We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful peaceful place with delightful owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Turrialba, Costa Rica
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful place with delightful owners”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I strongly recommend staying here if you are visiting Ometepe. Eileen and Darrin will make you feel completely at home and are very concerned to make your stay comfortable. The accomodation is small but beautiful, just right for a couple, and the breakfast Eileen serves is a fantastic start to each day. Although it's located at the base of the Maderas volcano, Via Verde's balcony has a fantastic direct view to the Concepcion volcano. There are two separate rooms with their own separate balconies plus access to the front view of the volcano. A cove for swimming in the lake is just five minutes away, and a 15 minute walk brings you into the tiny village of Balgüe. Amazingly, the village has a first-class place to eat, Casa Campestre, run by an English couple. Most of the expats that we met, in contrast to our experience here in Costa Rica, were thoroughly integrated into the local community. La Via Verde's location, 35 km from the port of Moyogalpa where most tourists arrive, may seem daunting, but bear in mind that no matter where you decide to stay on the island you will be faced with the problem of transport. Buses run rather infrequently from the door of the lodging, and also from a crossroads ten minutes' walk towards Moyogalpa (or Altagracia). The Santo Domingo beach, perhaps the best on the island is at that same distance. You absolutely must give Eileen and Darrin a call.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
122
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at La Via Verde for 4 nights. It was the most amazing place we stayed in Nicaragua. Eileen and Darrin were fantastic, welcoming and knowledgable hosts; the highlight of our day being our chat when they delivered breakfast. (the most delicious we have ever had — no overstatement!)

Eileen helped with our travel arrangements, making what could have been a difficult trip from Managua a breeze.

The accommodation is beautifully designed with everything one could need (including rum) for a relaxing stay, plus amazing views over Conception Volcano. It really did feel like a home away from home, which is testament to the thought and effort which has gone into La Via Verde.

It's worth the the trip to Ometepe just to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallhandsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madras, OR
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Eileen & Darren (and dog Dozer) make you feel at home from the moment of arrival. They can arrange transport for you to the lodge, as well as [required] guides for volcano hikes. We loved being on the quiet side of the island w/easy access to bikes, swimming, decent dining options and away from tourist trap environs. Breakfasts are delicious, homemade and healthy; the coffee is organic, local and wonderful. You can get a bag lunch if you hike the volcanos (reasonable and good nutrition for a long hard hike). We loved being at tree top level for morning birding. With only 2 rooms, it is quiet at night. Each room has a private veranda with hammock and rocking chairs. The refrig has self-service beverages, convenient and nice for relaxing after adventures all day.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

My wife and I spent five nights at La Via Verde on our honeymoon and loved it. It offered exactly what we were after - beauty, peacefulness, and the opportunity to explore Ometepe island. The design of Via Verde is outstanding - private hammocks and rocking chairs overlook the lake and are situated so that even on hot days the breeze keeps things comfortable. An A+ breakfast is served with a spectacular view of Volcan Concepcion. The design of the room is comfortable, and the materials used to construct the house nicely complement the surrounding land. We loved walking down the dirt road to charming local eateries. If you are looking for adventure, it is easily found through the great guides that Via Verde will set up for you, or through renting a bike and exploring the mostly-undeveloped land surrounding Volcan Maderas. For people like us looking for an outdoor experience, the B&B was a perfect blend of remoteness and comfort, and is surely one of the most unforgettable lodging experiences we have ever had. The hosts are great folks and took all the stress out of getting to and from the B&B from the mainland - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Værløse
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Eileen and Darren are very friendly hosts! The place is definetely not the cheapest on Isla de Ometepe but it is without doubt one of the most nice places! It has a beatiful view of Concepcion. the hotel consist of two small rooms that both have a private balcony and a shared balcony (with a view of Concepcion). Rum, soda, beer etc can be bought there at reasonable prices and water is for free. When my girlfriend and I stayed there we climbed the concepcion which was an awesome experience and Eileen had everything ready. We bought lunchpacks for 5 USD and our 8-10 hour trip, two persons with a guide for us only was 30 USD. It is a 15-20 minute walk if you want something to eat at night but some restaurents do deliver.. (But be aware when you order in pizza, THEY ARE VERY SMALL!)

We paid 35 USD/night but I think it is 45 USD/night now.. With it included nice bathroom, nice room, perfect service, awesome breakfast and a friendliness you don't see everywhere! Worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynde9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at La Via Verde for four nights last month and had an incredible experience. Eileen and Darren are wonderful hosts who serve up some of the best breakfasts I've ever eaten (get the vanilla yogurt). Beyond the location, views and hospitality, La Via Verde makes it very easy to reach the island, which can be daunting for people who speak very little Spanish. I'd highly recommend Eileen setting up transportation for you, as the four hour journey from Managua to La Via Verde can be quite taxing.

Everything about La Via Verde is wonderful and makes the effort to get there so worth it. The views are beautiful, there are loads of activities on the island that Eileen can set up, and the views from the breakfast table are great. Eileen and Darren really do go the extra mile for guests and I cannot fathom why anyone would go anywhere else on Ometepe. I cannot wait to go back.

Also, Dozer and Chi Chi, the farm pets, are absolute sweethearts.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpwdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We came across Via Verde because the other place we tried was full..and we were glad it was. Eileen, the owner, was the kindest person and treated her place with pride. Everything you would want from home was there. A side table for your book, a matt at the bathroom sink. It really felt like a little piece of home very far away. She has two rooms and each have their own balcony with hammocks. But the place to be is at the table where you have an amazing view through the trees of volcano conception. It was so comfortable to stay there, after one day we felt like eileen was a friend. I wouldn't hesitate to come back here if i get back to ometepe. Best if you are traveling with another couple so that it feels like your own apartment. Could get squishy with strangers next door. But you still won't be disappointed..and her breakfasts are to die for. She even will help you organize reliable taxis. She organized a taxi to get us to the ferry and then another guy to take us to granada....as well as ordered in food for us after we climbed conception!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynsmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finca del Sol
Finca del Sol
#1 of 3 in Santa Cruz
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
3.8 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 43 in Isla de Ometepe
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Property: La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue | Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 48800, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ometepe, offers amazing nature, a chance to step back into a simple, slower way of life & charming friendly inhabitants who can teach us all something about being happy with less. As Americans who love living here (since 2004) we hope to provide a bridge of understanding & connection for you into the culture & life of this very special place. We would love to help you plan & organize a trip that will align with your interests & optimize your experience. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde is a cozy, intimate B&B with only 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and limited hot water showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing