We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quaint mansion in the middle of nowhere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Daif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Daif
Ranked #1 of 60 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A quaint mansion in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the eighth of eleven riad reviews in Morocco, following the Marrakech review, and preceding our stay in Taroudant. Stayed on 30th April, 2014.

The riad is not actually in the town of Ouarzazate, but is about twelve kilometres outside, and to reach it one needs to go through a long stretch of unpaved dirt road. If you do not have the use of a car, this is not the place for you. However, most travellers to Ouarzazate are either on the way to Marrakech, Merzouga or the Todra Gorge, so it is inevitable that they have a ride.

The mansion is run by Berbers. Once past the main lobby, you are asked to take off your muddy shoes. We didn’t mind. Its multiple levels of rooms, lounges, halls and corridors are cluttered with chairs and sofas, rugs, art and memorabilia that make the mansion feel homey and personal. Our suite is large and oddly laid out. Inside a front door is a sofa and table; a second door leads to a landing with a toilet and a shower. Go past another door to find a bedroom laid out in blue, and another door to a study/lounge with a single bed, and a final door leads to a terrace with comfortable lounge chairs and a far reaching view of miles of flat-bushed terrain. The surprise doesn’t end. Due to its remote location, our stay includes dinner. Dinnertime arrives, and we were led to a private terrace next door, where a single table was decked out in tablecloth and brass lamp. We had a five-course meal including appetizer, soup, Moroccan salads, beef and chicken on skewers, and fresh fruit. Midway through our dinner, a Berber musician came by and serenaded us with his mandolin. And when the sun set just beneath the horizon and the sky turned turquoise, I took one of the most memorable photos of our entire trip – of the natural skylight competing and contrasting against the footlights of the adjacent wings of our mansion. It was truly magical, and we felt like living out our dream in the land of Ali Baba.

When we turned into bed, flies were hovering over us, and so we turned on the air conditioner, shut the windows and ducked inside our comforters.

The servers here are without exception warm and genuinely concerned for your comfort; one senses they are happy making a living here. Our manager is pleasant and gentle and speaks good English; I wish I remembered his name to give him the recognition he deserves, and so I will include his photo in this article, together with the skyline view. The Dar Daif is truly unique, and contributed to our fond memories of Morocco. Four-and-a-half stars for the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pandarooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    66
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
179
213
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan P.R
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Dar DAIF after reading several positive comments about the place. What a surprise when we arrived and find that we had the worst room of the place covered with dust the floor.! We almost don't fit on the shower. Nobody speak English or Spanish so it was a frustration the intent to communicate. It was really a nightmare!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosikika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPZINEB, Owner at Dar Daif, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour Mesdames,

Nous nous souvenons tout à fait de votre passage, vous êtes 2 dames, arrivées en fin de journée, en avant d’une journée sur la réservation effectuée par votre agence. Votre réservation était une chambre standard et comme il ne restait qu’une seule Suite junior libre nous l’avons mise à votre disposition sans supplément de prix.
Vous êtes arrivées à 18 heures le jour où nous avons eu une grosse tempête.

Vous étiez accueillies par Hayat (licenciée en Anglais), et qui se souvient bien de vous avoir accueillie en Anglais et même un peu en Espagnol. Quand vous avez traversé la coure déjà 3 personnes effectuaient le nettoyage de la poussière de cette tempête. Puis Hayat vous a présenté toute la maison. Vous avez choisie de manger votre menu (Tadjine agneau et assortiments de salades cuites) sur une de nos terrasses proche de la cuisine dominant le jardin.
Nous sommes très étonnés que vous gardiez le souvenir de Dar Daïf comme d’un cauchemar, et "bijou de mauvais gout" (titre de votre message), mais vous veniez d’effectuer un long trajet en voiture et nous comprenons votre fatigue.
Comme vous avez pu constater, à Dar Daïf le nombre de personne qui travaille est important, justement pour recevoir au mieux nos hôtes, car Dar Daïf veut dire « maison de l’invité ».
Effectivement, toute l’équipe ne parle pas Anglais ou Espagnol, nous habitons en zone rurale. Régulièrement nous effectuons des formations d’hygiènes et aussi de langues en Français, Anglais et Espagnol pour toute l’équipe. (Voir cela sur notre page FB et Blog). Prochainement nous allons démarrer une formation en Allemand et continuer l’Anglais. Cela représente un gros effort de notre part ainsi que de toute l’équipe, pour mieux vous recevoir et communiquer avec nos visiteurs.

Nous espérons que ces aléas de temps disparaitront de votre souvenir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Initially we arrived for a one-night stay on our way from Skoura to Marrakech. We eventuallt stayed one more night and with input from Jean-Pierre (the owner) reviewing our travel itinerary for the next 10 days!! Thank you Jean-Pierre for your excellent advice! Your maps were precise! You guided us to find architectural treasures in off-the beaten track areas which did not require more effort! We experienced many more aspects of this wonderful country because of your experienced in organizing journeys of discovery. Dar Daif' staff is engaging and helpful. You surprised us on numerous occasions: washing our dusty car, offering a box of homemade cookies and water at our departure, providing hand drawn maps for our outings. Not to mention the copious meals, appeasing hammam, great library, delightful decor, and traditional berber music. Our terrace offered intimacy while at the same time the rest of the home was open for discovery! Beautiful! Hoping to come back soon and have Jean-Pierre guide us in discovering Marocco's summits and desert.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EwaB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

we stayed one night on our way to Marrakech; we found it thru a guide after looking at some other locations. It is very intriguing: lots of ups and downs, stairs, memorabilia. The views are incredible and the rooms very cozy. The service was great and the manager (a French) was really nice and helpful in advising us where to go next off the touristic route. We will never forget this experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGiorgioS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed one night here on our way from Marrakech to Merzouga and left wishing we could have stayed longer.
We arrived in the dark but found it OK although my pre printed google map showed it to be on the left and in fact it's on the right of the road. (a side road a few miles from Quarzazate, make sure you locate on a map beforehand)
Fine views of the Atlas mountains from various terraces and sitting areas.
Our room was clean and very comfortable. The welcome was warm and friendly with a silver tray of mint tea and cookies brought to our room.
The building is old and fascinating. Lots of different levels and old pieces of furniture, rugs, carpets and pictures everywhere. This kasbah seems to be run by a local family who have combined the best of traditional Moroccan hospitality and decor with the comforts we take for granted in the UK.
Breakfast was very good as far a breakfasts go in Moroccan B & B's

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iancrowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

A friend and I spent one night in Dar Daif in January, 2014, on our way from Merzouga to Marrakech. We both have some physical limitations, so had asked for a ground floor room, which they gave us. We arrived quite late at night and knowing that would be the case, had had our tour company order dinner. The dining area is on the second floor, so the staff set up a table in our room and served us a five-course meal in our room. Fabulous service, and we didn't have to ask for it! The same service was provided for breakfast. And we were only there one night. The room (actually a large one and a small one as one) was quite satisfactory, although a bit chilly. The service was what was so special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We only spenty one night here but enjoyed it a lot.
The house is very nice. Rooms are big and clean, hammam is very pleasant (and free !) and staff very helpful and gave us good tips for the continuation of our trip.
Having breakfast on the terrace is also something incredible.
A must in Ouarzazate

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apLmoiLeGros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
1.0 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#2 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#4 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#15 of 39 in Ouarzazate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Daif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Daif

Property: Dar Daif
Address: BP 93 | douar Talmasla, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Daif 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 km from Ouarzazate on the edge of the gardens, this Kasbah offers a warm atmosphere "Caravanserai" desert oasis. Zineb and Jean Pierre Datcharry and their team, passionate about the desert and mountains of Morocco for over 25 years, invite you to discover their magical house guests - the true southern gem not to be missed. neat and tasty cuisine, natural products, organic and region. Cooking lessons and pastry offered (book) if arrive early afternoon. Activities from the Kasbah: - Bird watching with a telescope, foot walks in the gardens, mountain biking, canoeing on the lake, bivouac in the desert, camel crossings in the desert trek in the Atlas. Establishment: Green Key certified, trophy Responsible Tourism (Morocco, France, Spain), HACCP certification. 1 furnished room for disabled people (hospital bed, no door, wagon comfort) joellette walks in the gardens, walks in the desert with a special wagons attached to the back of a camel. Parking guarded 24 / 24. Garage for bikes. Airport shuttle and bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Daif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing