We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ali made all the difference!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Restaurant Chez Ali
Ranked #10 of 32 Zagora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Ali, the owner of this sparkling hotel, is an entrepreneur who, from my observations over three days, does all he can to meet the needs of his guests. Nothing seemed too much trouble- he even took my husband to find beer in his own car- although he would not enter the shop! We had in a colourful, comfortable ensuite, reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels we stayed in; the balcony overlooked a jewel of a garden- bougainvillaea in all colors and a bright pool in the distance. The food was unsophisicated but tasty. Chez Ali does offer trips into the desert to visit the stunning desert dunes which are particularly photogenic at sunset. Our excellent guide, Yuissef Bcandi, drove us in a 4x4 on a day trip into the desert- he did everything he could to help us experience the Sahara. He also cooked for us a lunch in the desert which was one of the best meals we had in Morocco! Ali does have a well equiped camp near the dunes and I'm sure a night there would be an excellent experience. It does have a loo! We are certainly hoping to return to this hotel- it is special.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel building with a balcony overlooking the garden are the tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed for one night in the shared bathroom garden rooms which were really cute little hobbit houses we thought! The gardens are stunning and the pool which we didn't use as it was December must be great when it's warmer. There is clearly a lot of building work going on which is why we didn't want to take a room in the main building but it didn't spoil our stay at all. There are a lot of nice shared social spaces here so I think during the busier seasons it could be quite social. Clearly a lot of thought and care has gone into this place. We did eat here and for some reason I was expecting better than what we got. The food was nice but no better than other places we had eaten on the trip although it was more expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed at Chez Ali last week - it offers good quality, clean accommodation at very affordable prices. I stayed in one of the garden tents which was incredibly good value for someone with a smaller budget. The garden and pool are beautiful and offer a great environment to relax, read and feel at home. It is a family-run business and all the staff were extremely friendly and polite and couldn't do enough to make me feel welcome.
Through the Auberge I organised an excursion to the desert. I chose to go by camel (they can organise 4x4 trips if you prefer) and the whole trip was incredible. The guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about the desert. He knew the best places to take us, without ending up surrounded by other tourists (in fact we didn't see or hear anyone else the whole time), and he cooked really great food. The camels are clearly looked after very well.
This places is great - I would recommenced it to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really nice and cheap, it has a great swimming pool but no hot water in the showers.
Their problem is their attitude which seems to be really unpleasant if you don't take one of their deals to the Sahara desert. You can even feel the difference in the way they treat the guests who sleep in the more expensive rooms than the ones who don't.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daf270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I came to zagora with my friend and we were planning to see the desert somehow but we did not know where to start; Omar from Chez Ali was very persistent when we came off the bus and after seeing another hotel which was appallingly dirty we decided to go to Chez Ali. It is a beautiful place and we liked it instantly. The price can be very reasonable if you care to sleep under the stars on the terrace or in one of the shared garden rooms about 4euro. The staff are very eager to help and will go out of their way to arrange a desert tour or take you for a walk down to the pretty river in the palmerie. The pool is fantastic and so necessary in the hotter weather. The food is yummy too! I would thoroughly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Its fine on the terrace, we didnt have a room but i peeked inside and they look nice and comfy and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Miki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Chez Ali is a great place to stay while preparing for a deserttrip. The garden is magnificent and so is the swimmingpool. The people running the auberge are cool and will help you with everything, also with arranging a deserttrip.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AM_S66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel is on the outskirts of Zagora in a quiet street which make it and excellent place to stay. They recently added a very nice swimming pool in the lush gardens, great for the summer months (just a bit too cold in April). Staff is very friendly and helpfull
Hotel is being expanded at the moment, but this has little impact on the guests. The current rooms could use a refresh, but I guess the current investment is in the new part of the hotel rather than existing rooms.
Chez Ali offers a dessert trip to their own tents at the Erg Chigaga dunes. Not the cheapest option in town, but quality wise it was very good. We had a driver/guide Youssef who’s an excellent 4x4 driver, knowledgeable and fun. The camp was straight at one of the big dunes so we climbed up there to see the sunset over the Sahara. One of those images you’ll never forget.
Overall desert trip is slightly higher quality than the hotel which balances it out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LukeFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagora hotels
34.9 mi away
Hotel Tabarkat
Hotel Tabarkat
#1 of 12 in Zagora
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kasbah Sirocco
Kasbah Sirocco
#3 of 12 in Zagora
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Lamane
Riad Lamane
#2 of 12 in Zagora
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Perle du Draa
La Perle du Draa
#8 of 12 in Zagora
76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Karim Sahara
Karim Sahara
#5 of 32 in Zagora
83 reviews
35.8 mi away
Chez le Pacha
Chez le Pacha
#15 of 32 in Zagora
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Restaurant Chez Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Restaurant Chez Ali

Address: Avenue Atlas-Zaouite, Zagora 47900, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Zagora
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zagora
Price Range: £27 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Restaurant Chez Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing