We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a short stopover but not a long stay”
Review of Ametis Club Karam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ametis Club Karam
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“ok for a short stopover but not a long stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

If you are travelling further South this is fine for a nights stay -though I highly advise not to book a weeks full board as I have just done .This was my third stay in this Hotel & will be my last .The food was very poor probably due to the fact that there were very few fellow tourists & unfortunately a strike took place which left us with few staff so the kitchens & bars were not running as they might have been .Very disappointing :c

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarandspice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    41
    9
    8
See reviews for
24
40
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puylaurens
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

The Ametis Club is very close to the old town and ideally located. The accommodation is a series of low buildings dotted about a very pretty garden where you can relax. It has a lovely pool , free internet in the lobby and extraordinarily helpful staff, you simply have to ask.
The rooms are usually suites with two bedrooms, a sitting room &, large bathroom. There is also a space for a kitchenette and patio outside. It is true that the bathrooms and carpets are past their best but everything is spotless, the linen fresh and the space fantastic. I would say this is the perfect spot for a family with two or even three children. For the adults the main plus is the music in the evenings: two talented young Berber musicians play most evenings and this attracts the local amateur singers who join in and really offer a fantastic Moroccan musical evening which is not at all touristy, a rare treat indeed. We looked at all the local hotels and the Ametis Club is without doubt the best, both in value for money, space and service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fussytraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

stayed 1 night just before early morning flight...didn't book, just rolled up to the front desk. After checking in to our room, the main computer went down and we couldn't access our rooms with pass keys for several hours. BUT the front desk and reception was more than willing to find the GM who had a master key - we did this several times until the problem was fixed. Stuffy room and A/C was ineffective. However clean and amazing water pressure! tired breakfast, abismal coffee (luke warm and weak). Getting a bit long in the tooth - needs some repainting here and there, new pool lounges, decor freshening. Huge pool and lovely gardens were well attended. We took advantage of the hotel bar - nicely chilled Casablanca beer. All in an OK place if you want the surroundings of a big box chain hotel. Staff were lovely and helpful when we needed to make some long distance calls but the price of the phone calls were outrageous.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEXICO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

I booked this hotel through a travel agent webpage, it look great and very cheap price a night it also included breakfast and dinner for 2 persons so it was great value,
However this hotel`s areas are very much rundown (what can we expect for such a price and specially when we are traveling on a tied budget !), however we were assigned a two bedroom suite with a living room, it was clean, the breakfasts was ok, the dinner just ok but one night it was more than excellent , we paid additional for moroccan wine which was a pleasant surprise in Morocco, the moroccan wine Sahari and Ksar is excellent, the waiters were very attentive, very nice, the waiter captain was very polite and profesional,
with all of these we overlooked the hotel areas were much run down, since the suite was big and clean, after all we spent the two days outside.

At first we did not know how to move around in Ouarzazate and how to go to the desert towards Zagora, the hotel here did not have any information desk and the front desk staff was not informative at all, we did not have the language problem since I speak french also, the first day we took a petit taxi to visit Ait Benadou Kasbah but the driver did not speak much french or english or spanish so I had the phrases I learned in arabic though it was interesting after all since this is when one realizes being in another country, we were very fortunate to find a tour guide on the main square , Lovely Travel, he spoke our language (spanish) among many other languages we could tell, he was polite and very profesional so we did not hesitate to hire him for the day to take us to Zagora and the dunes, Abdoul Bennany is the best tour guides I have ever met, he took us in his 4X4 all day, we did not have to ask anything since it seems he new exactly what we were looking for to see, this made our visit to Ouarzazate and unforgettable one, and we did not have to rent a car ouselves and loose any time trying to find things and what to see,

Traveling on a budget the visit to Ouarzazate overpassed our expectations by staying at this hotel and finding Abdoul,

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZERMENOCANCUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithuania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Framissima Karam hotel in Ouarzazate - great hotel, can recommend to anyone. The location is good, in the center of Ouarzazate, walking distance to everything. The hotel itself very clean, spacious rooms, very nice pool. The staff helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great too, huge choice of pastries, pancakes, cereal. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious room, location, breakfast
  • Disliked — everything was great
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezuela
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

I made an 8 minute call to Venezuela, South America and they charged me 100 EUROS!!!!!
Everything in Morocco is very cheap, so 100 euros over there is extremely expensive!
They didn´t even know the rates beforehand so I made the mistake of calling. It took them 2 days to find out the rates they were charging.
They were very aggresive in this matter.
Also, the food was horrible, the air conditioner didn´t work and the bathroom had a terrible permanent smell of pee.

  • Disliked — aggresive staff, permanent smell of pee in the bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ouarzazate hotels

Amsterdam, Holland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2007

With our tour we stayed one night in this Hotel. It is built as a kasba, with a lot of different buildings in a garden. The rooms are very big, with separate sittingroom, and i had also a connection with a kitchenette. It was all very clean. The water was hot.

Unfortunately the breakfast was very poor, with little to eat except bread and jam.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhutantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
7.1 mi away
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
0.9 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amlal
Hotel Amlal
#24 of 40 in Ouarzazate
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmeraie
Palmeraie
#36 of 40 in Ouarzazate
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ametis Club Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ametis Club Karam

Property: Ametis Club Karam
Address: Moulay Rachid, Ouarzazate BP 311, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ametis Club Karam 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ametis Club Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing