We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best way to enjoy the desert”
Review of La Perle du Draa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Perle du Draa
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Zagora
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Broadly speaking we were always in the search of three basic elements which are; the life style of different people and the most interesting norms and tradition but also life in the desert This is why we single out the south of Morocco i mean ouarzazate Zagora and Mahamid
We land in ouarzazate airport named we passed three days discovering the city and the culture of berbers tribes furthermore we rent a car in a local agency called AMZROU TRANSPORT it also organizes tours to the desert our last direction is the valley Draa we passed some of unforgettable days in this beautiful city enjoying the soft of its colors and the love of its population we were in a hotel called la perele du Draa .in fact it reflects its real name with there qualified services and workers but we enjoyed more it’s large swimming pool the silence is the title of the place for all the families who are looking for the calm our two kids were extremely happy especially with the excursion which proposed by the hotel in the vast desert of chegaga

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgarmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 78 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 10 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 April 2008

My husbond is Morrocan and we have done many trips within Morocco, so we have thorough experience with the country and the inhabotants as well.

Perle du Draa is a hotel which I would not really recommend. We had booked it based on the internet, but when we came there the darkness of the hotel and the sanddust which was in the rooms did not leave a good impression. Having missed the lunch we asked for a meal and the hotel promised us a Tagine. It was our fault that we did not ask about the price beforehand, but usually prices in Morocco are quite reasonable, so when the bill came up with 350 Dirham - it was absolutely outrageous. Further the usual morrocan hospitality and kindness was missing.

The only thing the hotel can be used for is the excursion to M'hamid where you can discover the desert. A very good thing to do. Zagora itself is of no interest and we didn't enjoy the atmosphere here. M'hamid did not either seem to provide hotel alternatives.

An alternative to Møhamid is to concentrate on a desert visit from Merzouga and then live in the very pleasant village of Erfoud.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Visitor_unik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

We have just returned from touring Morocco and we stayed here for 3 nights. Before booking I couldn’t find any reviews whatsoever but we decided to book after having visited the website. At £140 for a double room for 2 of us half board it seemed a reasonable price.

We arrived by grande taxi from Marrakech and at first no one seemed to recognise the name. After explaining to our driver that the hotel wasn’t in the centre of Zagora and that it was 4km further on the route to M’Hamid he seemed to remember and we drove another 5 mins or so and then arrived. Not being in the centre of Zagora itself isn’t really a problem as there is nothing there apart from a couple of cafes, some grocery stores and some tourist transport agencies. Walking to Zagora itself is a bit too far although there were a couple of small shops in the village opposite the hotel which you could walk to in 10 mins.

On arrival we were greeted in English and taken upstairs and shown 3 rooms and asked which one we’d prefer. All the rooms are different sizes with different views so we plumped for 118 (the biggest and lightest with a view over the hotel’s main entrance – the ones that had a pool view were darker and smaller). The rooms are clean and functional with air con/cable tv & a balcony. The pool is lovely and refreshing and there are plenty of tables and chairs and about 12 or so sunbeds with parasols. This isn’t a place to come to if you like lots of action as there isn’t anything to do in the area in the evening. Most people come here simply as a base from which to go and explore the desert so we were heading off up to bed at around 9.30 each evening! The hotel does have a huge bar but unfortunately it only serves soft drinks which did seem like a bit of a waste to us!!!! Breakfast consists of the usual orange juice, pancakes bread & laughing cow cheese and a yoghurt. Dinner was something we never managed to get our heads around! Each day we were asked what we would like for dinner (soup/salad, chichen/beef tagine or cous cous. We normally had the soup (harira) which was lovely. The first night we asked for chicken tagine. The huge steaming bowls of harira were served with mounds of bread and we had to stop ourselves so that we could ensure that we had enough room for mains. A huge tagine was served upon us and as the lid was lifted off we gasped at the one drumstick and one wing inside!!! Presuming some cous cous was coming to accompany it we waited and waited…. After realising nothing else was coming we wolfed down the meat and eagerly awaited pudding. The second night we asked for chicken cous cous. Presuming the portions were to be as small we polished off the harira & a whole bowl of bread. The cous cous then came and again we gasped as there was enough food for an army! Night number 3 and we opted for the tagine hoping that the portions were the same as the night before and how wrong we were!!!! The waiter did ask us each day if we would like something extra for dinner (i.e pigeon clafoutis, pastilla) which he could buy for us for a small supplement. He also realised our fondness for beer and said that he could buy us some that would be put away in the fridge for us to have especially. Deciding not to look like alcoholics we declined. The hotel does have red wine which is actually quite nice if you fancy something a little stronger.

The hotel can also plan trips for you into the desert if you have not already done so. Whether you book at the hotel or in town all the prices seem to be the same.

All in all I would recommend this hotel as a good base. There are other hotels slightly nearer to the town (La Fibule & the Red) but we enjoyed the quiet location of ours - especially as the first night we were the only people staying in the hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank intrepidtraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YaGeek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Annesuperjaimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aventuretv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagora hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Lamane
Riad Lamane
#3 of 13 in Zagora
240 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kasbah Sirocco
Kasbah Sirocco
#1 of 13 in Zagora
107 reviews
34.3 mi away
Hotel Tabarkat
Hotel Tabarkat
#2 of 13 in Zagora
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Stargazing Hotel Sahara Sky
6.6 mi away
Le Sauvage Noble
Le Sauvage Noble
#4 of 13 in Zagora
43 reviews
0 mi away
Ksar Tinsouline
Ksar Tinsouline
#7 of 13 in Zagora
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perle du Draa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perle du Draa

Address: Route de Mhamid -Km 4 de Zagora, Zagora 47900, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Zagora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Zagora
Price Range: £24 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perle du Draa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perle Du Draa offers a large swimming pool, a spacious terrace and air-conditioned rooms with a balcony. Located near Zagora, it provides authentic accommodation and panoramic views.Guest rooms include an en suite bathroom, satellite TV and a telephone. They can welcome 1 to 4 guests. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas. La Perle Du Draa is an ideal base for visiting the sand dunes, oasis and ksours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Perle du Draa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perle Du Draa Zagora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing