We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discourteous, rude, incompetent. Hand out keys of your room to strangers.”
Review of Hotel marmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel marmar
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Discourteous, rude, incompetent. Hand out keys of your room to strangers.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

They rudely insist you leave key behind while out of hotel. I acquired the keys to another room because if this. The staff are quite demeaning towards women and they charged me a full night's stay for being 1 hour late at checkout.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    69
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
53
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It costed me 138 DH/night in this hotel. It is a little bit hard to find it. 5 mins walk from Supratour bus ticket office. The room is good but wifi is not covered in all the rooms. Staffs are nice and English speaking. The room price includes breakfast in a small cafe inside the hotel. But please pay attention to the staffs, they always want you to join the tour or rent a care. Anyway, the staffs are nice and do not ask for tips aggressively unlike somewhere else in the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Although not in the centre of town, hotel Marmar represented good value for money. Rooms were clean and simple, staff even bought a fan to ensure we were comfortable. We were greeted with Berbere whiskey (Moroccan tea) and Ali made us feel very welcome, he also provided us with a useful map and information about the town and surrounding areas. We would recommend a tour of the atlas studios for 50dh each and the atmosphere in the square at night was relaxed without the hassle of Marrakech. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The location is near the taxi station and around the corner you will find the Supratours bus office. It is a minimum 30 minute walk from the CTM bus office. I only recommend staying here if you want to find a place near Supratours or taxis.

The rooms are basic. Mine had toilet and shower with a small balcony overlooking the street. Sometimes you have to wait several minutes for hot water or ask reception to fix the problem. The wifi will only work on the ground floor and up to the 1st floor. Breakfast is in the cafe attached to the hotel.

The hotel is fine but I cannot recommend the services they offer (car rentals, tours, excursions) because I had a very bad experience with them. Tripadvisor will not allow me to write about their services in this review because it is under a different name but same family business. I will try to post about it in a separate review.

Room Tip: Smoking is allowed in a small desk area on the 1st floor. If you do not like smoke, do not get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funk U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This was a splendid and comfortable room, and there was even a bathtub! Everything was spotlessly clean. The staff, too, was very obliging. An excellent breakfast with plenty of good hot coffee. Very economical.
The only drawback: its distance from the center of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollycrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This hotel is just a few blocks walk from the Supratours Bus Ticket Office as well as the main Gare Routiere (bus station) and taxi station for short trips out of town such as to Skoura. Besides an excellent location for travel, it has one of he warmest staff I have encountered on 4 trips to Morocco, which is saying alot as Morocco is known for warm, kind people. The hospitality is 5 star and most the staff speak some English and good French. The wonderful breakfast, which is included in low priced large rooms with large bathrooms, consists of delicious Moroccan bread, a large croisant with a touch of chocolate, yougurt, strawberry preserves, delicious coffee with foamed milk, fresh orange juice and 2 cheese wedges. They have couches in the lobby where you are made to feel at home with mint tea at all hours nd can acess recently published tour books to help you decide where, when n how to travel within n outside of Ouarzazate. I have been in this lovely town for 7 days now and never run out of things to do or day trips to take to nearby sights. The Marmar has a TV in the cafe and each room is nicely decorate with common area to visit with other tourists. The staff will help you with directions, setting up day trips and answering any question you have.

Room Tip: My room was very quite on the North side of building on second floor. Whole town gets very quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Brand new hotel with clean rooms, maybe a bit essential, but you can't complain for what you pay!
Very helpful staff: they helped us to organise days out from Ouarzazate, renting a car with driver.
Even though it is located quite far from the town centre it is very close to Sopratours bus stop and grand taxi stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrearoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
612 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#13 of 40 in Ouarzazate
559 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#21 of 40 in Ouarzazate
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Perle Du Sud
La Perle Du Sud
#37 of 40 in Ouarzazate
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Amlal
Hotel Amlal
#25 of 40 in Ouarzazate
37 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel marmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel marmar

Property: Hotel marmar
Address: 19 Avenue Prince Moulay Abdellah | Boulevard Relie Ente la Gare Routier Et L'aireport, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel marmar 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marmar is located in the centre of Ouarzazate, 1 km from Ouarzazate Airport and 700 metres from the train station. Some of the rooms feature a private balcony. Each soundproofed Marmar room has a bathroom with shower. Free Wi-Fi is available in each of the rooms. Guests can explore the surrounding area including the Draa River and the fortified city of Ait Benhaddou. The hotel 24-hour reception desk can organise excursions of the surrounding area. We speak your language! Hotel Rooms: 20 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel marmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing