We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French/Berber hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
guest house Kasbah Ellouze
Ranked #4 of 61 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We only had one night here but I would happily have stayed longer. It is a fascinating region with plenty to do (and the hosts Michel and Collette will help you out with suggestions and arrangements) and the Kasbah itself is comfy and welcoming. Like all Moroccan hotels it is full of terraces and little hidey holes in which to relax. There is a small pool, though we did not have time to try it out. Food in the evening was excellent. Yup, it is a bit more dusty and rural than some other hotels, but it is in an arid rural region, I'd be surprised if it wasn't. Our room was right at the top of one of the towers and had two bedrooms, fantastic views, a sitting room and a small terrace. Bathroom was clean with a good shower. One of the most amazing things was to lie in bed watching the stars out of the window, though as i was shattered from a long day I did not manage to savour that for every long! Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which is a suite and would happily accommodate a family with three children. It did h...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishcari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for guest house Kasbah Ellouze
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have given Kasbah Ellouze 4/5 because in some areas it is 5/5 and in some I would say 3/5. Would We stay again - yes. Would we recommend to a friend - yes. Did we enjoy our stay - yes. But nonetheless you should read the review below in case any of the pros or cons are deal makers or breakers for you.

Pros

A wonderful setting with spectacular views.
Very easy booking process and helpful email communications.
Very friendly and welcoming owners and staff.
Delicious home cooked food.
A swimming pool!
Nice internal and external communal areas.
Good wifi in the communal areas (courtyard, pool, terraces)
Huge room (ours was a suite, we didn't see any other rooms) with awesome views and good a/c.
Small village with ruined Kasbah to explore.
Generally quiet and relaxing.

Cons

Quite a few flies in our room.
Room was a little bit dusty
A couple of other little things like the toilet roll looked as though it had got wet (hopefully not by falling into the toilet) and been dried out which I isn't great.
Not big things.

I should also say in the defence of Kasbah Ellouze that many of these cons would ordinarily put us off completely but as it turned out they were minor blemishes on an otherwise very enjoyable one night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamAndCrakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As another writer mentioned, this property is about 10 minutes from Eit Benhaddou in a lovely oasis like setting. Birds of all kinds, storks in particular, are everywhere. We wanted to see the desert but not travel all the way out into the desert so Kasbah Ellouze was a good choice for us.
We got up early one morning (before it got too hot) and walked 'through the jardin' to Eit Benhaddou. This walk was one of the highlights of the trip as we wandered through fields of barley while women harvested the crops just as they have done for hundreds of years. A warning though, there is no clearly marked trail so you have to orient yourself the whole way to the ruins.
We regret passing on the chance to make bread with a local family and would encourage other travelers to try that out.

Room Tip: We had a twin room on the lower level near the pool. There was a terrace above our room but guests...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The very unassuming entrance leads to a true oasis! No frills, no non-sense but clean and comfortable run by a French couple. We had an excellent dinner on the terrace. The chicken Tagine was an experience. O yes, don't forget the swimming pool. Do not pass this spot!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have visited Kasbah Ellouze on a number of occasions over the last few years. It is not actually located in Ait Benhaddou but instead is in a small hamlet - Tamdaght - about 10 minutes drive away. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable but nothing special however it is the overall ambiance of this wonderful crumbling village and the exceptional hospitality of Michel and Colette that makes this place a winner. If you plan to visit, try to spend 2 nights so you can relax, enjoy the terraces and pool as well as the great food which, with French owners, is a cut above many roads and hotels in Morocco.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We wanted somewhere to stay near Eit Benhaddou and we could not have chosen anywhere more perfect. A good, quiet location and the ability to walk around the valley below without being hassled. Fantastic welcome from owners who wanted to ensure all guests had a good time. Pool was beautiful, service good, excellent drink selection and an incredibly good dinner with superb meal quality. Really authentic experience - next to village and camels next door. Only 5 mins from Eit Benhaddou and 30 mins from Ouarzazate.

I travelled with my three young children who were welcomed too.

I regret that we were only there for one night and look forward to returning one day soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexFulham_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

What a wonderful place, too bad we only had one night to enjoy! The building is an old restored Kasbah, and the decor is exotic with the zellij mosaic tiles, curtains, cushions, open air courtyard, and a beautiful view plus pool to boot.

The owners were quite lovely, and greeted us with mint tea and some conversation. My french is almost non-existent and their english is limited, but it didn't prevent us from having a nice chat. Their B&B is really beautiful, and the service was top-notch. Dinner was excellent (served in a dramatic setting, with great music and wine), and breakfast the next am was very good. Two small issues: 1) the hot water stopped in the middle of the my shower in the am (the owners were quite upset and offered to fix it asap, or give us another room to shower but we were in a rush to our next destination. I am sure they would have made it perfect for us if we had more time.), and 2) the room/blankets/pillows had a musty/dusty smell to them - not a big issue, but it was noticeable. I guess with all the dust outside, it is unavoidable! We still had a wonderful rest.

Also, don't miss the opportunity to bake bread with the berber sisters, Lalla Kbira and Lalla Fatima. It was so interesting, and they are such simple and nice people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouarzazate
18.0 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
619 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ksar Ljanoub
Ksar Ljanoub
#1 of 3 in Ait Ben Haddou
50 reviews
20.1 mi away
Dar Daif
Dar Daif
#1 of 61 in Ouarzazate
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Riad Caravane
Riad Caravane
#2 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
323 reviews
18.3 mi away
Le Petit Riad
Le Petit Riad
#3 of 61 in Ouarzazate
429 reviews
3.2 mi away
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
#1 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to guest house Kasbah Ellouze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about guest house Kasbah Ellouze

Address: Tamdaght - Ait Ben Haddou - BP 637 | A 5 Km Apres Ait Ben Haddou Direction Telouet, Ouarzazate 45100, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range: £48 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — guest house Kasbah Ellouze 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast, Kasbah Ellouze, is located next to the Kasbah of Tamdaght, former residence of Glaoui, formerly the reigning Lord of the area.Authenticity and simplicity are the order of the day in this splendid g e intimate, calm and relaxing atmosphere. The familiar surroundings of a comfortable hotel await you.Owners Colette and Michel, hoteliers and restaurateurs, permanently installed, give all their soul in the house, with their smile and their availability.Air conditioning, heating, open spaces or intimate corners, doted on by an attentive staff living the reality of total immersion in a universe of astounding authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your guest house Kasbah Ellouze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Ellouze Hotel Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing