We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hospitality”
Review of Irocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irocha
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My spouse and I spent 4 nights at Irocha after some High Atlas hiking. The hospitality was outstanding, the food was amazing, and the views from the terrace over the green valleys were superb. There are many nooks around the outdoor terrace and gardens, so there are many places to escape if you want to read or contemplate in solitude. There are also several inviting areas to congregate and socialize with other guests. Because of these many "zones," the place never feels crowded even when it's full. The pool is very clean and well cared for. For those who enjoy an evening apéritif on the terrace, they offer full bar services to their guests without hesitation. Bottles of very good Moroccan wine are also available at dinner.

There are several short, easy hikes to take around the area, including some kasbah ruins perched on the cliff several hundred feet above guesthouse, the river valley below, and the hills across the river valley. Ahmed set us up with a Grand Taxi for the day to visit Telouet and Ait Benhaddou. The fee was paid by us directly to the taxi driver and was very reasonable. (Irocha is convenient to both of these sites.)

I have never been so well-cared for! Truly outstanding hospitality makes this a great place to hang out and relax after trekking and before a long trip home. (Our flight departed out of Ouarzazate.)

Room Tip: Book one of the suites if you are staying longer than a night or two. We enjoyed Room 1: spacious w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hubert_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived after a long flight then drive on our way to our Saharan excursion. The view was breathtaking!! Lovely patios and sun room - warm and welcoming. After a lovely hot tea we passed out by 7pm and stayed asleep until morning so we missed dinner. Our room was very authentic to the dwelling. Stone walls, comfy bed. Honestly we just passed out after almost 24 hrs of travel. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast of homemade yogurt, coffee or tea, juice toast and Pancake along with butter and jams. We left by 8am for our continued travel. Would have loved to explore and spend some more time here.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank sgowarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I arrived late after a full day of driving. I was feeling ill and took to bed for the evening. The owner and his staff were so nice and concerned about my condition. He even offered rosemary tea to help calm my stomach, and shared his vegetarian dinner with my husband. The rooms are a little small and dated, but the common areas, including the salon, pool and outside terrace were beautiful.

Irocha really understands the essence of hospitality.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are quite small. Go for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanGlobalGallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Four of us spent over two weeks in Moroco and we found this small, intimate hotel, but one that is very local in construction and architecturally interesting due to the use of local materials, to be our favorite. We are only sorry we spent one night here. The small staff were wonderful and the manager took us on aa hike through the local village and introduced us to local people, customs and the variety of vegetables being grown (and which we ate the same day).

Really, I can't say enough about Irocha! It's a jewel located in the foothils of the High Atlas!

Room Tip: Don't expect 4 Seasons luxury, just a wonderfully relaxing time with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

After a long drive from Merzhouga, we eventually found Irocha. It is in the village of Tisselday, about 15 km past Amerzgane on R9 going towards Marakesh from Ourzazate. There are a number of signs on the road and the green sign marks the beginning of a steep track up to the guest house/hotel. We were beat, but our hosts met us with an offer of tea and some time to relax, but getting to our room was a priority, which was met with grace. We went to the eating area and had a rest, and dinner soon followed. Very acceptable as we both had "Morocco stomach". The room, in spite of being on the road side, was very quiet and cool, so the A/C was not needed the first night. We wanted to backtrack to see the Dades Gorge and the road to Agdz, so we booked another night. Again, we arrived just at sunset, to be met with dinner - ready when we wished. We had a bottle of Sahari Red (better than Medallion in my opinion) and dinner, which was soup, a beef tajine, and dessert, arrived shortly. The second night was warmer and the A/C was effective and quiet. After a second very nice breakfast we left for Marrakesh. Our hosts were exceptional, the food was home made and very good, and the hotel itself is quiet and relaxing. There are great views over the valley from the terrace. Not cheap, but good value. We'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are on the road, but are still quiet. If you are a very light sleeper maybe try a diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wegetaround_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the end of our mountain and desert trip, organised through South Sahara Services.

This was a terrific and relaxing stay after our visit to the Sahara. We were the only guests but that added to the peace and calm. The guest house is tucked away up a steep track off the road down from Tizntchika pass. Set out with gardens, terraces, a pool and hamam, its a delightful and beautiful location. Abdullah is a charming host who fired the hamam for us to scrub the desert off ourselves below relaxing by the pool.

The good is good with nice little touches which raise it above the average traditional cuisine. They have a good wine list too. All of which is served with stunning views up the valley from I've of the multiple terraces.

Rooms are comfortable with good bathrooms and comfortable bedsand air conditioning though we didn't need it, due to the quality if the building keeping the room cool by traditional principles.

like most of these out of the way places, there is nowhere to go after dark, but the lounge is stocked with a variety if games and books, though we happily chatted with our host over a glad if wine and the ubiquitous mint tea, which was a delightful end to our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We decided to stay here only because of it's location, as we were driving to Essaouira the next day. It was a very pleasant experience, more like staying at someone's holiday house with staff than a hotel. I suppose it felt that way as we were the only one's staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
28.3 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
651 reviews
29.7 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
685 reviews
29 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
36.8 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
255 reviews
24.8 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#20 of 40 in Ouarzazate
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irocha

Address: Tisseldei 45250 | village de Tisselday, Ouarzazate 45250, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range: £22 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Irocha 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Maison d'hôtes` is situated in the village of Tisselday on the way from Marrakech to Ouarzazate, at 20 minutes from the Ait Ben Haddou ksar, 40 Minutes from Ouarzazate and 3 hours from Marrakech. It's a beautiful location in an authentic "pisé" village away from the crawded touristic places, a perfect base to discover the real berbere life of the south of Morocco. We have 10 rooms (all with private bathrooms with showers or bath). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Irocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing