We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating, very authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Daif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Daif
Ranked #1 of 60 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fascinating, very authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed one night here on our way from Marrakech to Merzouga and left wishing we could have stayed longer.
We arrived in the dark but found it OK although my pre printed google map showed it to be on the left and in fact it's on the right of the road. (a side road a few miles from Quarzazate, make sure you locate on a map beforehand)
Fine views of the Atlas mountains from various terraces and sitting areas.
Our room was clean and very comfortable. The welcome was warm and friendly with a silver tray of mint tea and cookies brought to our room.
The building is old and fascinating. Lots of different levels and old pieces of furniture, rugs, carpets and pictures everywhere. This kasbah seems to be run by a local family who have combined the best of traditional Moroccan hospitality and decor with the comforts we take for granted in the UK.
Breakfast was very good as far a breakfasts go in Moroccan B & B's

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iancrowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    69
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
185
219
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

A friend and I spent one night in Dar Daif in January, 2014, on our way from Merzouga to Marrakech. We both have some physical limitations, so had asked for a ground floor room, which they gave us. We arrived quite late at night and knowing that would be the case, had had our tour company order dinner. The dining area is on the second floor, so the staff set up a table in our room and served us a five-course meal in our room. Fabulous service, and we didn't have to ask for it! The same service was provided for breakfast. And we were only there one night. The room (actually a large one and a small one as one) was quite satisfactory, although a bit chilly. The service was what was so special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We only spenty one night here but enjoyed it a lot.
The house is very nice. Rooms are big and clean, hammam is very pleasant (and free !) and staff very helpful and gave us good tips for the continuation of our trip.
Having breakfast on the terrace is also something incredible.
A must in Ouarzazate

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apLmoiLeGros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent three nights at Dar Daif; exploring the Draa Valley area. This boutique hotel is in a somewhat surprising location, outside of Ouarzazate, but once you enter the high wooden gates, it is a world of its own. Superbly restored, in an authentic style, this riad offers memorable dinners, profound peace, and a very knowledgeable staff. The well stocked library is a bonus; as well as the gardens and roomy terraces . Jean Pierre, the owner, is extremely helpful and knows how to explore the real Morocco. Quite a treat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphaella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Dar Deif is a very nice boutique hotel around 10 km away from Ouarzazate down-town. Based on the map provided by the mail it's easy to find with your own car. The setting is beautiful - located almost at the end of the road the view in front of the hotel is the vast green patch of palm trees and fields, which spread around a small rice in the south of Ouarzazate basically covering the whole view from west to east. Behind, the city, which has become quite lovely in recent years with it own majestic setting in front of the high Atlas Mountains. Due to the altitude of roughly 1200 m, the air is fresh and crisp.

The staff of the hotel is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated in a typical Moroccan country house style, which fits very well with the surrounding and makes you feel easily at home.
The hotel has a very tinny pool, which we didn't try. Calm, fresh air and being surrounded by beautiful nature, these are the memories coming to mind if we think back to Dar Deif.

Room Tip: The suite room is recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnschmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent only one night in Dar Daif but it was one of the most memorable, particularly the dinner. It's a compulsory 20 Euro/person meal but totally worth it. Somewhat different from the typical Moroccan dinners with a tasty twist (e.g., spiced carrot salad, date ice cream). It was a beautiful setting - definitely worth it, especially if you then plan to drive south towards M'Hamid.

Also, Jean Pierre, the owner, was lovely and super helpful with informing the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greensheepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked into Dar Daif via booking.com for four nights. On arrival we were greeted with a refreshing round of mint tea and biscuits and a lovely induction from the proprietor Jean Pere.
The location - outside Ouarzarzate so you would need to have a car or be prepared to get transfers from the airport. We loved the peace and quiet of the surroundings. It's right on the edge of the palmeraie so you can get a great view from the many balconies an watch the world go by.
The breakfast - was the same every day and this would be my on,y point of feedback. Sme variation would have been nice. It was lovely - beghrir pancakes, m'laoui pancakes, polenta pancakes, plenty of jams, honey and juice, yoghurt, tea or coffee but some variation would have been welcome.
The dinner - outstanding. We ate here twice. You can choose from lots of different menus at breakfast and the food is truly a sumptuous four course affair served where you wish. We preferred the highest balcony with views across the town and a wonderful breeze. It was also perfect for star gazing. They offer a children's menu which is enormous and very nicely cooked.
The rooms - are delightful. You feel as if you are staying in a real kasbah carved into the mountain. They are cool with ice cold air conditioning. The water situation in the bathrooms wasnt great. We had a trickle of a shower but its so quirkyly decorated we really didnt mind. They have a great Eco policy on the towels and sheets that they stick to.
Communal areas are wonderful. Really full of nooks and crannies to get lost in, a library and comfy sofas and lounging areas.
The pool is adequate. It's quite deep with a small shallow part which is in full sun all day so it's nice to sit and stay cool with feet dipped in the water.
The garden is lovely - There was even an aviary! In the evenings there is an oud player who sadly played the same repertoire most nights we were there but we did enjoy him on the first evening. The whole place smells of orange blossoms!
The French owner is incredibly helpful. He printed out maps and ideas for excursions for us which we took advantage of. He knows the area really well so if there is something in particular you want to do, he will surely know where. He also knows the rest of the country and gave us some options for getting to our next destination of Marrakech.
English is spoken here and spoken well but a lot of the staff do not speak English so Frenchis helpful.
The wifi is in each room so despite the thick walls we could get seamless access the whole time we were there.
We loved this place and will return if we ever come back to Ouarzarzate. We felt welcome but were not overly fussed over so could relax at our pace.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely but I would avoid ground floor because of the noise of other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoeFamilyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#16 of 40 in Ouarzazate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
30.5 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#4 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Daif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Daif

Property: Dar Daif
Address: BP 93 | douar Talmasla, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Daif 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 km from Ouarzazate on the edge of the gardens, this Kasbah offers a warm atmosphere "Caravanserai" desert oasis. Zineb and Jean Pierre Datcharry and their team, passionate about the desert and mountains of Morocco for over 25 years, invite you to discover their magical house guests - the true southern gem not to be missed. neat and tasty cuisine, natural products, organic and region. Cooking lessons and pastry offered (book) if arrive early afternoon. Activities from the Kasbah: - Bird watching with a telescope, foot walks in the gardens, mountain biking, canoeing on the lake, bivouac in the desert, camel crossings in the desert trek in the Atlas. Establishment: Green Key certified, trophy Responsible Tourism (Morocco, France, Spain), HACCP certification. 1 furnished room for disabled people (hospital bed, no door, wagon comfort) joellette walks in the gardens, walks in the desert with a special wagons attached to the back of a camel. Parking guarded 24 / 24. Garage for bikes. Airport shuttle and bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Daif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing