We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“200 people”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Erg Chebbi

Erg Chebbi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.30*
and up
Sunset Camel Ride in the Merzouga Dunes
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Rissani
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“200 people”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

What started off just my group, the four of us, was nice. We rode the camels to the dunes to watch the sun set. We laughed as the camels rose and started walking. Once we got to the top of the dunes for sun set along came 200 other people on camels. It became crowded and lost its magic. Then the sand blew in. Our private dinner at our luxury tent was a bust. We went to bed in the tents and woke up with an inch of dirt all over us and everything. Not worth the cost but it was a once in a life time adventure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bealight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    25
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is one of the highlights of our trip to Morocco. We rode camels and camped overnight with Authentic Morocco - we then woke up early the next morning to see the sunrise over the dunes. Even while we were there, it was a like a dream. Awesome experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AmericanExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great dune and camel experience”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Erg Chebbi is a piece of desert just off Merzouga.
This is a very nice and easy way to have a little desert experience. Most visitors come with tours from Marrakech or Fez which is the easiest and fastest way to arrange things. But you can also come on your own directly to Merzouga and arrange from their hotels the same thing.

The tours with guides of one overnight consist of going by camel into the desert dunes for about 1-2 hours at the end of the day. You arrive close to a camp just on time to watch the sun set, and are left time for taking pictures while the guides prepare the tents and the dinner. After you are shown the tents and eaten dinner, the guides will play some berber sounds and you are left with the amazing star sky.

Depending on the time of the year, it might be warm enough to sleep outside the tent under the superb sky which I totally recommend. Since you are out of sight from the village, the darkness is complete.
There are not many snakes in the desert, but you will definitely see beatles and maybe small scorpion. But the guides don't seem worried at all, as there haven't been at all issues with tourists being bitten.

The day after, you awake up before the sun rise and start the trip back to the village.

Bottom-line: perfect experience for desert beginners, if you want more days into the wild, Algeria has far better remote places.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surreal.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Visiting here was one of the hilights of our trip in Morocco. Once you get out into the dunes you really feel like you are on another planet. When the wind stops the silence is overwhelming (when there aren't the sounds of 4x4's off in the distance). We camped overnight in traditional Berber tents and it was fantastic. I think some people over-hyped the amount of stars viewable at night in other reviews though.It was gorgeous and clear but definitely not "dark sky preserve quality". I think there is too much light pollution from nearby Rissani and Merzouga - but who am I to complain, you're sleeping under the stars in the middle of the Sahara! This place is worth the drive. Definitely add it to your itinerary.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JesetJou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like an Apple screen saver!!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Very cool-- everything I expected it to be. We were on camels and spent the night in Berber tents. A great experience. It might seem touristy, but it was really fun. Glad we did it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 57BUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Erg Chebbi also viewed

Merzouga, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Merzouga, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Erg Chebbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing