We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel Exploration”

Travel Exploration Morocco Private Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uncover the cultural diversity of contemporary Morocco on a Travel Exploration Tailor Made Private Tour or Day Tour. Visit breathtaking Architectural sites and Berber Villages, Jewish Heritage sites, Majestic palaces, and Glorious houses of worship and opulent gardens. You will eat exceptional cuisine and view traditional Moroccan crafts being made by local artisans and shop in enticing marketplaces. When you travel with us you will experience the authentic. We specialize in custom-design private, Morocco tours for couples, families and small. Travel Exploration Morocco donates 5% of our proceeds to Berber Villages through our charity organization called Project Feed.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Travel Exploration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My daughter and I wanted to make a trip to Morocco. Because of the fact that it was an unknown arab country for me, we decided not to do it on our own. This was the best decision because we had a customized trip and Alecia took care of everything. She helped us organize the best tour with the days we had. Our driver Brahim Amiri was fantastic. Always in a good and sunny disposition. He went out of his way to meet all our wishes. Our guides Hakim and Zobida need a full recognition because they "know" their history and their country. It was a pleasure to spend the day with them. We feel we experienced Morocco in the best possible way. We stayed at fantastic Riads, ate very good food and had the experience of a lifetime. What a beautiful country! Travel exploration made this possible.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 500Connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    10
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Moroccan Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We traveled to Morocco with our adult son and girlfriend. After a long search we chose to use Travel Exploration to arrange our trip. Alecia at Travel Exploration did a fabulous job tailoring our trip to not only our time frame but personal preferences. She was very accommodating as our commitment to the trip was delayed. We had a difficult time getting visas for another country we were visiting. She understood and delayed the date we needed to make a deposit. She also accommodated my request for a particular Riad. We usually rent a car and drive ourselves. But we decided to hire a driver which was well worth the expense. Mustaffa was full of information. Historical, religious, sightseeing, restaurants and shopping etc. He was a good driver and had a very clean car. On top of that he was courteous, thoughtful and very professional.
We visited Marrakech, Essaouira, and Casablanca. Casablanca was not particularly a hightlight for us. One area you do not need to spend time in. We love Marrakech with the Medina, Souks, Palace, Square etc. And a visit to a Hamman. It was a true Moroccan experience. For a change of pace we had a day trip to Ourika Valley. The Atlas mountains surroun this beautiful area. We spent the day hiking and had a wonderful lunch along the river. Our guide walked us through the Berber Village explaining the way of like. We ended our trip at the seaside village of Essaouira. A low key medina. Not nearly as many tourists. We took a cooking class with Mona at Madada Mogador. Small class and a fun experience cooking with a tajine! We will go back and we will use Alecia at Travel Exploration!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MLP3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Travel Exploration Morocco Private Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My daughter and I recently went to Morocco to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. Alecia helped organize the trip and customized everything so that we could get a detailed tour of Morocco in about 9 days. Our driver, Youssef was wonderful. We opted to stay at the more unique Riads, which was well worth the extra. Spending the night in a luxury tent in the Sahara desert was one of the many highlights. The guides were very knowledgeable so we had the opportunity to come back with an expanded understanding of our trip. We found Alecia on Trip Advisor and would highly recommend Travel Exploration to friends and family

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had the most amazing trip to Morocco thanks to Alecia Cohen's agency. They were very accommodating with any last minute changes that we had. All of our hotels were great. The tour guides spoke perfect English and they were very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend using Alecia Cohen's agency for anyone wanting to travel to Morocco. They are true professionals!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like being in an anthropology class for two weeks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I have traveled quite a lot over the last few decades, but this was the first time we have ever used an agency to plan our entire trip and we are very glad that we did! Even though I had read about traveling in Morocco and talked to people who had gone, I still felt a little overwhelmed with what to see and how to plan the trip. Alecia's knowledge of the area and her patience in going back and forth with us while we developed the itinerary was really helpful. Right before we were to leave, my father got ill and we were unsure whether we should even go on the trip, especially when it might be hard to stay in touch with him. Alecia not only offered us the use of a phone, but put enough minutes on it for us to talk to my dad every few days. It was an incredibly kind gesture and made all the difference for our peace of mind.
We are very pleased with the various regions that we chose to visit - the High Atlas Mountains, the Sahara, the Dades Valley and Marrakech. It was all fascinating and made even better by our great guide, L'Hacen. He is an excellent combination of a modern-thinking guy who respects and takes pride in his traditional Berber heritage. We were able to discuss local politics and cultural values, which we really enjoyed and he helped us get an inside perspective on the Moroccan people. We had some lively discussions because he was so aware, outgoing and his English was quite good. He also was very knowledgeable about Berber history and culture, which was so interesting to us. While we are not timid about driving, the conditions in remote areas can be challenging and we appreciated his skill and good judgment at the wheel! He often took us off-road to see things we would never have seen on our own and we learned so much about Morocco from him. L'Hacen was upbeat and friendly and we highly recommend him!
Probably the only downside was something I saw mentioned in another review - the tipping situation. I have to agree with the reviewer that the need to be continually tipping was a little frustrating, somewhat uncomfortable and often we were just not sure what was appropriate. We are not ungenerous and are happy to provide some extra compensation, but it was just such a constant demand. There is really nothing to be done about it, but being aware that it is an expectation will be helpful for future travelers.
Just about everything on the tour went smoothly and Alecia made a point of checking in to see if we needed anything. The places that Alecia booked for us, from the unique and wonderful Douar Samra in the Atlas Mountains, to the more sophisticated Chez Pierre in the Dades Valley were perfect. We had hiking guides in the Atlas Mountains (Mohammed) as well as the Dades Valley (Osain). Their expertise and support made these day treks real highlights of our trip.
We feel Travel Explorations did an excellent job of planning and executing our holiday and I would definitely recommend them to anyone wishing to explore Morocco!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aleciamorocco, Owner at Travel Exploration Morocco Private Tours, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We appreciate that you made the choice to use a travel agency for Morocco and that Travel Exploration was your choice. We are always pleased to provide our travelers with an extra services that enables them to be in touch with their families during their vacation. Our drivers are hand selected and we are glad to know that you liked Lhacen and found our services on mark. With gratuity like anywhere in the world it is not included in a private tour yet we go above and beyond to provide suggested amounts to assist our visitors. When requested we can include gratuity yet its always best to show appreciation direct to those who offer you an a la carte service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Travel Exploration Morocco Private Tours also viewed

Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Travel Exploration Morocco Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing