Dades Gorges. The guesthouse was easily found as it is directly located at the one main street through the mountains and this village. We were immediately greeted by the owner of this guesthouse and shown our room which we had reserved beforehand through one of the big hotel reservation websites. The room had a comfortable double-bed and a nice and spacious bathroom including shower. The house and all the rooms are built in the traditional Berber style and were very clean and inviting. The owner itself is a very nice guy and we had a lot of talk about this and that during our stay. Again improving our Arabic and French skills but the owner also speaks English :-) The whole family including kids lives in the guesthouse which gives the guesthouse a very intimate feeling as well. We were treated to a wonderful dinner served on the terrace overlooking the valley consisting of an awesome warm egg plant salad and truly the best chicken Tajine we had during our whole trip! Honestly, when the owner offered Chicken Tajine we were slightly hesitant because this is the standard meal for the tourists in every guesthouse and we had gotten slightly sick of it over the time eating it nearly every day. But we're glad we took the offer as this Tajine was really much much better and also off a different taste (sweeter) than what we were served elsewhere! And even the desert was great! Overall a wonderful fresh dinner prepared by the owner and his wife! Breakfast the next morning was served in the indoor saloon and was also plentiful and very good! Unfortunately we had to leave early due to our flight schedule but the owner gave us small quartz crystals from a nearby mine as farewell presents! The only disadvantage is, that the guesthouse is located directly at the main road which causes some noise during the day but this died down quickly after the sun set and was absolutely no issue during the night! Overall a very nice stay in a very nice guesthouse with warm and friendly owners and great food for a very reasonable price! Completely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackpackGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A few weeks ago we had the pleasure of staying at Dar Isselday with our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids aged 10,10,8).

The owner Kamal is a wonderful and welcoming host and made our stay absolutely perfect. He was attentive, informative, helpful and generous. The first day he took us on a tour of the local surroundings and his family's gardens and orchards and we ended the day with an amazing meal made by his sister-in-law Najat. The food we had at Dar Isselday was by far the best on our whole trip in Morocco.

Kamal also organised a camel trek for our family where we got to see beautiful landscapes and visit the famous Kasbah Ait-Benhaddou. We finished off the trek with a gorgeous picnic lunch.

Behind the Inn there is a wonderful hike up the mountain (about 45min) to visit an ancient abandoned Kasbah. Absolutely beautiful views from up there and what remains of the Kasbah is so much fun to explore.

Having breakfast on the sunny outdoor terrace was one of our favorite parts about this Inn. They served up pancakes, bread and omelettes and just sitting there admiring the view was a great start to our days.

I would 100% recommend this wonderful accommodation to everyone. Kamal and his family really are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here for only one night, and it was one of the highlights of our month in Morocco. We were welcomed as part of the family. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and the food was fantastic. We opted to take a cooking lesson and learned to make the bread in addition to the tajine and dessert. It was fantastic. I highly recommend it Dar Isselday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastalrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

By accident we found this B&B in Tisselday, about halfway Ouarzazate and Marrakesh, being a very pleasant stop. Super friendly staff, nice rooms and lovely terrace. We had a lovely Tajine and a breakfast with the ultimate 'thousand holes' pancakes, the best we had in Morrocco. I would certainly come back and stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4tops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This has been for sure one of the best holiday experiences I have made so far. We have been part of the family and had formidable dinners together in the evening. We enjoyed very interesting hikes with the manager of the Dar Isselday in the region and the villages around. Part of it had been a lot of qualified information about geology and the history and life of the people living in te Atlas mountains. We have slept in nice double rooms and enjoyed the fantastic original Moroccan kitchen. The landscape there is fantastic and the manager offers to organise trips all over Morocco including the desert and the coast, since he has good connections to other tourist companies and a good judgement about what will be interesting for his guests.He really cared a lot for giving us a wonderful holiday experience. We will return for sure to experience more of this. I absolutely recommend this house.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Matthias O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
0.1 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#5 of 40 in Ouarzazate
265 reviews
24.9 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#21 of 40 in Ouarzazate
82 reviews
29.1 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#8 of 40 in Ouarzazate
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 mi away
Dar Daif
Dar Daif
#1 of 63 in Ouarzazate
728 reviews
22.5 mi away
Escale Ouarzazate
Escale Ouarzazate
#18 of 63 in Ouarzazate
68 reviews
29.4 mi away
Maison d'hotes Dar Farhana
Maison d'hotes Dar Farhana
#7 of 63 in Ouarzazate
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Isselday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Isselday

Address: Tisselday - Ighrem N'ougdal, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range: £22 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Isselday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing