We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well-trained horses, amazing scenery and a great guide”
Review of Haris'horses

Haris'horses
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Haris Horses provides guided horse tours on the island of Ometepe, Nicaragua. We recently built cabins on the ranch and offer Bed and Breakfast accommodations on our organic farm called Finca Montania Sagrada. Dinner is available on request.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“well-trained horses, amazing scenery and a great guide”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is one of my best riding-experiences while traveling- and I have been riding in all parts of the world since 25 years. The horses are in very good shape and well trained. Also the stables and equipment were well taken care off.
Harry is a very responsible horseman. He takes great care of his customers with respect of their different riding levels. No matter what level you are Harry will make sure you will feel comfortable and not over challenge you. He speaks Spanish, German Italian and English fluently and has great knowledge of the area and locals.
I liked the first ride to the waterfall so much that i immediately booked another one. The second one was a full day ride around the southern peninsula which took us through remote villages and stunning scenery finishing off with a bath with our horses in the lake.

This is an experience of a lifetime -no matter what age or riding level!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Britta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great outing with amazing horses and guide!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We loved this excursion on Isla Ometepe! The horses were so well trained and attentive. The trip to the waterfall was an adventure and Hari was extremely helpful throughout the planning. Our advice would be to stay overnight at Hari's to enjoy the area fully.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherinerowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenic Ride”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had few experience with horses but Hari's assistance was very hepfull. A fabulous ride by the margins of Ometepe lake into magnificent waterfalls in the mountain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntonioFonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stellar Family Adventure”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My family and stayed at Hari's finca for 3 nights. This review covers are house trek with Hari and one of his guides Xavier. Hari is a true horseman and he cares deeply for his animals. We saw many horses during our travels in Nicaragua and Hari's horses are by far the best. Hari's set us up with a horse for each of and took special care to select horses and gear for each of us. This attention was especially important because our two young sons with us. You know someone is doing their job well when a 5 year old with no experience can ride solo for two hours across rocky and narrow trails and there are no complaints from anyone. Kudos Hari and Xavier- a trip worth coming back to ometepe. Take the time to seek Hari out. You won't regret it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaskaKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved Harri's!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent 2 night's at Harri's Horses....it would have been nice to have one more. We did a kayak our first day which was fabulous....although it had been a dry season our kayak's had to be carried across a small portion ( they a local farmer do this for us) it was well worth it because it took you to an area to where there was lots of wildlife.
Thenext day Harri took us for a nice horse back ride....his horses were very well taken care of and he knew their habits well.
It was a great stay and the pasta dinner was fabulous!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jacquelinenara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haris'horses also viewed

Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 

Been to Haris'horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing