We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning location, calming atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasbah Ait Abou Restaurant Auberge
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The setting in the palmeraie and the kasbah itself are breathtaking. It felt truly special to sleep there. The owner and his wife are a bit reserved and seemed to feel that what i wanted most of all was peace and quiet, while actually i wouldve been happy to have a bit more conversation. Other than that they were very friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious. My greatest pleasure - even greater than the view from the tower - was just walking around the palmeraie.

Finding it is not easy; at the eastern end of the main road through the village, turn north and follow the red arrows painted on electricity poles, buildings etc - for a long time, you can also follow the more obvious green signs towards a place called Sawadi. It's about five or seven kilometers of unpaved road in total. Getting a taxi or ricksaw to drop you off or pick you up costs 30 or 40 dirham.

Oh, once there was an agressive dog (pale sand coloured and extremely thinly built) that followed me around as i approached the kasbah, but it ran off when i picked up a stone or a big stick. It seemed to live there. Some over-eager guard dogs also cut my sleep short on the first night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've never written a review before, but had such an awful experience here I thought I should warn other travelers. We stayed here 2 nights in April and it was 2 nights too long. Made a reservation and told them we would not be able to arrive until late. The man told us it was no problem. When we arrived after a long exhausting day of travel, he had given all the ensuite rooms to a group and showed us the "only room left", which had no lock on the door and used a disturbingly grim toilet/shower outside. He moved us to an ensuite room the next day, which was fine, but the price he charged us for the first room was ridiculously high. When we left, he presented us with a bill charging extra tax which was almost the same as the room (he confirmed in English and French that this was an extra tax). When we argued this, he got upset, switched to French to yell at us and then brought in a male tourist (we are 2 women) who was staying there to assist. He then switched his story to the tourist, saying the extra charge was for the bicycles we had borrowed (a charge which was never mentioned before, for bicycles in a very sorry state). So, fine, we paid, but then they charged us quite a lot extra for the ride back to town, which had originally been included. There are SO many other places to stay in and around Skoura which are much better value for money and better customer service! If you want to see this particular kasbah, just stop by for a visit, not at all worth staying the night.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BGKApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is an excellent place to stay in the Oasis at Skoura. The rooms are in an authentic kasbah, built by the current owners ancestors, and the dining area is in the scenic vegetable garden where everything is grown for your meals. The surrounding oasis is great for exploring on foot or by bike, with decaying kasbahs hidden among the palm, olive and almond trees. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful, and it is a very peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had booked through booking.com and also received email confirmation from Mohammed that they had our reservation, we also had left our card details so thought everything had been sorted. We had left Marrakech that morning, although the rental car company had messed us around and kept us waiting two hours so we left later than expected. We then drove through to Skoura from Marrakech which is quite ambitious and we only stopped to quickly look around two kasbahs on the way. We arrived around 7/8pm exhausted and weary and looking for our bed and some food. (It also is impossible to find in the dark and not made clear in lonely planet how hard it is to find). We turned up to find out a large coach tour had turned up and our room had been given away. We were really upset by this, as it had been such a long day and we were exhausted. Mohammed said he expects guests by 6pm or a phone call, but he did not state this in his email, so how were we meant to know. Also the fact booking.com will charge you if you cancel one day before or same day, shows that he would have received the money anyway so he should not have given our room away.

On the plus side he did find us alternative accommodation, which was lovely. Although we had to go and drop our bags off there and then return to the kasbah for supper. The food was fantastic, but we just felt too tired and upset to enjoy it. We were very disappointed with the service we received and would therefore recommend our alternative accommodation over this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This kasbah in the middle of Skoura's oasis dates back from 1825 and is beautifully renovated. Ask the owner to show you the view from the roof, and you'll see the High Atlas on one side and the palmeraie on the other. The food was not anything special and our room was very cold (we were staying here during winter time).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EFSI_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This is a charming, low-key, and welcoming kasbah hotel in the palmerie in Skoura. The owner, Mohammed, is a very sweet and helped arrange a two-day hiking trip in the High Atlas Mountains from Skoura. Breakfast, tea, and tasty dinners are served in a colorful Berber tent outside the Kasbah. Be sure to visit the top of the kasbah for unbeatable views of the palmerie and the snow-capped mountains in the distance! One minor drawback is that the kasbah is located several kilometers outside the center of Skoura, so if you don't have your own car it can be a little difficult to get to. Mohammed arranged for a car to pick us up in the center of Skoura and bring us to the kasbah for about 30 Dirhams.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mcr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Io sono andato fuori stagione,in agosto,forse abbiamo avuto le camere migliori essendo gli unici osp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
45.8 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#5 of 40 in Ouarzazate
260 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
627 reviews
12.2 mi away
Les Tourmalines
Les Tourmalines
#8 of 40 in Ouarzazate
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Ouarzazate
77 reviews
22.6 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#9 of 40 in Ouarzazate
126 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#16 of 40 in Ouarzazate
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Ait Abou Restaurant Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Ait Abou Restaurant Auberge

Address: Palmeraie De Skoura Bp30, Ouarzazate 45500, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range: £34 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kasbah Ait Abou Restaurant Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing