We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere quiet and peaceful”
Review of El Encanto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Encanto
Ranked #16 of 51 Isla de Ometepe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Ometepe is slightly off the beaten track with little (cheap) transport to get around. Booking ahead does seem difficult but we booked and paid for our stay (mid-January 2013) at El Encanto at Tierra Tours in Granada. Presumably this circumvents the owner's preference to accepting an arrival in place of a booking that hasn't arrived yet. I guess he's been left empty by non-arrivals although this is no excuse for kat_immy's experience. Book it in Granada is the best solution although possible not foolproof!
On the other hand the rooms are o.k. but at $30 not the cheapest. The gardens and location are very relaxing but a bit of a quiet spot for most backpackers. A little off the main road, the restaurant's menu is of a good quality but skimpy in portion size and marginally more expensive than the Hotel del Sur next door. Next door is a couple of hundred metres in the pitch black so take a torch!
Arrive early to Playa Domingo and check all the hotels out but make sure you have at least 4 days to enjoy the freshwater lake, the pools, bicycles and volcanoes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

We booked a private room at this place for myself and my 13 year old daughter, six days prior to our scheduled arrival in January. I did this by a telephone call and also an email. During the telephone call I spoke to the English speaking owner so I know there was no communication problem. He confirmed our reservation and I'm pretty sure it was obvious that this was a genuine reservation.

The day before we were to arrive the manager sent an email giving me two hours to respond to confirm the reservation. As we were out doing things I did not receive the email until at night, I responded to advise we still wanted the room but he then replied the next day that he had given it to someone else and there were no more rooms available. He offered 2 dorm beds. At this stage I didn't realise that there are in fact many more and nicer options for places to stay or I would have told him to shove his dorm room up his jumper. I emailed back and said how disappointing it was that he had cancelled the reservation but we would book 2 dorm beds. He then emailed back 3 hours later saying they were not available.

I would never stay here (especially since we then ended up staying at the lovely Finca del Sol) or recommend it purely based on this disgusting, utterly mercenary and clearly money hungry management. I note the other poor reviews highlighting poor service etc. What an appalling way to treat people, and the manager/ owner could not have cared less that he had done the wrong thing or the impact and stress he caused. They should really wake up to themselves as a positive Lonely Planet review from 2009 does not guarantee a high occupancy rate in these times of instant reviews online eg. In trip advisor. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank kat_immy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at El Encanto for four nights. The rooms are basic, the cleanliness of the bathroom so-so. But the wonderful garden, the relaxing hammocks and the very friendly and welcoming owner completely make up for this. Having dinner in the open air restaurant while watching Volcán Concepción fade away into darkness, or having breakfast while hummingbirds and butterflies fly around is like being in paradise!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Domovla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Firstly, the island: Ometepe is not exactly the easiest of places to get around (be seriously careful with bus times if going down to the South East corner – we had a few issues, to say the least!!) but when you do work out how to get from A to B (if only by foot or a bike) the you are rewarded with spectacular treks and amazing views.

El Encanto is a hidden away little place that’s very quiet and peaceful. The views from the restaurant are amazing out over the lake and one of the volcanos. The room was adequate – what you’d expect in such a remote location – and the staff were friendly (only the owner spoke English…and he spoke it fluently!). The restaurant was nice but a little too quiet to eat there every night but the busier backpacker Hostel Santa Cruz is just down the road and has a nice restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very basic, but ok. The price is worth it. Theres a good restaurant but you cant pay with credit card. The host is great and owns a beautiful garden with all kind of flowers and fruits. If you want a tour, just ask him. The variety is much better than anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jospian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Fantastic location, welcoming owner (Carlos), good food and service.
Just 4 simple en-suite rooms (plus a separate dormitory) with views of both volcanoes, hammocks and a beautiful garden which Carlos will show you around.
A few minutes walk from the beach and local bus services.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richfolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Apathetic staff who seemed indifferent to our presence. We did not feel welcome at all. It's such a pity, because the room was very comfortable and spacious, and looked out onto a beautiful garden. The restaurant produced delicious meals but we were hesitant to eat there because of the vibe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Ometepe
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#2 of 61 in Isla de Ometepe
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto

Address: Correos de Nicaragua, Moyogalpa | Apdo. No. 06, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto provides you with comfort and service at an affordable price. Our spacious and pleasantly decorated rooms have private bathrooms, excellent ventilation, quality bedding and screened windows. View of both volcanoes and the lake, five minutes' walk from Playa Santo Domingo and within 6 kilometers of the most visited tourist destinations. The restaurant offers full service with an extensive menu including vegetarian dishes, whole grain bread and delicious coffee. English spoken. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel Isla De Ometepe
El Encanto Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing