We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home, good food!”
Review of Riad Dar Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Barbara
Ranked #13 of 61 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home, good food!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at Dar Barbara two times during our trip in Morocco; the first time after being put in another "good" hotel by a bad travel agent. The Riad is very quiet, clean and has good AC. The food is excellent, and Hassan and his family are very friendly and make you feel at home immediately. The only slight disadvantage is the location which is a bit off the city center; but as most travelers use Ouarzazate as a layover (there's not much in the city center anyhow), this is a minor thing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    44
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
56
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, Nederland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The reception was warm and inviting, the food great, the rooms are just lovely and the owner Jilly is just darling! Wish I was there again!
Great ambiance, lovely views from the roof terrace and large, spacious rooms.
Personnel is most charming and cordial!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Lovely and warm atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyGArnhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I loved this place. Abdul was a very warm and attentive host and our waiter (didn't get his name) was charming and funny and incredibly welcoming. We had dinner there both nights and the food was great. Good breakfast, too. We had such welcoming hosts at the four riads we stayed at in Morocco, and these guys were definitely some of the best. Great choice in Ouarzazate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Our tour guide booked this hotel for us and we were very happy with the service and the hotel. Our room was very comfortable, the staff was very nice and helpful.
Dinner was great also.
Will definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were booked at this hotel through our tour operator Desert Majesty. When we arrived we were greeted very pleasantly & made welcome. We weren't sure what to expect since the tour operator called it a ethic hotel. Everything was very clean and comfortable, but simple. When we couldn't get our heat on they happily returned 2 times until we were happy & warm. We were asked when we wanted dinner, when we arrived in the dining room there was a fire going, how wonderful & cozy it felt. We were served a wonderful cream of vegtable soup. They offered us more soup, but I had to save room for dinner. Over our 5 day trip we had wonderful food & service but nothing compared to the dinner we had here. This was the best dinner of our trip! It's the area specialty tajine, wish I could remember the name (Cham---?) chucks of beef, onions, veggies, egg on top with a delicious spiced sauce! We had a wonderful Moroccan red wine with dinner! The waiter was fabulous, he made us feel so welcome and was hilarious. The breakfast was the standard Moroccan fare but very good, OJ, coffee with milk, great breads with butter & yummy jams and an egg. I would stay here again if I'm lucky enough to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxergirl_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

After a not so great experience at another hotel in Ouarzazate, we looked around for a new option. Dar Barbara is exactly what we were looking for. Hassan, the owner, welcomed us so sincerely upon our arrival and the rest of his staff just couldn't have been kinder. The room was comfortable, the room was nice, the Dar itself is interesting and traditional. A very nice area on the roof for admiring the views. A very nice place to stay, we can recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apsara711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

From the second you step inside, you are greeted by friendly and hilarious staff. The place feels like home. The dining room is great in the evenings when delicious tajines are prepared and music fills the evening. DUring the day, the rooftop terrace is perfect for breakfast and relaxing. It's a relaxing place. In fact, I've been back several times. Just because....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livingmydreamat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
1.1 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#16 of 40 in Ouarzazate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
21.5 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Daif
Dar Daif
#1 of 61 in Ouarzazate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Barbara

Property: Riad Dar Barbara
Address: Douar Tajda, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing