We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure amidst the Palmery”
Review of Riad Lamane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Lamane
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Zagora
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed in an attractive traditional "cottage" with balcony on the roof with view of the village and palmery. There is no TV in the room, amenities consisted of 2 small soaps and satchets of shampoo. No coffee making faciliteis but there is a fridge. We managed to get wi fi connection in our room.

Discounted rate included breakfast (average) and delectable dinner (selection of set menus) in a cosy berber tent. In spite of a smattering of English, the friendly staff understood our needs and was accommodating.


The unique layout (garden, small swimming pool, architecture) of this Riad and location appeal to us. In the evening we had a pleasant time exploring the village amongst the oasis of palms. Camel rides can be arranged.

Submitted by;
See Toh Chue Peng/Jeremy Savill
Malaysia/United Kingdom

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seetohchuepeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend, and their website looked inviting. We were, however, enormously disappointed. Bad service, terrible food, salty coffee, and questionable cleanliness.
Quite overpriced when there are better choices in the area. Maybe it's seen better days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raphaella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After a trip in the south of Morocco and three days of bivouac in the desert this was like arriving in heaven.The place is great and our best hotel expierience in Morocco.This will become our regular stop when coming to Zagora.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We spent a night here, escaping the 47C sun!

The place is promising, but could do so much better - the pool was a little dirty, the pool chairs were accessed by climbing over a low fence, and again, weren't that clean.

The room was good (suite), but the bathroom was a bit rough and ready, the taps didn't match up and the design was a bit odd - difficult to not flood the bathroom when showering.

The cafe/bar wasn't always staffed, and there was no easy way to locate someone.

The restaurant food was good, but the menu didn't have prices, so we thought it was a set menu (ie one price, for 3 courses) and it wasn't - bill on leaving was itemised! The staff were a bit abrupt.

Is it a good hotel - yes. But it was the worst of 9 we stayed in on our trip, easily.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Riad La Mane is more of a resort than a riad. Actually, it has the perfect combination of a resort, a riad, a hotel, and a nature preserve all in one.

We were lucky enough to be put here by our tour agency and were so extremely glad we chose this over the option of camping in a tent elsewhere.

The riad is built within a palm grove and instead of building over nature, it has built around it instead. Upon entering the riad, you feel like you're in an oasis, walking down man-made pathways but still surrounded by palm trees and the sounds of birds.

The riad consists of individual domed clay buildings looking almost like huts. As long as you're double occupancy, you should be put in one of these private huts. You also have your own private terrace above the hut!! That was the cherry on top =) The hut inside is beautifully decorated with many clay and wood elements. The shower is quite unique and large. There are colored windows that filter the sunlight and the king size bed is quite comfortable. You have a mini fridge, a very generous sized wardrobe made of beautiful wood and iron details and there is a powder table for the ladies to prepare themselves in the morning.

The dinner was also quite good. We were so sick of the typical tagines and were very glad to have the choice of omeletes. Although I still had to choose the tagine as the main course since I am vegetarian, the quality exceeded many of the others we had. The service was also very attentive.

There is a small pool on the grounds, although unheated (I doubt that's a problem in their hot summers), there is also a lovely library, gift shop and a bar. The only issue that I could see anyone possibly having with this place is that there are ants in the rooms. I don't believe that this is an issue of cleanliness but rather that the riad is part of nature and you have to expect that certain elements such as ants or other insects will be present. That is part of the experience.

I highly recommend this riad. It is one of the most beautiful and characteristic of any that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aphroditehalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

i really like it, it was a great experience, great food,amazing staff, wonderfull place, awesome roomes, riad lamane really deserve to visit well really enjoyed our time There hopefuly won't be the Last time, thanks for all the staff... <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadLamane, Responsable relations clients at Riad Lamane, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Hello ?
Thank you very much for your comments here and for choosing us for your stay. We always try to make our guests feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you next time.
sincerely
Fatima Yassine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

using the riad as our point of no return on our trip into the sahara, we discovered this precious jewel which is build in a palm grove. the garden and houses, all made of loam, seem to rest in such a peaceful coexistence, that this place offers a good chance for recreation.
the rooms have unique and different styles which resemble berber art. the meals are tasty for reasonable prices and the service was very courteous and friendly.
we even came back for a day after our trip from the desert and definitely will visit again :)
thank you riad lamane!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagora hotels
0.9 mi away
Kasbah Sirocco
Kasbah Sirocco
#1 of 13 in Zagora
108 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Perle du Draa
La Perle du Draa
#8 of 13 in Zagora
78 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stargazing Hotel Sahara Sky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Asmaa
Palais Asmaa
#9 of 13 in Zagora
187 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Sauvage Noble
Le Sauvage Noble
#4 of 13 in Zagora
45 reviews
35.1 mi away
Hotel Tabarkat
Hotel Tabarkat
#2 of 13 in Zagora
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lamane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lamane

Address: Zagora, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Zagora
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Zagora
Price Range: £62 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Lamane 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Lamane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lamane Zagora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing