We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Riad Dar Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Barbara
Ranked #14 of 63 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Our tour guide booked this hotel for us and we were very happy with the service and the hotel. Our room was very comfortable, the staff was very nice and helpful.
Dinner was great also.
Will definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mariale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were booked at this hotel through our tour operator Desert Majesty. When we arrived we were greeted very pleasantly & made welcome. We weren't sure what to expect since the tour operator called it a ethic hotel. Everything was very clean and comfortable, but simple. When we couldn't get our heat on they happily returned 2 times until we were happy & warm. We were asked when we wanted dinner, when we arrived in the dining room there was a fire going, how wonderful & cozy it felt. We were served a wonderful cream of vegtable soup. They offered us more soup, but I had to save room for dinner. Over our 5 day trip we had wonderful food & service but nothing compared to the dinner we had here. This was the best dinner of our trip! It's the area specialty tajine, wish I could remember the name (Cham---?) chucks of beef, onions, veggies, egg on top with a delicious spiced sauce! We had a wonderful Moroccan red wine with dinner! The waiter was fabulous, he made us feel so welcome and was hilarious. The breakfast was the standard Moroccan fare but very good, OJ, coffee with milk, great breads with butter & yummy jams and an egg. I would stay here again if I'm lucky enough to visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boxergirl_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

After a not so great experience at another hotel in Ouarzazate, we looked around for a new option. Dar Barbara is exactly what we were looking for. Hassan, the owner, welcomed us so sincerely upon our arrival and the rest of his staff just couldn't have been kinder. The room was comfortable, the room was nice, the Dar itself is interesting and traditional. A very nice area on the roof for admiring the views. A very nice place to stay, we can recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apsara711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

From the second you step inside, you are greeted by friendly and hilarious staff. The place feels like home. The dining room is great in the evenings when delicious tajines are prepared and music fills the evening. DUring the day, the rooftop terrace is perfect for breakfast and relaxing. It's a relaxing place. In fact, I've been back several times. Just because....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livingmydreamat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I came to this hotel towards the end of a very bad trip travelling around Morocco. On arriving I was greeted very warmly and shown my room and given a tour of the hotel. I had not been well during my trip (food and water poisoning and general sharky service) and the landlady, Jill, made special arrangements for me to be allocated a very quiet room where I would be able to rest and ensured a very plain meal and breakfast to be cooked for me.
The hotel is owned by an anglo-moroccan couple who have successfully managed to balance an authentic Moroccan atmosphere with the standards expected by western tourists, and from staying in approx 6 hotels and riads during my visit, this is no easy task to manage (see my other Morocco reviews!!!!)
I was looked after very well, and as a solo traveller with given as much or as little company as I wanted. I really would recommend this hotel. Due to general bad experiences of Morocco I am unsure if I will ever re-visit the country, but if I did, I would certainly make a special effort to stay here again. Thankyou very much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Riad dar Barbara is an excellent choice if you’re visiting Ouarzazate and want a comfortable place filled with Moroccan hospitality and charm. The riad, situated just across the river in the Berber village of Tadja, provides a comfortable location for sleeping, consistently excellent dining experiences, and an excellent location for visiting with friends. I am certain it will be my home-away-from-home each time I visit this region of Morocco.

The riad architecture, designed by Hassan in the style of his great grandfather’s riad, is gorgeous… with beautiful trim designs and traditional style. The views in any direction—whether of the city, palm groves, and gardens backed by the magnificent snow-capped Atlas Mountains or the surrounding village backed by rock outcrops and rolling hills¬¬—are stunning day and night. This riad was both welcoming and a welcomed site at the end of each day of touring. The room was impeccably cleaned daily and I was able to get clothes washed and sun-dried a few times during my visit of six days. The bathroom was simple, functional, and a design I will incorporate in my own home.

The food and service at Riad dar Barbara was superb…key factors in my decision to return to this riad. We spent a few nights dining on the upper terrace under the stars, while other nights were spent downstairs, enjoying our meal with friends in the dining room or outside on the terrace. I agree with other reviewers that the tajines and breads (and salads too) were exceptional! Everything was so fresh, delicious and perfectly timed, at whatever pace we requested. When paired with good friends, the combination of food, service, accommodation, and views was unbeatable.

The staff was genuine and welcoming, and made our stay all the more enjoyable. As a native English speaker who could attempt only the most rudimentary French and some Berber, I found the ability of much of the staff to speak fluent English a real bonus. The proprietors, Hassan and Jilly, are there most days and nights and both are a joy to visit with. Hassan’s nephew, Bahsini, made our stay memorable with his great sense of humor and good will. Everyone working at Riad dar Barbara was pleasant and accommodating without excess.

One thing not mentioned in other reviews was the possibility of a visit to a local hammam. This was a most incredible experience and one I would recommend to anyone not hesitant to bathe communally. The henna scrub was rejuvenating and the exfoliating massage I received from Nadia, who accompanied me to the hammam, is to die for. One of the first things I will do upon my return.

I can’t say enough wonderful things about this riad as a home base when visiting Ouarzazate. It’s peaceful, safe, and the location in Tadja is perfect, whether you have a 4x4, car, bike, or would enjoy a daily walk to the Kasbah or newer part of the town in Ouarzazate. The sounds of the songbirds and the morning prayers are a lovely way to start each day, though it’s quiet when the windows are closed. Just down the street and around the corner you can get great deals on carpets, antiques, pottery, jewelry, tools and artifacts from different generations of Berber families. Our drivers, from Desert and Mountain Expeditions out of Marrakesh, made it possible to experience the region’s culture, desert clime, ecology, and villages in style. It was enjoyable to be able to experience the region intimately, without feeling like an intruder, given that Moroccans are such a peaceful loving people.

When you find yourself planning a trip to Ouarzazate, definitely consider including the Riad dar Barbara in your travel plans. You will be glad you did…and I suspect, like me, eager after the trip to find a way back to this comfortable home-away-from-home.

Room Tip: room facing out to the palmier (back of hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sherrylikethewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Riad dar Barbara has the most welcoming and tranquil atmosphere we have experienced in Morocco. This newer riad with historic design and decoration has beautiful large, clean rooms. The view of the palmerie, town and Atlas Mountains are spectacular. We had excellent meals each of the 4 nights we stayed at Riad Dar Barbara, including delicious tagine and pastilla. Our hosts, Jilly and Hassan and the staff met our every need, from moving us to a room off the rooftop terrace without our lifting a finger, to providing transport and a knowledgeable, easy-going guide for a tour of Ait Ben Haddou, to arranging for a rental car with pickup and drop off right at the door, to providing a driver to the airport at the wee hours of the morning (not to mention a light breakfast). You are 'taken care of' at Riad Dar Barbara. I absolutely cannot wait to return

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TracyBenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
674 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#9 of 40 in Ouarzazate
131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Daif
Dar Daif
#1 of 63 in Ouarzazate
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Riad Tama
Riad Tama
#6 of 63 in Ouarzazate
52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
633 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#22 of 40 in Ouarzazate
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Barbara

Address: Douar Tajda, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range: £55 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing