We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, spacious but dated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, spacious but dated room”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was billed as a 5 star hotel, which I don't agree with. It was big and had lovely grounds and nice decor in the lobby and common areas. Our room was spacious but very dated and not modern. The "mini bar" was a rickety dorm fridge with two cokes, two waters and two beers (there were three of us in the suite), one phone didn't work, and one heating unit didn't work. Breakfast was huge and you could basically get anything.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slaumsu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    216
    72
    25
    12
See reviews for
110
193
38
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Unfortunately, we arrived in the dark to this beautiful oasis at the edge of the desert. The hotel itself is beautiful and our suite was spacious with a living room area and fireplace. The furnishings were elegant in the suite and in the common areas of the hotel. Our only complaint was with the buffet dinner. Although the salad bar was large with many delicious looking options, the hot buffet table food looked dried out and over cooked. My husband ended up with an intestinal problem during the night with fever from one of the dishes. Our friend also tasted the dish and didn't eat it as she felt something wasn't right. My only suggestion is to order ala carte dinner not from the buffet. Breakfast on the other hand was delicious with made to order omelets and wonderful breads with a complete salad bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnecticutGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Entry
It’s located in the center of the city and is easy to find. It has an enormous presence on the road so you can’t miss it. From the outside it looks like a large Kasbah/palace. Friendly bellmen greet you at the curbside and whisk your bags into the lobby with a smile.
Reception was somewhat tedious filling out forms and answering lots of questions. Not nearly as friendly.

The bellmen then carry your bags down the stairs and then up the stairs to your room. They do so as if they are enjoying their job which is a refreshing way for a hotel greeting.
Room

The rooms are large, new and comfortable. It appears that they are all “duplexes” – two room buildings with one on the ground floor and one above. There was no view from the second floor. Amenities were appropriate for the area. It was not super luxury and not contemporary.

Toiletries

Bring your own. The choices here are mediocre and they come in squat bottles that are hard to use.

Wifi

Free and available throughout the hotel.

Grounds

Beautiful landscaping with sculptured orange trees all around. There are several outdoor seating areas including a couple bars, a fitness center and a massive pool.

Food

There are at least three restaurants on site. All of them look great. Breakfast is usually included in the rate. It’s a standard fare large buffet with freshly made omelets. Service was excellent.

Movie Artifacts

A fun feature of the hotel is the props from movies placed around the lobby and other areas as art. They’re mostly Egyptian and give the feel of being there. Some are chipping away so that you can see the plaster beneath. None were from movies that we had seen, but we enjoyed looking at them.

Bottom Line

This is probably the best hotel in the area. It’s definitely THE business hotel. For tourists it has the advantages of staying in a new hotel with the feel of an ancient Kasbah.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angmohgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Outstanding spacious rooms, beautiful pool area, excellent food (both occidental and local) and lovely Staff. If you are traveling towards the desert this hotel is not just a stop by; it is part of the trip itself. Reserve time to enjoy it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elmegale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaventem, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, at the start and the end of our travel in Morocco. We didn't have enough time to enjoy the heated swimming pool unfortunately but the hotel, staff and food made up for it wonderfully. The manager is very friendly! The rooms are very spacious and the food in plenty and great! The hotel is located only 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have never been to Morocco and really had no idea what to expect. I traveled to Ouarzazate for work and needed to be there for over 5 weeks. The arrangements were made for me which can always be a little scary.

Staying at the Le Berbere Palace couldn't have been a more pleasant surprise. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The entire place is kept immaculate. The rooms were very comfortable. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good and the buffet I had for Dinner was ridiculous - - so GOOD and SOOOOO much food. I limped back to my room uncomfortable I ate so much. Couldn't stop.

But really the best part of this place... the people. I travel a lot for work and have been to a multitude of cities and stayed in a ton of hotels... I swear this has to be the most friendly, warm and accommodating staff I have ever encountered. From the doormen to reception to housekeeping; from Bartenders to waiters... It's like one is nicer than the next. Always with a smile; always making sure you are taken care of and happy; somehow always knowing the language of whatever visitor... they make you feel welcome and completely taken care every single second. How they remember you after the first day with so many guests passing through... it really is remarkable. Their attention to detail and understanding of service and hospitality is without question.

I absolutely would recommend this place to anyone and everyone and hope that work brings me back here SOON!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Overall -- a very nice hotel. Room was very comfortable and clean. We had a separate seating area. The walk to our room had lovely flowering trees and shrubs.
Buffet dinners were marred by too many Continental dishes (the Moroccan food was good, but the rest -- not so much).
The poolside dining was marred by the overwhelming smell of "compost" -- otherwise known as manure in the plantings.
But -- there were lovely and very friendly cats who were anxious to be friendly and see how much of the continental dishes they could cage from the tourists -- which was very very nice for those who missed their pets!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SESNoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
10.9 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#8 of 40 in Ouarzazate
248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#13 of 40 in Ouarzazate
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#21 of 40 in Ouarzazate
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Berbere Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Berbere Palace

Property: Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Address: Quartier Mansour Eddahbi | Village Berbere, B.p 165, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ouarzazate
#1 Spa Hotel in Ouarzazate
#7 Family Hotel in Ouarzazate
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Berbere Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ouarzazate town centre, the Berbere Palace is just 5 minutes from the famous Kasbah de Taourirt and 5 minutes from the Airport. It offers an outdoor swimming pool and a Spa centre with a hammam, sauna and hot tub. Each room and suite at Berbere Palace is air conditioned and equipped with free Wi-Fi access and satellite TV. Rooms also have en suite facilities and a private balcony or terrace. The Berbere features 3 restaurants that serve French, Italian and traditional Moroccan cuisine. Breakfast is served on the terrace and guests can enjoy a cocktail at the piano bar. Free private parking is available at the Berbere Palace and Ouarzazate Airport is 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Berbere Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Berbere Palace Ouarzazate
Le Berbere Palace Hotel Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing