We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we stay longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1,213 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 682 helpful votes
“Wish we stay longer!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The Le Berbere Palace was a very interesting bungalow-tyle hotel. The sparsely spread out accommodation gave it a resort atmosphere. The hotel also equipped with a large swimming pool with interesting day-bed and over-sized sofas around the pool. We were scheduled to stay overnight hence did not have the opportunity to enjoy the full facilities of the place.

The room was sizable with large bathroom and sitting area. It was more like a studio apartment rather a standard room in city hotel.

The lobby was furnished with various props either copied or the authentic one taken from the studio where several famous movies were made in Ouarzazate. The props were excellent for our memory photos. Great fun!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    214
    72
    25
    12
See reviews for
110
190
38
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very disappointed and overpriced
The food was just about acceptable
i had a couscous at their speciality restaurant ...it was awfull , first time I was served a couscous without any sauce nor spice ..again had the name only.
they seemed to accomodated very large groups of tourist coming from the US and Asia staying for a night prior to leaving for a desert trip or on the way back before a flight.
Rooms ( we stayed in a suit ) were acceptable but lot of the aminities were broken , fridge , A/C . Bedding was ok.
very nice staff though, helpfull.
The swimming pool is fantastic

Room Tip: there are some great little restaurants just outside the hotel for a very good price you will get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skanee, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Le Berbère Palace is a fine place to stay if you're planning to visit the Sahara Desert. The hotel was comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.

As part of a business conference, we visited the Sahara Desert for a couple of days and an overnight stay in desert tents set up by local Bedouins. The stay in the desert was arranged by French company, so in addition to riding camels through the dunes and eating fine Bedouin cuisine, the French brought along bottles of fine French wine to complement the dinner. Our Bedouin hosts did not drink any of the wine ... but they had no objections to us enjoying the wine with the fine food they prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisuTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
649 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This place is a wonderful cross between an excellent hotel and a movie set. All the rooms are set up in a sprawling mishmash suites on a large property where their room numbers are not necessarily sequential. The actual rooms are cozy, warm and wonderful. The dining area is equally large and spreads inside and out towards a very large pool. The whimsical piece is that one can see bits and pieces of past movie sets on the property.....an Assyrian bull here, a broken chariot there. It is very easy to overhear a bunch of people discussing the film production schedule for the next day. Oh, the food is excellent there too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixelpanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were here for two nights as part of our tour. This is a large hotel, so lots of changeovers and the lack of attention to detail in our room reflected that. Our safe was still locked so a couple of giggling ladies were sent to sort it out,eventually. We had no bathrobes and asked for feather pillows which took three requests. Tea took an age to arrive and the milk a further 20 minutes. The suite was OK but lighting was poor in the lounge area. Dining was buffet style and on the first night, the hotel had to cope with an influx of delayed passengers from the local airport, so very busy and extremely noisy. Breakfast was hopeless with tables not cleared and relaid. The dining room lacked a good Maitre'd. Food was average. Lots of movie memorabilia around the place, there are studios nearby, but it was all rather tacky. Some staff looked very scruffy. Our guide said that Morocco is expanding its hotel stock so quickly that they lack sufficient experienced people to run them. This place shows it in spades.And they got the bill wrong. Despite the fact that I queried whether it was correct before I paid (pastries had not been charged for) they chased me for more money as we were leaving. I was not happy. Lots of stubbed out cigs at the entrance.Don't be seduced by this place, we couldn't wait to get away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We all enjoyed this hotel and the rooms were very comfortable. We had 3 meals here and breakfast daily and the food was delicious. The gardens and grounds are beautiful. It is a bit spread out...but after finding our rooms we found 'short-cuts' back to the main building. I found the staff to be very attentive and would recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaineh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel is large and imposing. The grounds were nicely kept and the room was very clean. We stayed in a Vizir Suite which had two bedrooms and two baths. The real hang up I had was the fact that I fell victim to a bad lunch. While in town, we only ate at the hotel. Dinner the first night was rather uninspired Italian, all of which was close but not quite right. We slept in, and went straight to lunch at noon, where I ate the afore mentioned veal, and the rest of the family had chicken. I was stricken at 6 pm.

The staff was very helpful after my husband discovered that the phones in our room did not work. Neither did our mobiles. They placed calls, got my husband a taxi to the night pharmacy, sent the cleaners in to clean both bathrooms. (It was bad. Really bad.) However, they gave my husband the wrong phone number for our med unit in Rabat to call us. After four or five trips to the front desk to deal with phone calls, the night manager finally figured out how to transfer a call to our room.

We figure that my veal brochettes had been prepped for Friday dinner and left out before going back to the fridge in anticipation of Saturday lunch. We passed on Sunday breakfast and drove home.

A few other observations: The head housekeeper has a key that unlocks all the room safes. Our safe refused to unlock with the code. The lobby could use some work, as the Aubusson rugs are dirty and stained and need to be sent out for a cleaning.

I'm not sure we'll stay again here if we return to Ouarzazate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donttravellightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
10.9 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
247 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#14 of 40 in Ouarzazate
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Les Tourmalines
Les Tourmalines
#9 of 40 in Ouarzazate
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
123 reviews
21.4 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Berbere Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Berbere Palace

Property: Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Address: Quartier Mansour Eddahbi | Village Berbere, B.p 165, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ouarzazate
#1 Spa Hotel in Ouarzazate
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ouarzazate
#7 Family Hotel in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Berbere Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ouarzazate town centre, the Berbere Palace is just 5 minutes from the famous Kasbah de Taourirt and 5 minutes from the Airport. It offers an outdoor swimming pool and a Spa centre with a hammam, sauna and hot tub. Each room and suite at Berbere Palace is air conditioned and equipped with free Wi-Fi access and satellite TV. Rooms also have en suite facilities and a private balcony or terrace. The Berbere features 3 restaurants that serve French, Italian and traditional Moroccan cuisine. Breakfast is served on the terrace and guests can enjoy a cocktail at the piano bar. Free private parking is available at the Berbere Palace and Ouarzazate Airport is 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Berbere Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Berbere Palace Ouarzazate
Le Berbere Palace Hotel Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing