We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth mentioning in a good way”
Review of La Perle Du Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Perle Du Sud
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth mentioning in a good way”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Let's just say that if you like no wifi, hard beds in a room that's been smoked in (the airconditioning still breathes the smell) and a callgirl at the entrance, you're good here. The service is allright but other than that, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Oh, and the swimming pool looses sunlight after 16.30h.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KareldV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    31
    45
    23
    24
See reviews for
32
47
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lu, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

As this was the 1st night for our Exodus tour, we booked in for another night the day before the tour, in order to see a bit of Ouazzarzate. NOTE: We booked a Junior suite using one of the Tripadvisor search engines, as one of them had a price of 40 euros, which is less than the 500 dirhams for a standard room on the hotel website rates list!

The suite was huge, with a lovely outdoor balcony.
As others have noted, the nighclub next door is very loud, bring earplugs!

The breakfast is average and suffers from bored-I-don't-care staff.

At the price we paid, it's a good hotel. If we'd had a standard room for the same price, I'd rate it a 1 star!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and always forund the staff most accommodating and helpful. The rooms vary in size and facilities so it's always worth checking them out before you decide which one you'd prefer. We stay mainly in January/Feb when it's not very busy and have always been treated very well. Internet booking has given us great value all the time.
The breakfasts are great and this year the evening meals have also been good, particularly the lamb tagine which has plenty of tender, tasty lamb and good vegetables. One tip for the choice of rooms - there is a night club and piano bar adjacent to the hotel on the ground-floor. These can get noisy late at night and, if you're an early-nighter, you might prefer a room at the back or side of the hotel - again, check your room choice first!

Room Tip: See above comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silversurfer6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It's not really a pearl of the South but it is an okay hotel for a stopover in Ouarzazate. The rooms are a bit outdated but clean. Breakfast was good, with pancakes which were made at the breakfastbuffet. The location is fine, you easily can get to the main square in Ouarzazate and are on the right side of the town for a visit to the filmstudios.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We ended up staying at La Perle Du Sud on the first night of our tour through the desert because the air conditioning broke down at another hotel we were originally going to stay at in Ourzazate. Given the terrible experience we'd had at the other hotel, our expectations for this hotel were incredibly low. La Perle Du Sud met our expectations, however low they were, so I don't have too much to complain about.

I can't comment much on the location as we weren't in Ourzazate for long, but the hotel itself is average-looking. Rooms are reasonably clean and had decent amounts of space. The room was fine for one night, although I wouldn't have wanted to stay another night as the air conditioning was weak (though working) and the rooms are quite tired-looking. There was a huge party going on downstairs on the night we were there but with ear plugs, the sound wasn't much of an issue. Breakfast was decent and service was generally good enough (though not out-of-this-world good).

The only annoying thing other than the weak air conditioning was the locks on the doors, which made it easy for guests to lock themselves out of the room (which happened to us once). The nice thing was that the staff were quick to come up and help us get back into our room, so I can't complain about speed or efficiency in that regard.

Generally speaking, if you're in Ourzazate for one night, this place will do the trick if you're not looking for anything luxurious for the night. I wouldn't recommend it for more than one night though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were advised to take this hotel. First we got a room wich had a terrible smell. After complaining we got a new one. In the new room, the airconditioning didn't work. After complaining it wasn't fixed. The dinner was a laugh, tasteless soup, a few pieces of meat called a mixed grill, and a banana, a plum and a orange for desert, without any preparation.
The next morning, our shower appeared to lack hot water. After a lot of complaining we received a discount.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NL_Leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ouarzazate hotels

Budapest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

There must be two "La Perle du Sud " hotels in Ourzate. Otherwise how would it be possible, that while some people say, it is terrible, horror place, etc, - We enjoyed every moment of our stay here!

WE spent a night here before continued our trip to Dades Valley, and we also stopped here on our way back.

I do not know what peole think . This is not a five stars hotel, not a holiday hotel, this is a nice three stars stopover hotel!!!!

Absolutely OK for 1-2 nights before continuing our trip to the Valleys, to the Desert.

Our room was clean, nice, with a big bathroom and a balcony. Bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed the TV's music chanel.
The hotel is nicely decorated - yes , the decoration is dark , but nice.
Breakfast was completely enough for thos, who usually have a normal breakfast.
Swimming pool is small, but enogh for those who are after/before a long trip and want to refresh themselves.

I recommend the good located hotel for those who want a correct service for a reasonable price.
There is nothing wrong with La Perle du Sud.

And, if you are not satisfied with your room, just ask for another at the reception..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karamella54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
3.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#23 of 40 in Ouarzazate
71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel marmar
Hotel marmar
#11 of 40 in Ouarzazate
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ouarzazate Le Riad
Hotel Ouarzazate Le Riad
#34 of 40 in Ouarzazate
152 reviews
27.9 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#5 of 40 in Ouarzazate
254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zaghro Hotel
Zaghro Hotel
#17 of 40 in Ouarzazate
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perle Du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perle Du Sud

Property: La Perle Du Sud
Address: BP 634, 39 / 40 Blvd Mohamed V, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perle Du Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Perle Du Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing