We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring a Hair Dryer & Extension Cord”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Bring a Hair Dryer & Extension Cord”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This was my second Ibis in Morocco and very similar to the first. Rooms remind me of my dorm in college--small and utilitarian. It's perfectly adequate for a short stay, but if you have more than 2-3 days, I'd stay somewhere more comfy. I always bring my own hair dryer and extension cord and I needed both as the only outlet was across the room under a shelf and the hotel only has 2 hair dryers for borrow. Good news is they have a nice location, a pool and very good free wifi.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CyberAynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    216
    159
    61
    38
See reviews for
76
254
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
526 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

If you've stayed in an Ibis Hotel in Morocco, you won't be surprised. It looks just about the same once you are in your room - if you can get in your room. Like all the Ibis hotels I've stayed at, we had significant key card problems - one being that once you go down to breakfast in the morning, your card will not work when you return to your room requiring a return trip to the reception area for a re-charge. After awhile, I just routinely stopped at the desk to get my card re-charged before I went up to my room. At least at this hotel, we didn't have anyone else entering our room with their key card as we had in Casablanca. (Note: if you have the fortune of obtaining two cards for your room - a rarity - make sure you re-charge them simultaneously or one will cancel out the other). The rooms are small and clean with a nice LCD TV and the typical plastic carpet. There is very little room to place two suitcases so once again, we lined them up in front of the door which doubles as security against patrons who accidentally get keys to your room (see other Ibis reviews). The bathrooms are small and clean with a nice shower. At this Ibis, we were given only one thin, rough and yellowed bath towel per person and one tiny bar of soap and two wee shampoo packets. We had one typically scrawny roll of toilet paper. There is no hair dryer. When we inquired at the desk, we found out that for a hotel with 104 guest rooms, there are two hair dryers which you can borrow from the desk and which were of course, always on loan. Like our other Ibis hotels, the A/C did not work requiring us to open both the window and the door of our room to create a cross breeze. Moroccans are typically a noisy lot which is enjoyable when you're out and about during the day but not when you are trying to sleep. Constant noise or suffocation from lack of air was a difficult choice. As I've said in previous reviews, the food at 'tourist' hotels seems geared toward tourist palettes - nothing special - no fun Moroccan spices. This hotel was a wee exception with some slightly spicier offerings at dinner including a surprisingly good beef dish. Unfortunately, three tour busloads of people attempting to get dinner in this tiny narrow dining room simultaneously resulted in a line of 15-20 minutes snaking through the tables and I had the misfortune on the first evening of arriving at the buffet just as one hot dish was emptied and the kitchen was still working on a refill requiring a second 15 minute trip through the line for additional food. Breakfast was a bit less time intensive but the offerings were rather slim. If you are happy with a clean bed you will be satisfied at the Ibis. The price is right. Three stars for a clean room and good location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewelsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at Mercure after a disappointing night at the Berber Palace, Ouazarzate. I have to say that Mercure was much better value than Berber Palace (around 800 Dh for a room at the Mercure vs. 2300 for a room at the Berber Palace). However, the tired attitude and facilities were still a let down. This seems to be an endemic problem of Ouazarzate.
We found the staff throughout the hotel to be quite sullen. Definitely not eager to welcome guests at check-in. We asked about the internet connection - "The connection is down. Go next door to get Wifi in the lobby of the Ibis". No apology, not a hint of regret. In the morning at breakfast, there was a buffet for self-service. That is fine. But the staff went about their business without greeting any guests - as if we were an obstacle to their work. I understand self-service is self service, but failure to reply to "salam alaikum" can only be interpreted as a snub. The food was very stale. The moroccan crepe was completely hard - inedible. It was in every way inferior from the fresh food that we could find at any cheap stall in Morocco. I guess that's why the staff can't take any pride in their situation.
On reflection, we should have stayed at the Ibis, immediately next door - almost half the price for a room there (420 Dirhams).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was a dreadful hotel! The rooms were dingy and smelt of toilets, the pool dirty, the fountain courtyard half full of rancid smelly water, the breakfast inedible (bread still frozen in the middle) and the staff just shrugged at any complaints. Appalling!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamBerkshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ouarzazate hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
portugal
Level Contributor
241 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

On the plus side the hotel is well situated overlooking the beautiful old kasbah and is designed so it blends in well with its surroundings. It also has a large swimming pool. Unfortunately, like many Ibis hotels the beds are like concrete and you will wake up bruised all over. The meals including breakfast are poor and certainly not worth the money and some of the staff can be surly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We liked our nights in this hotel in February 2008. The hotel has a very specific lay-out with a real Moroccan atmosphere. Check-in was fine, breakfast was very good, rooms were okay so it was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Our tour operator booked us into the Ibis late one night after our reservation at a local riad fell through. We had chosen the riad in order to enjoy a more Moroccan experience, but given the late hour, the predictable quality of the Ibis was most welcome. The rooms are basic but adequate--clean, good lighting, quiet, etc. The food at the hotel restaurant--both for breakfast and dinner was better than expected. The availability of wireless was surprising--and welcome. Great choice for budget-minded travelers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackovita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#22 of 40 in Ouarzazate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
28.8 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#4 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate

Property: Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Address: Avenue Moulay Rachid, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate hotel is located in the centre of Ouarzazate, close to the desert, 5 km from the airport. The hotel has 104 air-conditioned rooms, including 2 adapted for disabled persons. You can also book 1 meeting room. The LA TABLE restaurant, a bar, a terrace, a swimming pool and free private outdoor parking are at your disposal. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate Hotel Ouarzazate
Accor Moussafir Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing