We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of Home”
Review of Dar Rita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Rita
Ranked #7 of 61 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little piece of Home”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived to Ouarzazate after a long day and a little concern for our 4x4's tyres.
We easily found the cosy square where everybody in the neighbourhood knows Dar Rita, and we were accompanied to the front door and entered this little oasis of kindness.
The tea and the pastries we were welcome-served left a mark and made us feeling very good right away.
The international flavour of the place and the close connection to the local people that it offers to the travellers looking for the human touch make of it a very good memory for us.
Rita also recommended the perfect place for a nice dinner too, and stayed with us until she waved at our departure.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    31
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
65
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Darling Rita runs a small guesthouse off a small side street in Ouarzazate, close to the bus station. We spent 2 nights and ate dinner there both nights. Rita put flavourful food on the table and a friendly atmosphere. Unfortunately, the pipes froze overnight on our second night, we couldn't have showers before our taxi out of town. Fluke weather aside, a great place to stay on the way east out of Marakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_NFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed 3 days in this guest house located on a traditional neighboorhod in Ouarzazate city. It was a bit difficult to find but after asking few people we got there easily. Also my husband's phone map was very useful. Dar Rita is a 3 floors house with a very friendly Portuguese host called Rita. She served us tea and presented us to a very well decorated house. I got to have the biggest room of the house and my daughters got a twin room just close to us. Other clients were on the riad but rita had time to talk with us about her experience in this exotic country. During 3 days we visited the unesco Ksar of Ait Benhaddou, Tifoultoute Kasbah, Taourirt Kasbah, Fint Oasis, Film studios and cinema museum. This was a very nice relaxing city after one busy and euphoric week in Marrakech. We loved the amazing breakfast - the BEST in Morocco no doubt about it. The house is spacious and just perfect for our little family stay. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adoniapapazoglakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

i stayed 3 days in dar rita and felt like home. i took the chance to stay for a few days to recharge my batteries after sahara desert and before heading north of morocco to marrakech, etc. this was the perfect place before going to north morocco. this is a true authentic moroccan house, with not many bedrooms. i also could use free wireless internet. breakfast was the best i had in morocco. bedrooms are cozy and just perfect size for a solo traveler. bathroom very clean and with all necessary amenities. rita the host is very friendly and told me about where to go in the city and the region.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreprates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Although we had some trouble finding the riad, Dar Rita is located close to the city center. It takes only a ten minute walk to the central square.

Rita is very helpful and transmits a relaxing vibe to her customers, which also reflects in the ambient of the dar. The riad is lovely decorated, has large rooms and excellent facilities for the guests. The breakfast prepared by Rita was the best breakfast we had in Morocco.

We were kept awake by a cat from one of the neighbours that was crying for a long time. Rita went out at night to find the cat and solve the 'problem'. We slept in a very good bed and found all necessary facilities in the bathroom. Unfortunately there was sometimes a distinct smell in the bathroom that we could nog get rid off.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvdorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Dar Rita is a Riad that offered us a quiet, peaceful sanctuary during our hectic round trip through Morocco. It definitely is a calm and beautifull place to restore your energy. Afterwards it's just a shame that we only spent one night in the riad, cause it is a real getaway in Morocco. The lovely owner Rita and her staff were very attentive and made us feel very welcome. Because the Riad only has a few rooms, which are all individually decorated, it felt very exclusive and everyone was incredibly friendly. The breakfast is very good and a lot of variety so take your time to have breakfast! I would highly recommend this jewel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanneBaan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I spent but a single night inDar Rita but Rita, out of her kindness, effectively organized the balance of my holiday and my wife's travels, who was joining me later.

The accommodation was excellent and albeit I only spent a few hours in my room due to a late arrivel and eraly departure the next morning i can vouch for an excellent breakfast.

Thanks Rita

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
27.2 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#4 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dar Daif
Dar Daif
#1 of 61 in Ouarzazate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rita

Property: Dar Rita
Address: 39 Rue de la Mosquee | Tassoumaat, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dar Rita is a Moroccan riad located in Ouarzazate, 200km south of Marrakech. Riad Dar Rita offers 7 fully equipped rooms, dinner and breakfast, terrace with caidal tents, telescope tower for night sky stars observation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing